1995 Toyota Camry Vienta Touring 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Long distance comfort and performance in a plain package


Rear suspension bushes are squeaky.

Brake pads clunk in the calipers upon first application, but this is not identified as a problem that requires fixing.

General Comments:

This is an extremely comfortable car with a great engine for highway driving and stable handling on Australian roads.

This model was delivered standard with premium suspension and corners very well for a large, nose-heavy front-drive family sedan.

Low end power from V6 is weak, but midrange power is great and the engine is incredibly smooth compared to Commodore or Magna. Fast starts require a bit of clutch slipping to get the considerable weight of the car moving rapidly. However, once this car is moving it accelerates very well, and on the open road it has above-average responsiveness when overtaking.

The seats are very comfortable and the boot is enormous. The only intrusive noise is some wind noise from the windows, but this car is very quiet and relaxing to drive long-distance. Seats 4 adults comfortably.

Fuel economy is poor in city driving at 11-12L/100km, slightly better on the highway at around 8-8.5L/100km.

Manufactured in Australia, but the build quality is streets ahead of any other Australian-built sedan.

Very plain, even awkward, styling, but it's comfort and quality are far more enduring.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2003

1995 Toyota Camry LE V6 from North America


When you buy a Camry you get the total package - class, the sporty look and feel!!!


This Camry is the best car I have ever owned. Nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

This Camry is very comfortable for all passengers.

The car drives very smooth with no shaking, always a plus.

Just remember to change the oil every 3,000 miles and you are good to go in your Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2003

16th Jul 2004, 07:55

I have just purchased a 1995 camry in june of 2004. I am thoroughly impressed with the quality and general assembly of the car. I paid $5,400 for it, with 80,000 miles. the car is extraordinary. it is tight as a drum, and you can't hear a pin drop while it's at speed. the entire quality of the car is more than I expected. it is totally confidence inspiring, and I can tell I will be driving it for many years. if I could find something wrong with it, it would be vibration when the car is at idle with the ac on.

2nd Mar 2005, 09:57

I have had my 1995 Camry for about 7 years. It has 190,000 miles on it and it still drives like a dream. You're right these are great cars.

16th Mar 2005, 07:47

I just bought a 1995 Camry LE and thought I was getting taken when it cost me 3,800. After driving it for a short time, I felt like I needed to give the dealer more money. GREAT CAR.

1995 Toyota Camry LE 2.2L, 16v, EFI from North America


The best blend of reliability and comfort/quality with top of the line engineering


Nothing has gone wrong,

General Comments:

Since I bought the car in spring this year I used only 93 octane, but I just realized that the engine is not running hot enough to burn the 93 and the compression ratio is not high enough, so I switched to 87 (recomm. by dealer) last week, and guess what? no shaking, no vibration, the mixture is burned properly. It has 107K and still no smoke (only at cold start, 2-3 seconds, which is acceptable at this mileage), no problems, no noise or vibration, not one spot of rust, Yeah, I change Castrol SynTec every 3,000 miles, plus filter and flush, perfect timing and ignition. Now somebody show me a "domestic" car (not highly modified muscle cars) for example a Taurus, or Explorer, Cavalier, etc. that can do this. Pretty rare, huh?

Yeah, so what's wrong with Toyota?

Japanese power!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

22nd Dec 2005, 08:43

A friend of mine has a '95 Camry with around 240,000 miles. No major problems (unless you count lack of a CD player) to report, but the car makes a much deeper, and slightly louder noise than it did before. I suspect the exhaust, but I'm not sure. The car does not get reduced mileage; it's exactly the same. I had a '92 Corolla that had a similar problem, but it was not as noticeable except under hard acceleration.

Just wondering if anyone else has had this happen. As I said, there are no apparent problems caused by this sound. It's not a rattle, and the catalytic converter hasn't rattled apart or anything, and there's no rust on the exhaust. Thanks in advance for any help.

By the way, about the "show me any domestic" thing, I have a '92 Oldsmobile sedan with about 107,000 miles, and it runs perfectly. As I have told my friend (the Camry owner), I am a big fan of Camrys and Toyota in general, as they are amazingly reliable and comfortable cars, but I think it's a little bit arrogant and just plain foolish to bash our poor little inferior American cars without any knowledge to base it on. My Olds gets 21mpg city, even in the winter. doesn't burn a drop of oil. I change it every 3k miles whether it seems to need it or not, and it runs nearly like new, even past 100k miles.

Having said that, once my car is out of commission, I'll probably be looking at a Camry next. Fine cars.

22nd Nov 2009, 11:28

I've had plenty of American cars well past 107K that don't smoke. Even at startup. Nothing to brag about there.