1990 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1990 Toyota Celica GT 5S-FE from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 5S-FE Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance190000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Outstanding quality materials

Faults:

Nothing out of the ordinary except I lost 2nd gear synchro at about 150k miles (probably my fault).

Standard failures like clutch (90k), struts (?k), alternator (150k), cam seals (185k), power steering o-rings (190k), air-conditioning (170k).

General Comments:

Inside and outside still in good shape though used. Bare metal outside can go years without rusting. Inside materials are also excellent. Brakes (no ABS on this model and year) are inadequate. I am considering buying another of the same vintage (the All-Trac).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

18th Jul 2005, 21:40

How did the car act when the 2nd gear synchro went out?

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2L 16v EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 16v EFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired97650 miles
Most recent distance99750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A super-street high performance reliability machine OUT THE BOX!!!

Faults:

So far there has only been required maintenance to be done on this little shiner. I had to replace the tires shortly after I got the vehicle, because they were running bald on the inside. Still needs an alignment. Also, the power steering pump is probably going (makes loud noise) and there is an A/C nob that broke off. Leaks a LITTLE bit of oil on start-up, but only because the former owners didn't really take that great of care of it.

General Comments:

This car is the nicest car I have ever owned. It was a gift for college, but the price was about 3000 dollars US. It had some minor body damage which I want to fix, as well as get a new paint job and a few performance upgrades. Before all that can happen though, I have to keep in good shape. Shouldn't be a problem though - this thing runs like a champ, has great pick up and go, and is super easy on gas. 450+ miles on ONE TANK!!! its amazing. Japan really knows how to please their customers. If I go to buy a new vehicle in the future, Toyota will be my first stop. UNBELIEVABLE VALUES!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

1990 Toyota Celica from North America

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

This car was not too bad I paid $1,500 for it it has k150 and it runs great.

General Comments:

It's a great car hey by Alex Thrapp.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

28th Aug 2003, 09:44

Whats the point in submitting this as a "review", theres no info whatsoever!

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles

Summary:

Wonderful cheap daily driver

Faults:

Hardly anything has gone wrong with the car at all, nothing that wasn't directly my fault at least.

I had one accident, which resulted in me having to replace the struts on the rear right wheel.

General Comments:

Cheap to run and refuses to die. Even after some severe beatings.

Plenty of off the line power although the engine gets winded around 80 in the auto.

It's a great car for a person in school who doesn't want to worry about costly repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

1990 Toyota Celica GT 2.2 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired163000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Street Legal Jet!!

Faults:

Rack and Pinion Steering column has messed up at 163 000. But that's about it that I know of.

General Comments:

Yow this car thinks it's weighs only 200lbs and has a V6 in it! I'm talk seriously quick, even for an automatic. From stop lights I've slaughtered a Cavalier and a Civic so far (but a civic, I know who hasn't slaughtered a Civic right?!) And one of the best things I like about it is that the limited slip is so good that while cars are burning out at the lights, trying to peel out quickly, my tires are already locked and I just see them in my side view mirror coming because I'm already gone!!! The interior is sporty and has serious potential which I am beginning to exploit, but the engine is still basically stock, I'm waiting till I pay my tuition to start hooking it up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2003

3rd Sep 2005, 22:35

The title of this review made me go back and make sure I wasn't in a different manufacturers review segment. nope, back to reality, another kid that thinks a '90 Celica is extremely fast. hardly a street legal jet, although I applaud toyota for their durability.

15th Jul 2008, 19:39

I own a '91 Celica GT, with the 2.2L I4 (NOT v4 as the previous guy typed), and couldn't be more pleased with it. Although I don't drive it just to "slaughter" anyone... If I wanted that I would buy a Civic and start putting on as many cheap aftermarket parts as I can.

This car is extremely reliable and handles like a charm, and has enough power and potential for anything that you'd want (anything legal), but driven and "reviewed" by guys like this just cheapens it to a mere tire-burning toy, like some Hyundai or Kia or even a Civic. This car deserves better.

11th Dec 2008, 20:45

Here is my take on Celica performance (based on mine only). 91, 5 spd. convertible which is 150 lbs heavier. 143K. Average at best. Nothing thrilling about the engine. No soul stirring. This coming from a 50 yr. old who's had about a dozen different cars from 3 cyl. to V8, all but 2 stick shift. I've had mine 5 yrs. now & and it runs fine, 35 mpg. But, Mini vans can out duel me at will if so inclined.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 34 reviews