1994 Toyota Camry DX 4 cylinder from North America


Regular maintenance will create an extremely reliable car


All of the problems were existing problems when I bought the car and were all replaced after purchasing the car.


Timing belt kit.

Water pump.

Drive Belts.

*Timing belt kit, water pump, and drive belts were replaced at the same time. The total price would have been $490 (including labor), however, an additional $125 was added for the timing belt kit (lasts longer than 60,000 miles) as opposed to a regular timing belt. The timing belt kit comes with a more durable belt, tensioner pulley, auto tensioner, etc. Since the car has 180,000 miles, the timing belt kit was “highly recommended” by the independent shop.

Tune-up $320. ($95 for plug wire set)


Radiator and Hoses (approximately $220)

Rear Struts (approximately $300)

Fuel-Filter $90.

Overall this sounds like a lot of work ($1500). However, the car was taken car of prior to my purchasing and the mechanic said I would be good to drive the car to at least 300,000 miles without any serious mechanical problems.

Although I have only driven the car for 700 miles, I have yet to find any problems with the way that the car drives. The car drives smoothly and the engine sounds like a new one.

General Comments:

The car drives well even at 180,000 miles.

Driving at 70+ MPH causes some slight vibration, although not very noticeable.

Good gas mileage about 24 MPG combined highway and city.

Some shaking when I brake. Maybe needs new engine mounts.

Overall the car drives smoothly for an older car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2006

19th May 2009, 22:14

The shaking when braking usually deals with your brakes, not engine mounts. Have your rotors checked, pads and calipers, see if they are in need of being replaced? Engine mounts usually are realized when accelerating, idle and other times when engine speed changes.

2nd Feb 2012, 22:01

24 MPG seems quite low for the 2.2L 5S-FE, even if it is an automatic. I have a 5 speed at around 190k. I average 30-40 MPG. Lower in the winter, higher in the summer. Never lower than 30. And yes, these Camrys are amazing!

1994 Toyota Camry le 4 cylinder from North America


My car is everything a car should be!!


Antenna stopped working in 2000-the low idle needed replacement 2 years ago-air conditioner went this summer-replaced head gasket 2004-replaced radiator in 2003-Other than ordinary things one expects with a lot of miles, that"s it.

General Comments:

I love my Camry! Very comfortable seats and support. Quick and snappy car. Handles the road and turns tight and smooth. Great in Maine for snow and cold. Interior cleans great and easily. 1994 and not even a sign of rust!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2006

20th Feb 2013, 06:26

Beside its high mileage, I am also impressed with the 1994 Toyota Camry 5FSE.

It's one of the best reliable cars ever. It takes you from A to B without any problem.

1994 Toyota Camry SE 3.0 from North America


It makes me addicted to the Toyota brand


The original engine starter replaced at 160,000 miles.

The air sensor replaced at 157,000 miles.

Driver seat leather has a lot of cracks and holes.

General Comments:

It is a very reliable car even for this mileage.

It is a pleasure to drive and the stearing, brakes and the V6 engine runs smoothly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

1994 Toyota Camry LE V6 3.0 V6 from North America


Reliability with some zest


So far nothing has gone wrong, which is a huge difference from my previous car (SAAB 900S).

General Comments:

Car is quite nice. Not a performing car, but it does have some pep for a Camry. I have a cold air intake which boosts me to about 200hp from a stock rating of 188bhp.

Car truly does resemble a lexus ES300. Ride quality is adequate. A lot of body lean, but you get used to it. The automatic transmission is great, but I wish it was a 5 speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2005