2000 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2000 Toyota Camry LE V4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Reliable, but otherwise mediocre

Faults:

This car was basically flawless except for the tires. I got a flat and the dealer did a poor job patching it up. This caused the same tire to burst on the highway while I was going 75. I lost control and hit the median before rolling over twice onto the shoulder. Luckily, I got out without a scratch.

General Comments:

All the Camry has to offer is reliability. Other than that, performance and comfort are only average. Acceleration with my four cylinder was terrible, and the cloth seats need much improvement. Road grip is basically non-existent and pays the price in icy conditions in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2006

24th Apr 2006, 19:31

For more performance I would suggest a 5 speed manual transmission. As for the traction problem buy a good set of ice tires and slow down on the ice.

12th Jul 2006, 21:29

Er, also, I find the cloth seats in the Camry to be just fine.

They provide decent lateral/ flank support for the twisties, WAY better than the Ls400 I drove the otherday, which had basically none whatsoever.

20th Nov 2006, 01:35

I own a 2000 model Holden Astra, but have driven a 2000 model Camry V6 automatic. If I had to compare the two I'd say the Astra looks nice (that's all). And I'd say the Camry is well built, durable and a very nice quality car. Toyota rules!

22nd Aug 2008, 00:10

I own a Japanese-made 2001 Camry 4 banger. The reliability and build quality is outstanding. Not the best passing power, but great fuel economy and reliable engine. If you want performance, buy the V-6 version.

21st Dec 2008, 22:52

Never trust the tires from the factory. I have never gotten a set to last more than 40K miles and one set only lasted 27K. The next time I buy a car, I plan to negotiate for better tires. Wheels may look cool, but tires are what counts.

1st Nov 2009, 20:16

"All the Camry has to offer is reliability. Other than that, performance and comfort are only average. Acceleration with my four cylinder was terrible, and the cloth seats need much improvement."

I own a 2001 Camry LE 4-Cylinder Auto. Above you state my thoughts exactly, except comfort is FAR BELOW average.

2000 Toyota Camry CE 2.2 liter inline 4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter inline 4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

As tough as nails, yet powerful and fun

Faults:

So far nothing major. The engine light has been coming on and staying on. The dealer doesn't know why.

Also, the hand brake light comes on when turning; the hand brake isn't engaged.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievable. I am 18, and rally this car. I've had it high centered, 2 wheels off ground, 4 wheels off the ground, been mudding in her, and hand brake turns in winter/ dirt roads, and most fun of all, drift busting in winter. You name it, I've done it. This car has held up unbelievably to the punishment I've given it, this car is seriously tough.

The 4 cylinder engine has ample power for doing just about anything. By the way, if you wanna know, but are too chicken to see, it governs at 185kmh :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

26th Oct 2005, 15:55

No man I do own one it might not be the fastest car, but has a lot more pep than many others I have driven, I mean it's no 6 clinder, but for stock its pretty wikit.

21st Feb 2007, 10:55

Your brake light problem could possibly be caused if your brake fluid level is too low?

8th Oct 2007, 20:21

It sounds to me like you shouldn't even own a car. The way you describe your driving, you are a danger to yourself and anyone else on the road. Hope you don't live in my town.

2000 Toyota Camry from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Faults:

I have been quite pleased with my 2000 Toyota Camry's perforance. However recently The Charcoal canister, which is a part of the Evaporation System, leaked. Although I purchased a Gold Extended bumper to bumper Warranty this is not covered. Replacing the canister will cost me $800!!

I wondered if anyone could let me know if there is a defect in this part of the system.

General Comments:

The car is reliable and performs well in all conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2005

8th Aug 2005, 05:10

The charcoal canister on my 2004 RAV4 failed at 2300 miles and after that the hose leading to it cracked. Also, shortly after that the air fuel sensor and the catalytic converter failed. All were covered under warranty, but I'm feeling like the emissions system is a weak spot on Toyota's and I no longer trust the vehicle's reliability.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 28 reviews