1990 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1990 Toyota Celica GTS 2.2 Inline 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 Inline 4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

Excellent handling + high rev speeds

Faults:

Alternator went, and alternator connection needed to be replaced.

Leaked power-steering fluid, and oil (head gasket)

Steering pin clunks.

CV boot ripped.

General Comments:

Despite the various mechanical problems I had with the car, I could tell by its overall performance and amazing handling that it was an excellent design. I purchased the car after it had already been in an accident and wasn't in immaculate condition so the resulting problems are likely from that accident as well as heavy driving. Its very quick off the line (not so much uphill -typical of in-line) I would definitely recommend buying a Celica.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2004

18th Jan 2005, 15:05

I am a 1990 Celica GTS owner. I agree that it is one of the most well built machines for it's class. I am always coming up to new levels of admiration for my car, if you own one you know what I mean. I do believe there is a weakness as far as the power steering fluid and head gasket are concerned. I've had my rack and pinion replaced and I don't remember any major problems, but a few noises here and there. I would recommend any replacement parts to be of higher performance, for both the car and the driver.

Sincerely, A proud owner.

18th Jan 2005, 15:19

Yes, driver, remember that when you get your parts replaced, to get performance parts.

And then your wife/girlfriend won't have to buy so many batteries!

25th Feb 2008, 21:25

Question.

I can't find my owners manual, and I don't think it would tell me this and I don't have to tools to look so.

Are there are there speaker holes in the doors? and if yes what size speakers?

I know there are 4" in the dash and 6 1/2" in the rear.

15th Apr 2008, 23:14

I purchased my Celica in Dec 2007. Had a bad oil leak and coolant leak. Replaced the water pump, all hoses, and had a mechanic replace all of the engine seals... next came brake pads and new calipers... and a four wheel alignment. I only gave 760.00 for the car... and 1000.00 later this is one sweet ride. I average 35 miles a gallon highway... all power options still work... the gt qualifiers hug the road like nobody's business. Only thing is this car runs hot. Always at 3/4 gauge in the city... I am thinking of a 170 degree thermostat now. I made a heck of a buy.

13th Jan 2009, 10:56

I have a 03 Dodge Neon SXT now. And man do I miss my 90 Celica GT-S.

It was reliable, had to fix nothing, bought it with about 100k miles about a year and a half ago for 2300 bucks. This thing was sharp, decent performance.

Too bad I totaled it, because this thing was sweet, fully loaded, everything.

1990 Toyota Celica GT 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired165056 kilometres
Most recent distance269189 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Low end sports car that doesn't feel and act like one

Faults:

Normal wear and tear.

Oil Leaks.

Power Steering line leak.

A/C compressor died last spring.

General Comments:

I love the trunk space in this car, excellent for camping especially since the rear seats fold down to give you a 'wagon style' trunk.

The car corners like a sports car should.

The back seats and seating room are a little small. People over 5'5" should not sit in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2004

1990 Toyota Celica GT 5sfe from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5sfe Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

A street performer!

Faults:

The CV Joints went bad after I got it.

2. The Rack and Pinion is bad

3. The brake rotors were badly worn upon purchase and the calipers were faulty.

But then again it was previously owned by a "girl" (No offence ment to the girls who love their cars)

General Comments:

The car doesn't know it's only a four cylinder and doesn't act like one.

Even for an automatic it takes off from a stand still like it was on jet fuel and N2O. It handles great and performes without flaw even in it's most stock form. It is heart stopping and body trembling action at your mercy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2003

3rd Sep 2005, 22:31

Must be mistaken... your previous car must have been a Yugo, for you to think that your celica is on "jet fuel and nitrous" if its heart stopping power you want, take your moms minivan for a spin. even they are a lot faster than your celica. Inexperience is the factor here. ask a friend with a car that has a V8 to take you for a ride, and your perspective will change immediately. jet fuel will be out of the question.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 34 reviews