2001 Toyota Camry CE 2.2L from North America


I love my Camry because it is pretty much low maintenance


My transmission went up at 34,000 miles.

General Comments:

I believe that there could have been more support for your lumbar region with the front seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2008

2001 Toyota Camry CE 2.2L 136hp from North America


Toyota Camry's are Amazing!


I have never really had anything go wrong with the car. I have only totally owned the car for 5 months, but I have drove this same car for over half the age of the car. It was my grandfathers and he bought it Brand new.

General Comments:

This is one of the most reliable cars that I have ever driven.. Good gas mileage in town and super good on highway. Nice easy quiet ride. They will last for well over 300,000 miles as long as you keep it up and take care of it. My uncle just traded his Toyota Tacoma in that has the same engine as the Camry and he put 450,000 miles on it. It was still running like it was brand new. They Keep their value. I have always been a Chevrolet person that's why I had a cavalier, but there is nothing like a Toyota.--Affordable, Great gas mileage, long lasting, good performance, and dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

18th Mar 2011, 09:25

We bought our 2001 Camry used in 2009. We love it. It is even better than the '83 Corolla we bought new and sold after 17 years. (I am sure that '83 is still on the road). Toyotas are like Apple computers. The people who buy them do so because they work!

2001 Toyota Camry LE 4 Cylinder from North America


Well designed, reliable car, but is boring to drive


Bad factory tires wear excessively, handle dangerously, and it goes out of alignment.

Trunk release does not work intermittently.

General Comments:

Other than really bad factory tires and the bad trunk release, the car has been very reliable.

I have driven a 2000 Honda Accord. Compared to the Accord, the suspension is too soft, so the car handles poorly, but acceptably. It is not as fun to drive.

The build quality is better. The interior material is better. The service for the Toyota is simpler, with an oil change every 5000 miles and a major service every 15000 miles. There haven't been many surprises in the services area.

The car soaks up bumps really well, but leans excessively on curves.

The engine and the transmission is really smooth.

Steering is too numb.

The car's control layout is not as good as the Honda.

The view out of the car is not as good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2007

2001 Toyota Camry XLE V6 3.0 V6 from North America


Top Quality Product


MAF Sensor Failure at 108,000KM.

Vacuum Switching Valve Failure at 112,000KM.

New Tires at 115,000KM.

General Comments:

Great Car with great looks and very well built.

This one was made in Japan.

A few things I would have liked to see.

- Breakaway mirrors

- Retractable rear sunshade

- Properly lit interior i.e. no lighting for the floor shifter, no lighting for the mirror adjustments or traction control master switch, window and power lock switches.

- Higher performance overall.

Otherwise I have been approached twice by people on the street asking how much I would sell it for, so Toyota did good work with the XLE V6 Camry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2007

2001 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from North America


1st Class Reliability


No Mechanical problems. Still has original engine/Trans.

General Comments:

So far, the car has been great. This is now the 2nd Camry I bought, as a company car, that has multiple drivers every week. My employees run both Camry's pretty hard, and they are holding up excellent. It's was due for a timing belt service @ 90,000 miles, and the cost was just over $200, which is relatively cheap, when compared to other vehicles. (I once had an Eagle Talon, that cost me $679 for a timing belt change). For the Camry only having a 2.2L 4 cylinder, the car has impressive passing speed, and of course, excellent fuel economy. The interior seems to be built more solid than many domestic models. Like I said, my 2 Camry's are ran pretty hard, and there aren't any rattles in the interiors of the 2 cars. This day & age, many cars loosen up & fall apart around 90,000 miles. But, as a few others have said in their reviews, everything is still tight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2006

9th Aug 2007, 17:48

What exactly is first-class about a Camry? That is like saying your toaster is elegant. Come on.

10th Dec 2007, 14:38

Pretty simple. Read it again. "First Class Reliability", meaning that the reliability is first-class. It doesn't say that the car is first class. Take a lesson in English.

27th Jan 2008, 20:53

I own a KitchenAid Toaster, and it's quite elegant. I'll soon have Kohler plumbing products as well. Oh yeah, and I feed my cat Fancy Feast.