1990 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1990 Toyota Celica GT from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

At 10 years old, still runs new

Faults:

The usual, tires, and an exhaust leak.

General Comments:

I think the Celica is a great car. I have had another I owned since new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Excellent all round, fast-looking sporty compact

Faults:

None!

General Comments:

The look of the car is definitely eye-catching, with a style that never dies.

I've rated the performance of this car relatively low because its acceleration absolutely stinks and the 5SFE engine is weak. However, I overcame this by just adding a turbo. Not much in terms of modifying and upgrading in performance unless you custom make it.

Do you like music? The sound is incredible in this car with a decent aftermarket stereo system.

Also, the Celica is a Toyota, and therefore, very reliable. Even with a turbo, I expect my engine to last longer than a Honda's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

1st Jul 2001, 21:47

Yeah, I have a Celica, and would like to know by how much horse power did it increase, and how much was the turbo? Alexshu78@aol.com

26th Aug 2001, 21:04

The horsepower for the 2.2l is about 130bhp in the manual.

I'd like to comment on the statement about the acceleration stinking on the review above - I don't see how you can expect good acceleration when you drive an automatic. I own a 1990 Celica GT, with a manual transmission, and it's pretty nippy. No, it's not a Corvette or a Porsche, but it takes off alright. I think the 0-60 at new was 8 seconds (about).

1990 Toyota Celica Grand Sport 2.2 DOHC long block from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC long block Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Great project car for speed demons

Faults:

Great performance, but needs help.

General Comments:

I like my Celica a lot more than my Supra, I think that this year of the Celica out does the similar year of the Supra if you can get it to top performance.

Fitted parts : HKS exaust, AEM intake and filter, Toyo tires (the really fat ones).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2000

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2 DOHC 16V from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 DOHC 16V Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired143578 miles
Most recent distance159789 miles

Summary:

True sports car!!!!!!!!!!

Faults:

I have owned the car for a year now, all I have done is bought new tires, changed my air intake tube, and fixed the bearing. Other than that, nothing much.

General Comments:

It's a good smooth ride for me since I am a big fan of Toyota cars. Also its performance is good and very pleasing!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

1990 Toyota Celica GTS 22R from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 22R Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carMercury Capri

Summary:

Reliable and stylish

Faults:

While living in Hawaii, a few things went wrong.

1) Sensor in the air intake.

2) Serpentine pulley (rubber seal between metal ring halves crumbled due to excessive salty air living by the ocean).

3) Motor mount.

General Comments:

I really like the car. Since I've moved back to Los Angeles well over a year ago, the car has had absolutely no problems.

If I had one complaint, it is that it's a little slow. I owned an 84 Celica that had 250,000 miles on it and it was as quick if not quicker than this car.

Still, I like it and before the new Celica's came out, everyone always thought the car is much newer than it is due to the styling of the internals and externals.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2000

1990 Toyota Celica GT-R 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 kilometres
Most recent distance91000 kilometres
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good looking and fast bargain

Faults:

Nothing unless you call a Ford Focus pulling out in front of you. The Focus was almost a write-off whilst my car survived with only the number plate broken off and some silver paint on my bumper, don't ever get hit by a Celica.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive and faster than I expected, nice steering and brakes, as the car is an import it has a host of extras that are amazing for a 1990 car, climate control, electric seat, tilt and rake adj steering, elec folding mirrors and more and more. All for £4000, what a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2000

1990 Toyota Celica ZR 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

It seems to be pulling slightly to the left even though the tracking is supposed to be OK. It might be due to the 205 tyres I have on it.

Other that that and a faulty battery, I've had no problems.

General Comments:

This is a very economical sports car. I get about 35mpg around the city. The needle goes down quickly if you put your foot down. The limiter kicks in at about 125mph which is annoying if you want to leave it rip.

There is about 90k up on the clock now and as far as I know, there was nothing repaired on it.

The body work is like new, so is the cockpit (except for the gearknob, which kinda fell apart over the years)

These cars go on forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 1999

22nd Jan 2003, 11:07

I too have a ZR and found the the same mysterious left side pulling even though all is OK! A characteristic of the car perhaps? Don't see many of the ZR versions - my cars a 1990 auto and a bit less miles, but been dead reliable. How do you get rid of that annoying top end limiter?

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2 16V DOCH petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 2.2 16V DOCH petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Performance isn't bad for a four cylinder, but would like it to be better. Good handling, would be great with 215/50/15 tires as opposed to the 185/65/14's on it.

After eight years, and 134,000 miles it burns some oil, and is starting to show some rust. Very comfortable on long rides, controls very well placed, and smooth at speeds of 100 mph and greater. Averages 25 mpg city and 30 on the highway. I have added fog lights, a great spoiler that sits 6 inches off the rear decklid, and an in-dash cd/reciever. I love taking it out on a sunny day with the windows and moonroof open, and opening it up on a curvy road.

Only real complaints are that there aren't many aftermarket products for it like those sweet Honda Civic's, and I wouldn't recomend it in an automatic, because my sister has one of those and the performance isn't nearly as good as the 5-speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 1998

1st Oct 2001, 16:08

If you want power, buy a Nissan 200sx turbo. Cheaper to buy, a lot faster, and better handling.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 34 reviews