1989 Toyota Corolla SR5 1.6 Litre 16v from North America


Very good reliable car


Nothing at all, a very good car.

The only thing I find is that the body panels are not very strong on all Toyota`s in the older years. The body on my Corolla is in good shape due to a repaint.

There is a hole in the driver's side floor that I will have to take care of.

General Comments:

When I was looking for a car to purchase I came across the Corolla, I saw it for sale in a parking lot and I took it for a road test and I was sold. It drives like it just come out the showroom. It has a lot of mileage, but that`s OK, it`s a Toyota.

The only downfall is that I find it lacks in interior space.

Headlight motors are weak on all Toyota`s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

1989 Toyota Corolla GTS 1.6L 16v DOHC from North America


A great performance car


The A/C does not work very well, it has a blockage in the system.

General Comments:

This car is very quick on take off and excellent at the top end. The fastest that I have gone is 135mph with the currently stock motor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

19th Sep 2007, 13:47

Nice comments... I agree, except that mine is slower than molasses in January. Anything I can do to get more power out of it?

19th Oct 2007, 17:49

My ac don't work either, but I can't complain I have 289000 miles and nothing wrong with engine and it has nothing, but power thank you toyota.

1989 Toyota Corolla GT-S 1.6 4A-GE from North America


Toyota's best kept secret


When I got it in 1992, I got a new clutch, new belts, brakes, and tires.

Needed altenator and switches for the climate controls around 115000.

New belts just added at 126000.

General Comments:

I paid $6400 for it and it has been worth every penny.

It still looks brand new, inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2001

28th Sep 2005, 00:23

Keep up the good work! Not many left here, save em and love em.

1989 Toyota Corolla SR5 1.6 from North America


Love it, but needs better after-market parts


So far 3 alternators in 3 years. I am running amps and speakers.

Air conditioning went.

General Comments:

This car is the most reliable car I have bought. I will never get rid of it, even when the motor goes I'm putting another one in. There is something about the car I can't explain. The downfall is I can't find performance parts anywhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2001

18th Mar 2004, 15:16

I agree with this review. I bought this same vehicle five years ago from the original owner when it had 140,000 miles on it. Now it has 217,000 miles and still runs perfectly. I have never replaced anything, except the tires and timing belt per manufacturer recommendations. It even has the original drive belts! It still averages 40 mpg on 87 octane gas, provided I keep it at 60 mph on the freeways. It even got 50.6 mpg on the 500-mile run down highway 395 from Carson City to San Bernardino last June! I too am going to drive this car until it dies, and then I'm going to rebuild the motor and drive it some more. Most reliable and economical car I've ever owned.

13th Jan 2009, 21:44

If you keep blowing alternators, you are probably over heating them by not using capacitors for your sound system. It is a cheap way to store the power used for your amp/amps. Maybe a thing to think about, when you're driving down the street and the alternator goes, and you have to pay for a towing fee and ANOTHER new alternator.

1989 Toyota Corolla GTS 4a-ge from North America


The best car I ever owned


My fenders rusted on me very fast. Had to remove the spoiler to repaint the trunk lid because of rust.

Had to replace the clutch at 107,898.

General Comments:

A lot of power for not a lot of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2001

1989 Toyota Corolla All-Trac Wagon 1.6 gas from North America


An overall reliable and dependable car


There is plenty of rust along the bottom body panels and doors. I try to remove it every year, but it keeps coming back.

Exhuast system components only last 2 to 4 years. They have been expensive to replace, except for the muffler due to its warranty.

Gas tank/fuel pump braket rusted out when the car was 10 years old and had 150,000 miles. Repairs cost 500 dollars (all new parts, cheap labor).

The alternator finally went at 170,000 miles and cost 300 dollars to replace (new parts, cheap labor).

General Comments:

Even with its rust problems, this car is very good. It does not burn oil. The motor has never had any major service done to it (no headgasket replacements, rebuilds, etc.)

The radiator is the original.

The power steering, axles, CV joints, and UV joints are the originals.

The transmission is the original.

The clutch is the original!!!

It still gets decent gas mileage (30 miles per gallon).

The car has never left me stranded, even when the alternator was going. It would still start, eventually.

The all wheel drive system (with locking center differential) is handy in the snow or on muddy dirt roads.

The rust problems are probably partially due to it being a Maine car, and a lot of salt goes on the roads in the winter.

I think it is too bad that Toyota stopped selling all wheel drive and station wagon Corollas in the U.S.

I would buy a new one if they were still made. Instead, I have to settle for a Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2001

2nd Apr 2001, 18:25

Trying to find information on a 89 Toyota Corolla SR5 All Track Wagon. If anyone can help e-mail me at legoland_bomber@yahoo.ca thanks.

28th Aug 2002, 07:13

I'll add my opinion here about the 1989 Toyota Corolla All-Trac. My experience is similar to the one in the review: a persistent rust problem the past few years, but engine is going strong at 188K miles, original radiator, original clutch. Only things I've replaced are starter; timing belt (at 150K, I followed the maintenance schedule... never had a problem with it) ; and exhaust system components about 4 times (but paid only the first time for a Toyota warrantied replacement). Plus routine brake and other maintenance. A/C ran out of freon this year so no longer works. I'm really sad that this car was in an accident last week and is being totaled by the insurance company!