2001 Toyota Camry Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2001 Toyota Camry LE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Cheap quality at high price

Faults:

It makes an awful noise when you change from parking to reverse. Breaks make a squeaky noise. Plastic floor rail has popped out of place twice. Side panel from back seat came off. Paint from door had drip marks after using Toyota wax provided by dealer.

General Comments:

I will never buy another Toyota Camry. I have taken it numerous times to the dealer and all the problems I've experienced they've told me is normal for the Camry. I had an 1988 Camry which never gave me the problems that the new 2001 model has given me. Even though it gives a smooth ride I have not been happy with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

2nd Mar 2004, 11:07

Be sure to be anal about oil changes, so you can avoid the sludge monster attributed to the engine in the Camry. Do a www.google.com web search with "Toyota engine sludge" as the keywords.

30th Jan 2005, 20:13

Try using synthetic oil. By definition, there's no sludge from it, and it has good additives to clean the engine and maintain the seals, so your gaskets will not leak for a long time.

6th Apr 2005, 09:31

What you say about synthetic oil is true, but you still need follow the oil change intervals -- don't extend them just because the syn. oil mfg. says you can. These oils will sludge if stressed by excessive engine temperatures and these Toyo engines run at excessively high temps.

12th Apr 2005, 18:15

Have a 01 Camrey le. After 8k miles the main bearing seal leaked. Also the oil pan gasket leaked. The service dept fixed them under the warranty. One tire feels like it's out of round, but the service dept can't find the problem.

1st Nov 2005, 09:54

The owner has a 4 cylinder Camry. There has never been any sludge problem attributed to that engine.

13th Sep 2006, 19:32

Look for a 2001 Toyota Camry with headlights that come on automatically at night.

2001 Toyota Camry CE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

It's a Keeper

Faults:

The main complaint I have regarding my Camry is that the paint on the door bumper molding chips off very easily. Just an easy tap in a parking lot, and there is a nick in the paint. Thankfully these plastic strips are replaceable.

The only other problem is that the passenger side visor mirror cover broke off in my hand twice! The dealer replaced it twice at no cost to me.

General Comments:

The car operates very well with the A/C on considering its only a 4 cylinder.

Fun to drive.

A little "generic" looking, and they are everywhere!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

2001 Toyota Camry LE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

A piece of crap lemon

Faults:

Transmission was never very smooth and while it was under warranty I brought it to the dealer where they said it was normal. They let me drive other Toyota's and admit they were all the same. Well soon after warranty expired the transmission went. Very expensive, the mechanic said he hates changing transmissions on Toyota's due to the difficulty of the design, but he says that it is very common for them to go on Camry's.

Computer kept going nearly every 25,000 miles. Which is really no big deal, only costs about $200. The problem is each time it left me stranded in the most unfortunate positions and locations.

Engine locked up at 81,000 miles and was told I needed a new engine or total rebuild. Costed another arm & leg. At this point I had it and decided that Toyota's are crap.

General Comments:

I purchased a Toyota due to all the great reviews they receive in magazines. I'll have to give it to them, this car was very reliable the first year and nothing went wrong. After 1 year things started going on it. That's one thing I didn't understand, just because a magazine says it is good, they are only giving their opinion of it when it is new. Well a car does not stay new forever, and longer term durability is very important and something that no magazine talks about. I found this car is crap and is not durable at all. I have had Pontiacs almost all my life, I keep cars a while and put 200,000 to 400,000 miles on Pontiacs with no problem. I'm going back to GM, thank you very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

28th Dec 2003, 14:50

My 1995 Toyota 4Runner began overheating at 85,000 miles. I was told by the dealership that the head gaskets needed replacing. This was a recall item on 4Runners with 6-cylinders through 1994. However, they told me mine wasn't covered even though it's the same engine. According to them, on closer inspection, they said the heads also were cracked. While repairing this, the mechanics ran over my radiator, which was replaced no charge. After two weeks in the shop, this costed almost $1500. My vehicle now does not run right. Skips and gets much worse gas mileage. This will be my first and LAST Toyota. My next vehicle will be a Nissan. My first one is 20 year old p/u and runs great. David Hamilton, Guyton, Ga.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews