2000 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 4 of 12

2000 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

The Best Car Made in America

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong with this car, is that it just needed a new serpentine belt. I've also put other general wear-and-tear items on it, such as a set of tires, and new brakes, but that is expected after 6 years.

General Comments:

This car is the best car I have Ever owned. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants an affordable, reliable car. It also gets 29 miles per gallon in city driving, which is very economical. This car will pay for itself after a few years of owning it. I have heard many people say their Toyota's have lasted to 200,000 miles or beyond, so this car is made to last. I'm so proud of this car, and it makes me happy to own such a reliable car. I just can't say enough good things about Toyota, and I'm going to stick with this car for a good many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

2000 Toyota Corolla ce from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1800 miles
Most recent distance37500 miles

Summary:

I wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Faults:

The 'check engine' light comes on even though they say nothing is wrong with it.

The break light stays on always.

Interior side step covers pop off.

Some windows go down, but not back up without manual help.

General Comments:

I don't personally like this car.

It's built cheap like a toy and I don't feel safe in it.

The car has nothing great about it. Everything is blah.

If you are single and want a basic car; gets you to point B from A, then, I suppose, this car is fine. But I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

9th Apr 2006, 00:23

That's what a Corolla IS. A Point-A to Point-B car. Go buy a Ferrari or something.

2000 Toyota Corolla VE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres

Summary:

206,000 km and rising

Faults:

Exhaust manifold gasket replaced ($15 part, 1 hour of labour).

Leaky water pump, which doesn't NEED to be fixed if you keep the fluids topped up.

General Comments:

I've had this car for a lot of years and a lot of km's (bought it brand new). I've had virtually no problems. Great on gas. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

12th Oct 2005, 18:55

This is really good to see. I have a 2000 VE myself and it hasn't ever given me any trouble yet (except a mysterious check engine light going on two days after a dealer's oil change, though the car still runs just fine). It's encouraging to read reviews that remind me of a pretty good vehicle choice. I hope my car, 64,700 miles, gets as far as yours with as little hassle.!

2000 Toyota Corolla from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great little car, always has been and will be

Faults:

My cigarette lighter fuse blew because of a faulty cell phone jack.

General Comments:

I have owned the car for for four years and fifty thousand miles with no problems.

It has had three oil changes. one set of brake pads, one set of tires, one set of plugs and one 15 amp fuse for 50,000 trouble free miles.

I can abuse this car as I did the other one and it is like a timex, it takes a licking and keeps on ticking.

Just remember you get out what you put in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2005

18th Feb 2006, 11:12

THREE oil changes in 50,000 miles? 17000 miles between oil changes? You are supposed to change your oil every 3000 to 4000 miles. Please let everyone know where you trade this vehicle in, because prospective buyers will want to avoid it at all costs.

2000 Toyota Corolla VE 1.8 DOHC VVTL-i I-4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 DOHC VVTL-i I-4 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

I love toyota and I recommend it, but this particular car is not for me

Faults:

I have no problems with it mechanically. it's very reliable, fuel efficient, trustworthy, and dependable. it never let me down yet.

However, my problem is that it's sooooo basic. for example, the suspension. it has a stabilizer bar, but that doesn't help. anything above about 80mph and the car starts switching lanes on it's own. and if your doing 80mph and your behind an 18 wheeler doing 80mph, then suspension develops a mind of it's own. and PLEASE do not go top speed, I have and it's very scary.

Yes, I do agree that by the time I need an oil change my engine is already drained. for some reason the oil that is recommended by toyota and is used by toyota always seem to burn easily. but when I use "the good stuff" or the "top of the line" stuff, I don't have that problem. I'm assuming that the toyota oil is too weak.

General Comments:

It's a very nice car, it's very reliable and dependable, but not fun to drive. the only thing I love to feel on this car is the VVTL-i. it feels nice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

15th Sep 2005, 07:57

Why is he driving 75mph? Perhaps because the speed limit in many states is 75mph on interstate highways, and the traffic moves at 80mph or just a bit more. Should we all drive at notably less than the legal limit and clog up traffic?

Also, he didn't say he was tailgating semis, just following. Should we all pull over to the side of the interstate until no more semis are visible on the road?

20th Aug 2006, 14:26

I think 80 MPH goes around 130 km/h... Don't go to Europe in vacation! You will check how americans drive very carefully comparing to Europeans.

30th Sep 2009, 09:40

I usually travel at 140km/hr in my year 2000 Corolla VE. I do not face any lane-changing problem at all unless a cop requests me to do so. This is an excellent car, so far.

11th Jun 2012, 07:09

Get wider tires for your car for better grip and stability. The 175-65-14 do not have good traction at highway speeds, and are good enough only for city driving. I had the same problem with my 98 Corolla till I put 4x 195-60-14 on it. The gas mileage does not suffer much I have observed.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 43 reviews