1995 Toyota Camry LX 2.2, 4 Cylinder from North America


An extremely reliable and smart buy


The CV Shafts were replaced due to my own negligence. I didn't replace the CV Boots when I should have.

General Comments:

My Camry is great. It runs very well, never stalls, and always runs smoothly. I have put a lot of miles on it since I got it, and I've abused the engine with city driving, but it's still going strong. As of right now, all it needs is a tune-up, including new wires, d-cap and rotor, etc. I love this car and will definitely get another Toyota after this one, probably a pick-up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2003

1995 Toyota Camry from North America


The best I could ask for! Bar None!


Needed new struts, timing belt, little stuff that is expected.

General Comments:

This was a fantastic car. Whoever buys it will be pleased. Oil was changed every 3,000 miles and things were replaced by mechanic whenever needed. I traded for a 2000 Avalon XLS with 49,000. I only did it because my car needed new struts and had so many miles. I found a great deal and love my new car. Yes I would and did by another Toyota product. I never had a problem with this car. It never stalled and the battery was replaced one time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

1995 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 four from North America


I absolutely love it along with my 2 other Toyota's


Main seals leak, changing them this weekend.

Rear stabilizer-bar loose where it connects to the frame, wore rubber mounts.

Not much really.

General Comments:

I bought the car last month and got a great deal however the car was neglected and some things are in need of TLC.

The oil was never changed on time.

The tranny fluid was a mud colour.

The body had been painted due to damage.

The interior was a mess and it smelled like smoke.

And it was leaking oil on the ground from the bad seals.

Keep in mind these where all bargaining points for me. The car runs beautiful dispite the abuse it took so I believe I got a good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2003

27th Jul 2003, 06:09

It is now 6 months and 10000 miles since I bought this car. I changed the motor seals, new timing belt, transmission oil and filter changed, cleaned the interior and aside from a few little broken interior parts and a bad paint job (not original) this car drives like no other! I have owned many many cars and this one by far is the most comfortable and best at handling, even though this car was neglected and abused it drives and runs fantastic. I will buy another one in a flash. Tim.

1995 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from North America




This has been a wonderful Toyota Camry. I must say in 8 years, all I have replaced is a tail light bulb (beside general maintenance). It is a pleasure to drive, starts in all weather, and looks great. I have used exclusively, Am-soil each time I change (3000 miles). My new second car is also a Toyota Van.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

1995 Toyota Camry LE 3.0 V6 from North America


Great dependability, performance, and price


The Power Steering Pump went out shortly after the 100,000 mile mark. The part was $400, quite expensive for a rebuilt part.

The Rack & Pinion recently started leaking. It was replaced for only $300.

The only other problem was the power antenna stopped working shortly after 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has been a great vehicle, so great that this is my second Camry, the last had 250,000 miles on it when I sold it.

The car, while some consider it a family vehicle, is very fast. I have raced it a couple of times and have actually gone 130 MPH in the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1995 Toyota Camry 220 GS 2.2 petrol 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand


A nice slow arm chair on wheels


Cracked exhaust manifold.

Clutch shudder.

Head gasket oil leak.

Worn out suspension bushes. It knocks and tram lines badly.

Severe rust along top of windshield, and also around the rear tailgate hinge.

General Comments:

This car is an Australian assembled wagon.

Handles like a three legged cow, even before the bushes wore out. The rear end is light and is affected badly by rough surfaces.

Uses more gas than any other car I've owned (about 11 litres per 100kms on the open road if I drive carefully).

This is my second Toyota - after this and the V6 4-Runner I will not personally buy another Toyota... though my company may buy them :-(

My next Japanese car will be a Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

20th Jan 2002, 15:04

Interesting, you obviously had the only 2 poor Toyotas ever built. Be more careful next time. Coming from experience I can tell you that no company will ever be able to hold a candle to Toyota. Mine is 20 years old with 400k and has NEVER had ANY kind of problem. I changed the oil and the battery and shocks. None are the fault of the car.

4th Oct 2005, 17:15

I have a 96 toyota camry, 4 cylinders. My oil light came on one day and about a week later I started hearing this knocking noise around the cylinders. I was told one problem could be that my oil lines to the cylinders could be clogged. I changed my oil and added an additive in replace of 1 qt of oil to try and dilute it, it didn't work. what do you think I should do?

8th Jan 2007, 13:51

I'd start by not driving a car for week with the oil light on.

29th Oct 2007, 03:34

Yes I agree. Those red (or orange) warning lights aren't there for decoration. They are there to signal an EMERGENCY. Ie; Signalling something to be inspected immediately.

4th Jan 2008, 19:44

Sounds like the oil pick up is possibly clogged, which is a big problem because it means that oil is not getting to the pistons and especially the Big end bearing. STOP RUNNING THE CAR and take it to a mechanic POST HASTE.

24th May 2008, 15:19

You guys are missing the point of this review. He is obviously either a guy who likes Subaru, or works for them or sells them. Subaru for your information are not reliable cars at all. Toyota has a way better track record than what Fuji Heavy Industries make.

19th Jan 2010, 20:49

Who told you that subaru are made in JAPAN???!!!

20th Jan 2010, 19:18

"Who told you that subaru are made in JAPAN???!!!"

Umm... Hello? Subaru is a Japanese automaker!

1995 Toyota Camry LE 2.2L in-line 4 cyl. from North America


Suspension squeeked. Steering linkages started knocking at 70K km, easily fixed. Nothing else really ever went wrong with this car the whole time I owned it! Cost of ownership is high as the cost of Toyota recommended maintenance at the dealership is ludicrously high. Do it yourself if you can.

General Comments:

Exceptional auto overall. I highly recommend it. For a family sedan, ride, comfort & handling were second to none!

The car was almost perfect in every way. But I like cars with character and power - this car lacked both, the engine adequate, but somewhat lacklustre.

Boy was this car ever reliable! Never, ever a complaint on that front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 1999

21st Jul 2001, 16:39

1995 Camry XLE V6, 135,000 miles. Most reliable car I ever owned. 28 mpg highway at 70 mph. Change the oil every 3,000 miles.

Great pickup and ride. No replacement parts on the suspension or shocks needed so far.

Transmission is as smooth as ever.

Paint and hardware are holding up great. People can't believe it has 135,000 miles.

Purchased new. Would I purchase another one? Yes, but I don't need to now.