1989 Toyota Corolla XL 1.6 from Sweden


Reliable and low costs


It is very rusty, and it is difficult to repair.

The fan to the air-condition only works at the two top speeds. This makes it very noisy.

The rear suspension gave up after 170000km.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car. It is not very comfortable, but it takes me from A to B without any problems.

It does not need any maintenance, apart from new oil and oilfilter once a year.

It does not drink a lot of fuel. 7,3 liter / 100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2002

1989 Toyota Corolla GT-S 1.6 Twin Cam from North America


It is fastest and best looking car that I have owned


The seats have worn down badly.

Had to replace the O-ring underneath the distributer.

Cannot find any after-market performance parts anywhere, or any body-kits for that matter.

General Comments:

I fell in love with it the first time I had the chance to drive it.

This car is really fast for a little four banger, and handles like a dream.

I will never get rid of this car even after the engine blows. When this happens I plan to do an engine swap, perhaps even a MR2 Spider engine upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2001

30th Oct 2001, 10:49

This has been the only body kit I have been able to find for the 88-91 Toyota Corollas.


10th Jun 2005, 12:30

If you go to www.ebay.com/motors, you can find aftermarket parts. Use keywords: ae92, 4age, or by year.

1989 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Very reliable given the age and mileage


Front exhaust outlet pipe needed replacement at 152,000 kilometres.

Engine oil consumption is beginning to rise to 1 liter per fortnight.

Front driver and passenger window-winders have broken twice.

Front brake hoses have perished just 20,000 kilometres after being replaced.

General Comments:

This vehicle provides good acceleration for its engine size and weight.

It is able to comfortably hold a 130 kilometers per hour cruising speed.

Average urban fuel consumption figure has been 8.5 litres per 100 kilometres.

Average motorway fuel consumption figure has been 5.5 litres per 100 kilometres.

Specification is basic but functional.

Gearbox is very strong, and the gear lever does not rattle and shake like other Japanese models of a similar age.

Despite not having power steering, fitment of 155 series profile tyres results in very light steering weighting.

Interior trim is strong and long lasting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

27th Apr 2003, 23:28

Back again, same vehicle, has now done 215kms.

Many problems beginning to surface. Rust along the bottom inside edge of both front doors. Fuel/temp gauges dead. Exhaust manifold needs replacing. Drivers side window regulator has totally failed after repeated repair (a very common problem on Toyotas of this vintage). Rough Idle speed despite fresh servicing. Oil consumption has dropped back following treatment with "Wynns Stop Smoke".

6th Aug 2003, 22:59

I also have issues with weird (wavering) and high idle. 8.5l/100k around town seems very good consumption for these things. I don't know about putting 155 series tyres on them, although my manual steer is definitely heavy with the standard 185/70R13.

1989 Toyota Corolla All-Trac from North America


A great car, if you can find one


Rear window wiper motor recently died. Very expensive to replace...$225/part.

Burning a little oil... blue smoke on start-up; stops in less than a minute.

General Comments:

This has been, absolutely, THE best car I have ever owned. At 12 years old, it is still in immaculate shape. No rust, a few small dents or scratches, interior is very clean. No one believes it's an '89.

The car just blows through the snow, and the All-Trac (Locking Center Differential) is really great. I'm spoiled and won't go back to FWD or RWD, ever. I only wish it had a little higher ground clearance.

Missing item: cup holders!

One doesn't see many of these vehicles on the road, so it really stands out. Although, I noticed more of them in Ithaca, NY than anywhere else I've lived or traveled. Don't know why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

9th Apr 2003, 10:50

I have an 89 All Trac sedan... No sign of dying!!...original clutch... rally on!!!


12th Aug 2007, 09:39

I also notice more of them in Berkeley, San Franciso, and Walnut Creek, California. On my block, there are three All-tracs, all the same color!

8th Feb 2009, 09:27

My Corolla All-Trac's clutch finally died at more than 201,000 miles. I debated as to whether or not to put the money into a new clutch (the All-Tracs take a more substantial clutch with a thicker flywheel), or a different car. I opted for the latter, since this is still the most reliable car I've ever owned. I've driven it through 120 F weather in Arizona, on dirt roads, etc. Yes, I wish it had higher ground clearance, but there are ways to achieve that.