1994 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 Inline 4 Cylinder 5S-FE from North America


More pleasing than a weekend at Disneyland


Not much, to be very honest. I have replaced the valve guide seals (under warranty). Just replaced the starter. I've probably done the brakes and tires at some point, but I cannot remember when and the dealer tells me that the ones I have are fine. Other than general maintenance, the car has been exceptional.

General Comments:

I received this car as a Christmas present, and it continues to shower me with the gift of peace of mind. This car has been perfect for my purposes, and has never left me stranded, never ran poorly, or made me worry about anything. Our anniversary just passed, and my husband offered to buy me a new Camry. I stated I was happy with this one, and lucky I did so. I was just involved in a collision in which a passive driver was not looking both ways and drove in front of me as I was crossing a busy intersection; the nose of my car did over $6000 in damage to his 1995 Honda Accord. My car? The front license plate fell off and I put some scratches on the front bumper. Other than that, nothing else. What a relief, and what a testimony to their solid structure. When another anniversary rolls around, maybe I will ask for a new model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

27th Oct 2005, 00:56

How surprising!

3rd Dec 2006, 08:41

To be fair, anything is more enjoyable than a weekend at Disneyland!!

1994 Toyota Camry 2.2 from North America


This car is the commuting appliance


Front brake caliper seized at 158000.

Exhaust system leaked at flexible tube before catalytic converter.

Engine mounts needed replacement at 135,000 miles.

Interior plastic trunk and gas lid release levers broke.

Rear strut / suspension developed noise, but function.

Leather head cushions in rear seats developed strange staining.

General Comments:

It is so reliable and well designed it is actually boring.

The oil filter is incredibly convenient; so are the four spark plugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2003

10th Sep 2010, 23:36

Now that's what I like to see in a review, the oil filter is conveniently placed as well as the spark plugs... thanks guy.

1994 Toyota Camry LE 4 Gas from North America


It has good performance and ride, but is expensive to keep running


The radiator fins separated from the core, causing the engine to overheat. This caused the aluminum head to seperate from the iron block and leak at the head gasket. A very expensive repair.

The control switch for the power windows failed. Another expensive repair. Over $100 for a switch.

The motor for the drivers side power window failed. Another expensive repair.

The power radio antenna does not work; I've given up on fixing little things that cost so much.

The flexible coupling on the exhaust pipe failed $300.

Brake warning switch on the parking brake sticks.

Air bag light came on when I replaced the battery. Dealer wants $40 to "pull out the code" says it is normal condition for this to happen. On a battery replacement!

General Comments:

A little less reliable than my 1985 Buick, but much more expensive to get repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2003

4th Jan 2003, 12:03

Don't forget to change your oil every 3,000 miles. The manual says every 5,000 to 7,500, but people who follow this have developed engine sludge. Toyota now has a policy that they will repair any sludge problems for up to 8 years, but believe me, it is not worth it. Best to play it safe and change oil frequently. Of course, this adds to the cost of ownership.

1994 Toyota Camry LE 2.2L Engine from North America


If you want to drive a trouble-free car for the next 10 years and 200K, buy a Camry


Back when it was only 90K the engine had trouble starting in the morning. This was really due to the fact that the spark plug wires needed to be replaced. However the dealer who checked up on the car had the nerve to try to charge me $800 for the "time" it took to diagnose the problems. I told them, "I'd get right back to them." and proceeded to use my spare key to drive the car out.

Otherwise the car has only left me stranded twice when the battery went dead. Again, not the manufacturer's fault.

General Comments:

This has easily been the best car I have ever owned in my life, and is highly regarded at the auto auctions I work at as a reliable and easy to maintain car (I'm an auctioneer by profession). The vehicle in question is an LE Coupe and it has regularly given me 30 - 32 mpg on the interstates and 26 - 28 mpg in city driving. I keep up with EVERYTHING on this car. Oil every 3K, tire rotation every 5K, transmission fluid every 30K, air filter every 15K, spark plugs every 50K (and plug wires since I now know better), timing belt every 60K, and the water pump / thermostat every 120K. Even though this has cost me a couple hundred more in parts, I can tell you that this vehicle shifts as smoothly as the day I got it and the engine still lets me know that it was designed like an underpowered Mercedes. Actually, the car is a little underpowered, but the higher gas mileage and easy to maintain engine more than make up for it over the course of ownership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2002

22nd Mar 2005, 17:44

Great story. Like you, my 1994 Camry LE Coupe has given me little trouble over the 172,000 miles of service. Lately, it has developed what I call "idle surge". When started from cold conditions, the idle speed surges up and down until the engine warms up - usually a few minutes. After warm up, surging stops and it idles fine. Ever experience this? If so, what did you do? Thanks for your help.