1999 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 15 of 16

1999 Toyota Camry LE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Reliable car with some annoying issues

Faults:

Various electrical system failures

CD player continuously skips

Check Engine light on.

General Comments:

This car has been generally OK, except for a few annoying problems. I've had some electrical problems and the cigarette lighter and clock do not work - all fuses are OK.

The CD player skips with brand new CDs, the dealership was very annoying, refusing to admit any problems with the CD player, although it obviously skips and has since the car was new.

Currently, I can't figure out why the check engine light is on at 39K miles, even though the car seems to be running fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st May, 2003

22nd Mar 2004, 20:35

Hey dude have you tried changing the oil regularly.

15th Jan 2005, 09:39

Try just resetting the car's computer by taking the battery cables off for about 20 seconds and see if it helps. If not try onboard diagnostic.

27th Apr 2005, 20:05

The check engine light is probly a P0446 or P0441 code. Common issue with vacuum switching valve at charcoal caniter. About $135.00 installed. I replace 2 or 3 weekly.

11th Sep 2008, 00:16

It's not ANY of those things, this just happened to my Camry, check the fuse box behind that little pull out compartment to the left of the steering wheel. Behind there, check the cig lighter fuse!

1999 Toyota Camry CSI 2.2 5S-FE four-cylinder. from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 5S-FE four-cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance54791 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

America's top selling family car!

Faults:

Haven't had many overall problems with the vehicle. The only thing that has been changed is the battery and tires.

General Comments:

This model Toyota Camry is the lowest of the range, but has some good standard features and also a nice range of factory options.

The car has a potent 94kw's@flwyheel.I feel that its needs a little more power, but is still enough to pull the 1400kg weight. But yeah this car is not meant to be quick. Overall the engine has a generally strong build and has not suffered and mechanical problems thus far.

The ride of the car has to be one of the highlights. A very smooth ride indeed, even better with the engine being so quiet. The car does tend to sway while doing turns at high speeds, but this is expected.

The interior is rather plain and simple, but functional at the same time. The seats are very comfortable and the leg room is very good for a medium sized vehicle.

Overall the car is a nice family car and you basically get what you pay for. Camry's in the future are only getting better and better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

1999 Toyota Camry LE from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

Lots of problems. Buyers beware!

Faults:

I replaced the front struts.

O2 sensor.

Passenger seat belt roller replaced.

General Comments:

I've owned this car for nearly three years, and I'm very disappointed.

Engine seems okay so far, and luckily haven't had sludge problems, but I'm using Castrol Syntec blend.

Haven't noticed paint problems, maybe because the car is garage kept.

The suspension is horrible. I replaced the front struts at 38,000 miles, and now a year later, there seems to be another rumbling noise from the same area in the front passenger side of the car. Toyota really needs to redesign the suspension on these cars. Have also had problems with oxygen sensor and check engine light coming on. According to Toyota, the fuel system is sealed and extremely sensitive. Even in the dead of winter, you must shut the car off when refueling or the car will stall due to the fuel system. Their fix was to replace the gas cap seal. When the same problem happened after initial service, I disconnected the battery to reset the computer, and avoided Toyota's high service fees.

Also, had to have the rear passenger seat belt roller replaced due to a bad spring coil.

Had to speak my mind here, as I know that Toyota won't own up to any of these weaknesses or make good on problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2nd Jan 2003, 16:28

If your check engine light is coming on, you may want to make sure that you do not have sludge (will need to remove valve cover). Toyota will check for free (according to their TSB on sludge) if you exhibit one of several signs of sludge - check engine light is one of them. Do you have any smoke from exhaust when you first start up? I think I have heard of a faulty O2 sensor somehow being linked to sludge development. Good luck.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 54 reviews