2000 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 7 of 8

2000 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1650 miles
Most recent distance66500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

My previous Camry, a 1993, was far nicer. Perhaps the new generation is better

Faults:

The engine blew at 45 thousand miles, and was replaced at no cost by the dealer.

The black finish on the bumpers has aged at a different rate than the rest of the car.

Power windows have failed numerous times.

The power steering has failed repeatedly, as a result of the slightest amount of precipitation.

The optional woodgrain interior trim has discolored.

Original tires were nonathletic and rough, when compared to replacement tires.

General Comments:

The seats are comfortable over long distance traveling.

The cabin is tight in the front, and downright small in the rear. Rear ingress/egress is quite difficult.

The original radio's buttons and dials are small and anonymous.

The air conditioning is powerful and effective.

Even with optional alloy wheels, the styling is quite anonymous.

The automatic transmission is smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

2000 Toyota Camry CE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

It's a keeper!

Faults:

Left front strut needed repaired the first week of ownership. Dealer took care of it.

No problems since then.

The front seats are a little too low.

General Comments:

I'm very happy with the overall performance of my Camry.

The acceleration is great.

The drive is very smooth and wind noise

is low.

Best car I've owned. I enjoy driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2004

2000 Toyota Camry CE 2.00 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.00 liter Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

At 80,000 kilometers the check engine light went on.

It is a faulty charcoal cannister.

The dealer takes no responsibility.

General Comments:

The seats are not comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2004

2000 Toyota Camry LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carToyota Astro

Summary:

Mixed Feelings

Faults:

Dashboard makes a vibrating noise when I go over bumps, or if I have the radio turned up.

The steering wheel makes a squeaking noise when I turn it first time in the morning especially when it is cold outside.

The engine main oil seal leaked really bad at 50k. Th repair was under warranty. The dealer replaced the seal and timing belt at no cost to me.

I'm worried about engine oil sludge problems with the engine.

General Comments:

I have mixed feelings about my Camry.

I have had some problems, but I know other people with American cars that have had more problems with their vehicles.

Also the Camry is a very plain, boring car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2004

2000 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Comfort, reliability, and affordable

Faults:

My experience with my 2000 Toyota Camry LE has been good.

The only negative thing I can say, is that I had a problem with the trunk leaking.

I was very curious if anyone else had this problem with a Toyota Camry.

After my mechanic sealed every spot visible, the leak has finally stopped.

We started to clean out the trunk before a long trip. Once we opened up the wheel well, after a long, harsh NY State winter, there was 2 1/2 feet of water in the wheel well.

Now the leak has been fixed, I'm leery as to whether it will re-occur.

Otherwise, I'm very happy with my Toyota.

I get between 35-38 mpg.

The ride is smooth and quiet.

I am just concerned that there is some type of factory problem with the leaking, that was never found, until I looked further.

Thank You.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

29th Jul 2004, 12:03

I have encountered an issue where the floor inside the car (except behind the passenger seat) is wet. The front driver side is more saturated then either the passenger side floor, or the floor behind the driver. I have been unable to determine where the leak is coming from.

29th Aug 2006, 12:10

I have been having driver's side leaks as well. I have a plastic mat on top of my regular mat that had water pooled on it after a heavy rain. I have not been using the ac so that is not the issue. After feeling under the steering common I felt moisture near the fuse panel. Any comments or thoughts?

16th Jun 2007, 14:03

My Car is leaking from the opening to the blower valve and flooding the passenger floor whenever it rains or water gets on it from a sprinkler or washing it. I have taken it to the local Toyota dealer and they won't believe what I am telling them is happening.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 29 reviews