1987 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1987 Toyota Corolla XL 1.8 diesel from Belgium

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance423000 miles
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

The most reliable car ever

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

I've driven as much as 370.000 km with this car and I didn't have to change anything. Not even my exhaust, only tires, brakes, oil and filters.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I've ever had.

It's always in good condition, starts in a click and I've never had any costs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1987 Toyota Corolla CS 1.6 L from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86777 kilometres
Most recent distance94524 kilometres

Summary:

An excellent car!

Faults:

When I first got my car there was nothing wrong with it, but I had to replace my battery after 1 month due to my 2 subs in the back.

It also crunches gears when going from 1st to 2nd, but I think that's because of the way I used to drive it.

General Comments:

It has a lot of room on the inside. I'm 6'3 and I have no problems at all.

It is very reliable and runs on the smell of an oily rag.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

1987 Toyota Corolla GT Coupe (AE86) 1.6 16v (4A-GE) from Belgium

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v (4A-GE) Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 33

Summary:

Extremely underrated sports machine

Faults:

Not much at all, normal things: exhaust, service, re-sprayed certain panels. The panels are thin for lightness so I had some rust problems also.

General Comments:

This machine was excellent fun with its rear wheel drive and multivalve engine. Very fast and agile, can be addictive. It is possible to forgive it many things for the fun it returns!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

2nd Aug 2004, 19:33

All ae86 were rear wheel drive only.

1987 Toyota Corolla GT-S 1.6 Twin Cam 4A-GE from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Twin Cam 4A-GE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired197000 miles
Most recent distance203000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

The best lightweight car ever made

Faults:

Muffler hangers broke.

Needs a new clutch.

General Comments:

The GT-S Corolla is surely the most fun lightweight import ever made. It's RWD for those who didn't know, which makes the handling very neutral - turn-in response is very good and speed out of the corners is excellent.

The engine lacks torque but is a blast to wring out. Above 4500 the car is very quick.

These cars are tough as nails and parts are abundant - get one for those rainy days and enjoy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

3rd Feb 2004, 14:11

Toyota Corolla GTS's are great cars. Very fun to drive in snowy/rainy weather. Very fast stock. Only problem is finding parts.

7th Sep 2004, 15:38

Still have the car? want to sell it?

Long_tran@hotmail.com.

30th Jan 2008, 06:53

Power sliding in the wet != drift.

1987 Toyota Corolla GTS 1.6 4 cylinder twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 4 cylinder twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired9500 kilometres
Most recent distance420000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude (1979)

Summary:

Would highly recommend the GTS

Faults:

Alternator went at 292,500.

Head gasket went at 406,000 (my husband says that it was because the animal safe antifreeze I was using ate through the head gasket).

First clutch lasted for 143,000 kms; second clutch lasted for 192,000 kms.

5 speed transmission was rebuilt by the dealership at 54,000 kms (we had no further problems after that).

Regular wear and tear type of repairs: brakes, tires, oil changes, timing belt.

Rear axle bearings and rear end were replaced in the mid-300,000 kms.

General Comments:

Overall the car was extremely reliable. We drove the car very hard from the day we bought it until the day it was rearended and written off.

When the head gasket went and we had the motor opened up the original cross-hatching marks on the cylinder walls were still there from the factory (the motor hadn't worn yet inside).

Until the day the car died the most oil it ever burned was 1/2 a litre per 8,000 kms (which is nothing for a 13 year old car).

We enjoyed the car so much that we bought a second one a year before this one was written off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

16th Jun 2007, 14:30

My 1987 GTS Corolla has been maintained over the past 20 years. Of course I believe in dealership maintenance and my car runs like the day I drove it off the car lot. Yes, it is a high mileage car of 175,000 miles. I guess I was blessed with this vehicle with really no major problems, yet. The original water pump went bad at a 115,000 miles. The dealership was amazed. The car is used for weekend driving just to keep it running. There are little blemishes. My car runs great to be a l987 Corolla GTS.

1987 Toyota Corolla GT 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10

Faults:

Apart from a few minor electrical problems related to the age of the car, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car is the elephant's danglies, let it rev out all the way and it will pull you all the way to 120mph. Hard to find modification parts due to the limited production i.e. 2yrs. Fit it with a K&N and an exhaust system and it helps out a lot. Anyone driving the following cars be warned, You'll be eating dust.... Golf GTI 8v, Pug 205 GTI, Astra or Nova GTE, BMW 316m, 318is, 320, 323, Nissan X1R, the list goes on and on. Only main rivals would be a CRX or a 1.6 VTI or Golf 16v.

I love it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2000

9th Dec 2000, 18:20

The Toyota Corolla GTi Twin Cam is a very good car, look after the beast and it will last years.

Only problem is they get nicked fast, I personally advise you to put in a Clifford alarm.

We had a Corolla GT Twin Cam 1987, they're fast, but we thought the Cavalier GSi 2000 16 valve 2wd sequential fuel injection was the mother of all cars, but we were wrong, the Japanese Corolla GTi is in a class of its own. You've heard the saying "the hand that rocks the cradle rules the world", the Corolla surely does.

Overall this beast was built before its time.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 36 reviews