1990 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1990 Toyota Celica ST 4 Banger from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 4 Banger Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

A great fun little car

Faults:

The alternator died on it.

Then it threw a rod!

Other than that, not too much went wrong!

General Comments:

I LOVED this car.. to this day, its my favorite car.. I miss it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

17th May 2008, 17:32

Mine has 250k on it and outside of regular stuff, it runs like a marvel, and looks great at any age. If you keep it rustproofed, it will last for years, and keep a decent value. And, as a bonus, is very good on fuel.

1990 Toyota Celica GT-four 2.0 16v turbo intercooled from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo intercooled Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Nice car, but not very reliable, has lots of potential for modding

Faults:

Head Gasket blew @ 120,000 miles.

Turbo seized taking out my engine by spitting bits of turbine into my piston chambers and oil @ 121,000 miles.

Both sills underneath body kit completely rusted, rust in other places underneath car. Arches starting to bubble rust. Radiators rusted and will need replacing soon.

Starter motor failed @ 120,000 miles.

Power steering hose failed @ 120,000 miles.

Turbo hoses cracked.

Pop-up lights work when they want to.

"Flexi" part of front pipe failed.

Speedometer failed.

General Comments:

Despite what went wrong with the car it was a nice motor, and feels good to drive.

It was a quick car, but I feel a 2000cc 16v turbo motor should of been quicker than it was.

Noticeable under-steer due to heavy front end.

Looks a lovely car.

Waste of money since everything that could, did go wrong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2002

31st Aug 2002, 10:50

This car is 4 wheel drive, hence it is one of the quickest for it's year and type. What did you expect with that level of horse power?

14th Nov 2005, 09:58

I thought the GT4's from this year were 1800cc not 2000cc engines, if I'm right you can't grumble about the performance really can u.

8th Nov 2007, 13:39

Owning a old car, you can expect problems, but if its well taken care of the Celica GTFOUR is great car. I myself own one and after 3 years not one single problem. The car beats the crap out of most of the moderen I4 sports car today and it has more options to boot.

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2L DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired240000 kilometres
Most recent distance246000 kilometres

Summary:

Amazing driving machine, able to best newer cars!

Faults:

When I purchased the car I paid only $2200 Canadian for it. Non certified or emission tested.

-Replaced PCV hose from valve cover to throttle body (reduced blowback from the oil cap, passed emissions)

-Replaced valves connecting fuel lines to tank.

General Comments:

Always wanted a car like this.

-Beautiful body lines, even at 12 years old it looks newer than most cars!

-Handling is a dream, wish there were more twisty roads (like in england) to drive on.

-Pick up is great, nippy as hell.

-Engine can be modified to create immense HP (300-550)

-Interior is sharp and clean, easy reachable controls.

-Smooth shifting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

1990 Toyota Celica GT-Four 2.0 twin entry turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin entry turbo Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Be outstanding with a little more power!

Faults:

Clutch failed at 119000km's, but previous owner replaced it with a heavy duty model.

CD player has problems with skipping.

General Comments:

Handling is good with the 4WD, however it is limited with poor quality tyres.

Turbo lag is minimal but I would like higher boost than the factory 7psi.

Engine revs out after 5,000rpm.

Excellent 4WD with only minimal front wheel spin when launching.

Noticeable understeer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2001

1990 Toyota Celica GT4 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance100700 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 400

Summary:

A reliable car

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

This car has a great look, the handling is perfect, but due to the weight of the body, steering is a bit too difficult and the clutch is heavy.

It will be faster if it uses 15 inch rims rather than 17 inch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2001

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier SRi

Summary:

One of the best handling cars that you could possibly buy for 4 grand

Faults:

Whenever I accelerated in 5th, it would jump out of gear. Very annoying. I took it to Toyota who charged me £400 to sort it out, only when I got it back it was still doing it AND I couldn't select 3rd very easily either. I took it straight back and complained. They took another look at it and took the gear-box well apart and made several more adjustments and replaced several parts. They charged me another 300 for this. I've never trusted the garage since.

Recently the exhaust rusted through in 2 places and the entire system was looking a bit shoddy so I replaced the lot, not including the manifold, at a cost of £317.

The brake discs keep warping. I'm only on my 2nd set, but it's really annoying and discs cost around £65 a pair.

The front left wheel bearing is on it's way out. Toyota quoted something like £200 to get it replaced. Ho hum, I think I'll get somebody else to do it.

Recently, the brake warning light flickered a bit. I just added a drop more brake fluid and all has been fine since.

General Comments:

Apart from the problems mentioned above the car has been fantastic. The handling is spot on. If you have some road to play with, you can afford to lift off to get the rear to swing round in a glorious slide which is easy to catch thanks to the quick steering rack. It could do with a bit more power, but on a tight and twisty lane it's totally at home.

Tires don't last too long. I use the recommended Bridgestone RE71's. They last around 10,000 miles and cost around £70 each.

I use mine mainly to drive to and from work. I've done 20,000 miles in the last year and I can report that the seats are comfy, there's plenty of legroom, loads of bootspace and good visibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 34 reviews