1989 Toyota Corolla SR5 from North America


Quality and value in a sporty econobox


Bad exhaust - have had to replace parts that were already replaced - have to replace them again soon.

RUST - passenger side rusted sooner than the driver's side; Toyotas from that generation have rust problems around the wheel wells.

Currently have an oil leak - will fix when the car is ready for new timing belt.

Fading in the rear window area from UV rays - caused speakers to dry out.

Channel blew in the stereo.

Replaced typical stuff - brakes, starter, etc.

General Comments:

The SR5 is a terrific car. When I was looking for my car, I found SR5 owners tend to take better care of their cars than sedan owners and it really shows. People are always amazed when I tell them what year the car is.

My car is in brilliant condition. The paint has held up well except for spots of rust. The car idles quietly - you can't really hear it. Fuel economy is impressive. The car always starts. It handles well in snow especially with snow tires.

A great all around car. Buy Toyota!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2000

7th Jan 2001, 17:40

I have an '89 SR5. It's black, but I put rims and tinted windows on it. It's a really nice car, everything you said sounds right about it.

15th Sep 2002, 18:59

I just bought one earlier today! I'm really excited! It has no rust and is super clean inside. I plan to tint the windows, and I already have a CD player and boom box!

1989 Toyota Corolla LE 1.6 L Carb from North America


Perky commuter for a tight budget


Exhaust system rotted, replaced by Toyota under replacement warranty.

Rust around the doors and fenders.

Slight hesitation on acceleration.

Rear shocks wore out and replaced.

Tires replaced.

Drive shafts replaced and later, CV boots.

Oil leaks from the engine. Partially cured with an additive.

General Comments:

For the most part a reliable, well made little car.

Most things replaced have just worn out.

Like the previous Tercel, probably not a good car to have a major accident in.

In any weather, starts first time in the morning and has good heating/cooling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

1989 Toyota Corolla Deluxe Wagon 1.6L twin cam, carb. 4 cyl from North America


Perfect first car


- New discs.

- Front driver bearing.

- Exhaust work.

- Just finished installing 4 new struts.

General Comments:

This was my first car, and it served its time as the college mobile. I wish to keep it for two more years because it's such a reliable car. I also love 35-46 mpg which is nice with today's crazy gas prices.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 22:18

These cars rule. They just give you a wonderful car ownership experience.

22nd Feb 2001, 02:37

Now up to 125,000 kms.

24th Dec 2007, 02:51

You're in Canada right? I am, and I get around 35 MPG out of my 1989 Corolla DX Wagon too, and I think I got 42 MPG on the highway & 80km of dirt roads stop & go.

BUT, in Canada, our Miles Per Gallon (MPG) uses U.S.A. Miles, but IMPERIAL Gallons, NOT U.S.A. Gallons? A US Gallon is I think 3.78 Liters, and an Imperial Gallon is 4.5 Liters. So, Canadian MPG's are always around 20% higher than U.S.A. MPG's.

(I don't know why they don't use kilometers per liter (km/L) as a fuel economy measurement. When I get gas at the pump, if I get 15 liters I know I can go at least 150km. But with Liters per 100 km's, it's not clear at all how far you'll drive when you fill up with 23 liters, L/100km just doesn't make things simple at all.)

1989 Toyota Corolla SR5 4A-LC from North America


This is Toyota at its best in the 80's


The basic things have gone bad like the battery, brakes and exhaust! Every car I have owned, I have had to replace these things, but when I replaced them on this car, I used high performance parts.

I had an 81 Celica and got in a wreck in it. I received over 4 grand for that wreck - amazing! Then I bought this car for 3500, and got a steal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000