2000 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2000 Toyota Corolla Gli 1.6 DOHC 16v from Philippines

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance20000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pickup

Summary:

A Full Powered Medium Sedan

Faults:

Nothing went wrong except for the misaligned antenna.

The air condition would take long to cool the cabin.

General Comments:

This car is absolutely quiet on the road, you wouldn't know your doing above 100 Km/h unless you look at the speedometer. There's no wind noise at all.

The 1.6 Dual overhead cam 16V gasoline engine is indeed fuel efficient, super quiet, accelerates effortlessly and is powerful for a medium car. Handling is great.

The gear ratio (transmission) is well engineered for a medium size sedan.

Suspension is quite stiff, but still gives the corolla a comfortable ride.

The Alpine in-car Sound System sounds great!!!

The service is very good and the Toyota mechanics are very friendly.

I would highly recommend a corolla for everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

2000 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

Reliable, inexpensive to run and great to drive - what more do you want?

Faults:

Problems with corolla -

Nothing - 130k and going strong.

CD player skips occasionally.

General Comments:

Although the design of the car is dated - everything else is perfect.

Breaks were checked at 125 k - 70% still good!

The car cruises nicely at 110 on cruise control and gets 40 + mpg.

Only servicing has been regular oil changes and air filter. original tires replaced at 125 k.

I have a lot of confidence in this car and expect it to make 300k + when I will replace it as I like the new models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2003

14th Aug 2003, 21:14

My Corolla's CD player skips too. Only seems to do it on the first few tracks.

Otherwise, brilliant car.

4th May 2005, 19:50

You are fortunate with your 2000 Corolla CE. Similarly, I have a 1991 Honda with 202,000 miles on it and it has required only scheduled maintenance. Unfortunately, I also own a 2000 Corolla VE, bought used one month ago with 51,000 miles on it, that is already showing the excessive oil consumption often mentioned in forums. Nearly bone dry after only 800 miles. Very frustrating.

18th Feb 2006, 11:06

I think if you are prepared to run it "nearly bone dry" to prove a point made on Toyota Nation, you probably deserve bad things to happen to your cars.

2000 Toyota Corolla GS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

An average, but possibly dangerous car

Faults:

The car pulls to the left. The geometry has been adjusted twice (on both occasions either 3 of 4 wheels were 'out') but it still pulls to the left - and Toyota could not care less.

General Comments:

This 2000 UK car looks like it has a major design fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2002

2000 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 n/a from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 n/a Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Near Perfect. Buy one

Faults:

My front brake rotors warped after violent panic stop in 100 degree weather. I've had no other problems.

General Comments:

Reliability.

This is my third Toyota Corolla, so I know these cars well. They're reliable and fun to drive. My first Corolla had nearly 300,000 miles on the original engine, and ran beautifully.

Performance.

The handling is great, and the gas mileage is excellent (average 42mpg highway), even when driven hard. The manual transmission allows you to make full use of the 1.8 liter VVTi engine. First-time passengers often ask if the engine is a V6. Power is good across the board.. stomping the gas sends heads into the head-rests, even at speeds near 100 mph.

Safety.

I've never wrecked my car, but I was in a 60 mph wreck with my previous Corolla, and when all was said and done, I walked away without a scratch (the engine was still running). The Corolla is rated very well for safety.

Styling.

The styling leaves a little to be desired, but if you want style, buy a Celica. TRD offers some mods that help the looks. Some of my friends mocked my purchase of a Corolla, until I let them drive it. Now they want one of their own! The styling isn't a concern.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2002

16th Jan 2004, 13:54

Corolla is one of the top sellers in its class. Guess why? Everything is good about it. You may argue that the looks is too dull. The secret why Corolla looks so "average" is that it has to satisfy the average taste. And in turn, satisfying the average taste makes the Corolla the top-seller among the masses.

10th Oct 2007, 02:17

I like my Corolla troubles? None. I am 82 years old, I drove in those years about 35 cars, but the one I liked the most is my Corolla. Great gasoline mileage, almost none problems, right now my mileage is 105.000 and engine and everything else work beautifully. I will not change this car for any other car, it is a 2000 model and every one think that is a 2007 because the way it looks. Keep changing the oil, clean the car every day and you will have a treasure in your hand. Viva la Corolla.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews