2001 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 7 of 8

2001 Toyota Camry CSX 2.2 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Under quality built Australian made family car

Faults:

Auto Transmission problem at 30.000kms where it lost the overdrive gear (4TH Gear) - The repair was covered under warranty.

Rattle- Rattles come from air ventilation. The asked Toyota Service Centre to look for it every time I went for service. I gave up, they could not find anything.

Another rattle underneath the driver side dash when the car travels over 100km/h.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable, easy to use equipments and lots of nice features.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

2001 Toyota Camry LE V6 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Worth the money and investment

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car. However, I did notice the wobbling like the comments I just read. I think new rims would help, however I had the roters cut and it drives so smoothly.

General Comments:

I would never buy any other make of car, except Toyota ever again. My last car was a Corolla, it had over 110,000 miles on it. The only reason I still don't have it is because someone hit my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2003

2001 Toyota Camry LE 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Grand Voyager

Faults:

Fishtails dangerously in the snow.

General Comments:

This car fishtails easily and completely out of control in the snow. I had a bad accident with it fishtailing on a very gentle curve!

Consumers Reports and Edmunds.com also report problems with control of the rear end of late-model Camrys in their road tests. Earlier models do not seem to have this problem; it seems to be reported only with the late models of Camrys.

If you live in snow, this car is not for you!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

9th May 2004, 15:34

Snow? why do not you buy a 4 wheel drive?

2001 Toyota Camry CSI 2.2 Injected 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Injected 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A great car for the family on a budget

Faults:

I found the drivers seat to cause me back pain after driving for long periods of time.

General Comments:

I would recommend a Camry to anyone, however I would recommend to get the 6 cylinder, as the four cylinder is a bit slow off the mark. The Toyota Camry is a excellent car for a family. I am very happy with mine.

The only downfall is the brakes could be better and also handling needs to be improved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2001 Toyota Camry CSI 2.2L 4 cylinder from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Excellent business and private vehicle

Faults:

Nothing earth shattering, just the engine check light coming on intermittently.

Took half a dozen visits to the dealer to fix, he did not admit to the problem until the last visit and he tried to charge me for the rectification work until I got my company's fleet manager on his back.

General Comments:

This is a member of our extensive car fleet and probably one of the most reliable, but the service from the local Toyota dealer is very poor the car itself is excellent, seats are comfortable, easy to drive and it is built like a tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

2001 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Affordable luxury

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I have only owned my 2001 Toyota Camry LE for a short time, but I am extremely pleased.

My favorite feature is that the Camry glides like a Lexus. It was very noticeable as I drove off the lot.

The inside is very roomy and the seats are very comfortable. The lumbar support is great.

The stereo sounds very clear and emits high quality sound.

Special weather stripping on the windows minimizes outside noise, so it is extremely quiet. It also runs very quietly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

20th Apr 2003, 08:30

I own a 2002 Camry, and I thought it drove very smoothly. Then I realize it was the tires. They are very soft and only good for 24,000 miles. Service Department gave me this news.

12th Mar 2004, 13:11

A note on soft tire rubber. Soft rubber will not soften the ride. This will increase grip for handling, but will not "soften the ride". Who ever told you this is auto shop "1-0-1".

11th Aug 2004, 10:52

Maybe he was talking about low air pressure in the tires, making them "soft" and not the softer rubber used for winter tires.

20th Apr 2005, 03:47

Guys

Forget the tyres. Cars of this size just gove a smooth ride. end of story.

900 driver.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews