2000 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2000 Toyota Camry CE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Other than the brake problem...I loved it

Faults:

Front brakes were a nightmare, replace pads countless times, cut rotors at least 4 times.

General Comments:

Never had this brake problem with any other car I've ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2003

2000 Toyota Camry LE 2.4L Gas Engine from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4L Gas Engine Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

An over-rated car

Faults:

The steering wheel was tilted toward right. The car does not go straight without driver force it going little bit toward the left. Brought to dealer (Toyota at Richardson in TX) tried to get it fix without any improvement. The service was so poor that after oil change, they even forgot to tight the oil drain cap of my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

2000 Toyota Camry CE 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

High Priced Hunk O Junk

Faults:

Transmission seal leak that occured when built.

Alignment has never been right and unable to get corrected.

Steering wheel stuck while turning a corner at 25,000 miles.

Car now has a serious problem and will not run at all. Still do not know what is wrong. 46,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been a nightmare from day one.

Car handles awful around curves.

Great stereo system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

2000 Toyota Camry LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carLancia Thema

Summary:

Very Boring family car

Faults:

Car is too new. Nothing yet, although the tires are getting worn out.

General Comments:

Boring styling that blends in with every other car on the road. Flimsy body panels and plastic bumpers, that scratch easy.

Ride is somewhat smooth, but puts you to sleep. No excitement here. Engine is wimpy especially with the slow shifting auto trans. Sounds like a imitation of a motor, like a computer generated sound.

Interior lacks good styling and comfort. Front seats are blah, back seats work OK for the children. Everything stains easily. Ugly looking fake leather.

I hate this car. The wife loves it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

20th Jun 2003, 16:59

This is the worst review ever. I own a Toyota Camry LE, 4 cylinder. It is one of the most best cars ever. This guy basically has no taste and this review should be taken off. It is better than any other Japanese and American car.

16th Jun 2004, 14:57

Just because they don't agree with you does not make it a bad review!

4th Feb 2007, 19:37

I can comment first hand that I have really hated some of the brand new cars my wife has chosen as well. I remember a new ugly MPV Mazda Van she brought home and it was an eyesore. I have also had a couple classic cars that I have slowly restored... and likewise she would jokingly comment, "That's a nice piece of driveway its sitting on." Anyway why complain about an honest review... you have a paragraph to praise yours.

4th Feb 2007, 20:28

I for one totally agree with the review. The Camry is boring, bland, and blah inside and out. It's an okay commuter car, but nothing to get excited about. It certainly isn't great enough to get up in arms about and attack somebody for stating his opinion.

10th Jul 2010, 16:57

I'm the 3rd owner of a 2000 Camry (made in Japan) with a 2.2 I4/Auto. I checked it on Carfax, and it has a pretty thorough service history with routine maintenance done at appropriate times. Odometer just turned 180,000 miles, has some suspension squeaks and rattles, so I turn up the radio.

Check engine light stays on. Caused by EGR? It has been in the shop 3 times for same issue and the light still comes on. I don't care anymore as the car runs great and consistently gets 29MPG.

I live in Arizona. It's HOT! The A/C in this Camry is SUPER! It will literally freeze you out of the car.

This is my commuter car. It's not exciting, but it is super dependable and has fantastic A/C. I would definitely buy another Camry if mine was stolen or gives up the ghost. Maybe the people who have problematic Camrys bought the ones made in KY.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 29 reviews