2000 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 11 of 12

2000 Toyota Corolla VE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres

Summary:

Extremely economical, neat car

Faults:

Wipers don't wipe so smoothly.

Doors close with a jam.

General Comments:

Besides few minor problems, this car has been a real smooth car to drive around. Extremely economical car for people with tight budget, this car does come with a CD-player. Just do all the maintenance and you won't find any trouble with the engine.

As for the actual driving, this car is pretty quick, but only on straight lanes. It's horrible on curvy roads, and tends get off the road on high winds, or when someone else is passing. Speaking of passing power, this car has plenty of that!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2002

29th Mar 2008, 17:14

I love my TC, great on gas and very reliable. My only complaint is, high winds will sway my car like there is no tomorrow. But other than that, very quick and agile.

2000 Toyota Corolla XLI 1.5 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4200 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Though it had some miner technical faults which I just mentioned, it's a great car!

Faults:

Driver's window does not operate up and down fully after driving for about 2 days.

After 2 weeks, the left rear passenger window control button sunk in while I attempted to operate it.

All the seats' cushion were not as curved towards our back when seated. It will be more comfortable if the seats had some curvature shape towards our back when seated, providing an ergonomic effect and pleasure for driving long distance.

General Comments:

Powerful, very low fuel consumption, great color depth, good ventilated air-condition, very quiet even when traveling at 120 km/hr. (you don't feel it moving that fast at all!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2002

2000 Toyota Corolla XLi 1.5 unleaded from Singapore

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.5 unleaded Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carFord Laser

Summary:

A powerful 1.5 litre car

Faults:

My rear right power window motor had to be replaced as it can't move.

General Comments:

This car has very good low end torque.

The cabin is comfortable and spacious.

The fuel consumption is very good at about 13.5 km/litre.

The VVTi engine is very powerful.

The paint work of the Corolla is a lot better than my Ford Laser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

17th Jan 2002, 13:47

Driver's window does not wind up or down fully which it's supposed to. Some minor scratches were spotted when collecting the car.

Overall it is a good car.

2000 Toyota Corolla Linea Terra 1.4 VVTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 VVTi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Developed for the undiscerning customer

Faults:

The interior light in the boot (trunk) only worked sporadically, but no loose connection could be found.

Occasionally the engine would stutter while cruising at about 3000 RPM.

A droning sound accompanied by vibration was apparent at 2750 RPM. This was not affected by tyre rotation (so presumably not an unbalanced wheel) or by disengaging drive (so presumably the drivetrain was not at fault). The car was bought new and had not been crashed.

General Comments:

The car was quick in a straight line but was frightening on corners and in side winds. The handling problem could be caused by the tyre size (165 R 14) - narrower than the smaller Yaris. There was a complete lack of feel on fast bends with lots of understeer. It was impossible to drive with confidence.

The side wind stability problem was more serious. If it was at all windy, it was difficult to hold the car in its lane. If it was passed by a larger vehicle such as a bus or truck it would be blown off course.

I had similar side wind problems with a Toyota Starlet in 1988.

The rear legroom was poor for a car in this class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

2000 Toyota Corolla CE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

For the price I've paid, I could have had a much more equipped American car

Faults:

I own a 2000 Toyota Corolla. My disappointment started when I picked the car up at the dealer. There was a long scratch on the cover around the floor shifter, probably done by a knife while removing the plastic off the seats. The dealer immediately replaced the cover with one taken from another 2000 Corolla.

After leaving the dealer with the car, I noticed the steering wheel was out of alignment. In the next three months, I had to return the car to the dealer three times in order to have the correct steering alignment done, which is unacceptable.

The genuine cassette player installed by the dealer, appears to have some parasite coming from a bad ground. This problem was never corrected, and the dealer offered no refund or replacement after they concluded everything was normal.

At the age of about 5000km, I could hear a clapping coming from the motor. The dealer had to replace the hydraulic engine support with one from the previous years, because all of the 2000 replacement parts had to be returned to Toyota for modifications.

Now at the age of 14,000 km, the car let a big blue cloud of smoke coming out of the exhaust every morning for about ten seconds when I start it for the first time. After the dealer inspected the car, he concluded everything was normal.

My head is spinning just thinking about the next problem to arise on this car.

General Comments:

This is the last Corolla for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th August, 2001

7th May 2004, 11:03

Steven,

I really feel sorry about your experience with that Corolla. I own a 2000 Corolla and a 2003 Corolla S. class. I have been rather fortunate with my cars. Maybe the problem lies in the dealer and not the car. I would take this up with Toyota. Toyota and Honda are the top cars for reliability. I believe that the Corolla is one of the best 4 cylinder cars made today. I wish your experience with your car could have been more pleasurable. I happen to know many people that have Corollas from 1987, 1989, 1991 and they run just a well as my 2003. I would definitely take this matter up with Toyota I honestly believe your problem is from lack of proper service.

Sincerely,

Michelle.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews