1999 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1999 Toyota Corolla ce 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Previous carChrysler Neon

Faults:

Chronic front end maintenance

Bounce on highway and need constant driver input. Suspension weaknesses similar to the one it clones: Jetta

Boring and A to B commuter.

General Comments:

Enough minimal to be trouble free.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

1999 Toyota Corolla VX 1.8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Simple straightforward predictable

Faults:

Car sways in just moderate side wind.

Transmission linkage switch broke.

General Comments:

Thieves ignore this car. Car probably best on gas for its size over any competitor. Accelleration better than anyone would expect (real sleeper).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2006

1999 Toyota Corolla VE 1.8 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

If, everyone drove Toyota's then there would be a lot of mechanics out of work

Faults:

NONE besides regular maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievably reliable. I have put over 112,000 miles on it myself in the 6 years I've owned it. It starts every time the key is turned. It handles great for a small car and is really comfortable. It has great "pick-up" for a 4cyl and the engine is very smooth and quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2005

1999 Toyota Corolla LE 2.2 liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

The Corolla is perfect, reliable, affordable & comes with several standard features!

Faults:

Someone crashed into to my baby and killed her! She was totaled on the driver's side and passenger side's rear axle was crunched inward, but you know what? She still kept tugging along, she just couldn't back up!

General Comments:

What a great car, and I came out of the crash alive and with minor injuries! The corolla had 83,000 miles, I was the original owner for 4 1/2 years. No problems ever and I only had 2 tune-ups, one new set of breaks and drove the heck outta that car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

1999 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 Liter from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Liter Manual
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Rides great, but the emissions needs to be redesigned

Faults:

Summer of 2002 had to charge the Ac unit with freon, thinking that would take care of it.

Summer of 2003 the ac unit went out and would not hold a freon charge. This was mostly covered by the extended warranty I purchased when I bought the car used.

January 2004 the Charcoal Canister had to be replaced since it had failed emissions.

Within 6 weeks of the replacement the Check Engine light continually kept going on and off.

January 2005 failed emissions again. This time the mechanic (the same one) cannot find any leaks or problems as to why it failed. He suggested a new gas cap... and this was only a guess. He's resetting the computer and if the Check Engine light comes back on he say to take it to a Toyota Dealership. Then I can spend the big bucks.

General Comments:

My mother has 2 Camry's and loves them both. I had trouble with my previous car, a Tercel. I bought this car thinking I was getting a quality vehicle I didn't have to worry about breaking down on me. I am very disappointed in this vehicle and will not buy another Toyota product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st January, 2005

6th Oct 2008, 12:20

I own a 1999 Corolla (160,000 miles) and a 1999 Camry (260,000 miles)

I've only done routine maintenance (oil change, tires, fluids, brakes and one tune up).

I love these Toyota's.

My mechanic says that it is smart to buy a 4 cyl not a 6 cyl, so that's what I did with my Corolla and Camry. So far so good!

1999 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Awesome straight-forward car with cat-like reflexes

Faults:

Four minor things have gone wrong.

Noisy belt tensioner (repaired).

Driver's door-lock mechanism doesn't work, I have to lock the door manually.

Front-left suspension squeaks if I push down on it (or when hitting the bump before the drive-way).

A burnt bulb behind the display cluster.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. It is very well made (reliable, zippy, economical, functional, roomy). Love the conservative interior/exterior style. The engineers paid a lot of attention to detail. Great aerodynamics. Never had a problem driving on days with strong winds. It's very cheap to maintain. I take it to a quality private shop to do basic maintenance, they're much cheaper than the dealers.

The rear legroom is pretty good if the driver and passenger move their seat a tad forward. I'm 5'10 and I'm comfy sitting a bit closer to the steering wheel for a few hours.

Smash the gas pedal, and this thing goes. It handles very well on stock tires. It has wonderful breaks. Very solid dash layout, which also looks great. It has real cup-holders, which fold outta sight. Great trunk space. Very cold a/c. Comfortable seating for everyone. And it's made/assembled in American!

The things I don't like: The engine screams when you smash on the gas (which I rarely do anyway). A/C kinda robs noticeable power (I didn't notice this on domestic vehicles). Transmission hunts for gears on hills (didn't notice this on domestics either).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2004

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews