2000 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 12 of 12

2000 Toyota Corolla VE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Excellent price/quality ratio

Faults:

Nothing, my Corolla is an excellent car. Do the proper maintenance and don't worry about anything else.

General Comments:

For anyone wishing cheap and reliable transportation, the Corolla is a smart choice.

The only 2 complaints I have about Corolla are:

1. There is no light in the trunk, which is extremely inconvenient when you try to put back the groceries in the bags at night...

2. The space for the back seats is rather limited, so don't take friends if you want to drive from Atlanta to New York!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2001

2000 Toyota Corolla G6 1.6 vvt-i from Belgium

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 vvt-i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Super Corolla

Faults:

CD-player broke down after 2 weeks, but got replaced the next day for free.

A mysterious squeaking somewhere around the airbag, which is still not repaired cause the dealer doesn't know what it could be :(

General Comments:

From day one I got this car, I just love it. It looks great, the 1.6 vvt-i is really great too, but it lacks torque. So you got to go up to 4000rpm to get some serious performances out of it.

The 6-speed gear box is very accurate.

The car has got a good fuel economy. The 6th gear makes it possible to cruise very comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2001

16th Nov 2003, 16:39

Hi.

I just wanted to add a comment to my own review.

I have my car now for nearly 4 years now, and have done 120.000 kilometers. So far everything is still very good. Nothing broke done and I still love my car. It's all good :)

Greets.

12th Apr 2004, 01:42

I owned a corolla XLi (1.5 engine) and I am very satisfied with the performance of the car. Like you said in your comment about he squeaking sound on the airbag or dashboard, I had the same problem too. It's the movement of the valve in the air con unit which is located behind the engine. My local agent got it fix for free.

You should ask your local agent or mechanic to check it out.

13th May 2013, 03:02

Hello,

Currently I have owned this car for 13 years, and have driven 310,000 km with it.

It's still very reliable. The worst thing after all these years were the brakes. Had to replace brakes and discs a few times. One time the brake fluid leaked because of a rusted brake line component.

Greetings, P -

2000 Toyota Corolla LE 1.8 gas from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 gas Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance16500 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar XR7

Summary:

This car is a piece of crap, don't buy a Toyota!

Faults:

The radio lights went out and had to be replaced.

The electric door locks quit along with the remote.

I have had squeaks and rattles in the dash, door pillar and trim pieces since about 4000 miles.

After the dealer fixed the radio, the dash rattled worse.

I get attitude from service people "Toyotas are good, so if I have a problem it must be something I did". The only way I can get the service department to look at the car is when I call the national customer complaint hotline, but the squeaks and rattles are only fixed for a short time, and then I have to take it back.

General Comments:

I can NOT recommend the Corolla or any Toyota product based upon this car. The dealer service department is TERRIBLE, and the entire ownership experience has been one frustration after another. I bought Toyota assuming that they had good quality. Based upon my car, they don't. DON'T BUY TOYOTA!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th December, 2000

21st Feb 2001, 20:34

I guess it's where the car is built, from observation it seems that Toyota's built in America seem very crappy. I live in Australia and the Corollas and Toyotas are pretty much perfect.

25th Feb 2001, 08:48

I cannot find any problems in your comment that are not related to sounds in the dashboard, remote control (it is logical that the doors lock do not work when the remote is broken) or a lamp in a radio.

Engine, clutch, gearbox, and all the rest seem to be without problem.

I had (and have) several Toyota's with 250.000 km and plus (one over 31 years old now). In one the radio lamp broke and they simply gave me a new radio. Never had other trouble and always had perfect service. Try another dealer, there are enough great dealers.

Success!

2000 Toyota Corolla GLS 1.6 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carProton MPi

Summary:

A very, very good car to own

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

I think this is the only car which comes with a very good unexpected quality and build! It is so reliable and the maintenance & servicing is cheap.

I will definitely recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

21st Mar 2001, 17:59

Toyota Corolla - unreliable car, it should be pronounced Toy-out-ya. I now own a Nissan Sunny.

12th Aug 2001, 01:26

Well, this Toyota Corona 1.6 GLI 1996 car outside looks not too bad. But I think the design must be something wrong somewhere. Especialy as you can feel air is coming in from the window, even if you only drive at 80K/H. So, Toyota should do something about it.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 44 reviews