2004 Toyota Corolla S 1.8 VVT-I from North America

Summary:

From 1 to 10, "8"

Faults:

The thing only I've notice and weak with this car is the window weather strip. aside from this, so far there is nothing major problem yet.

General Comments:

Slick machine although less in power, but reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2006

2004 Toyota Corolla CE from North America

Faults:

Original tires did not last very long, replaced at 50,000k with better quality tires.

Front brakes pads replaced at 45,000k.

General Comments:

I had an 1988 Corolla, which was the best car I ever owned. This car has evolved a lot since then.

It is fuel efficient, adequately powered and has very predictable handling. I find it comfortable for long road trips. I took it four-wheeling in the Grand Canyon- deep sand, washouts, washboard roads, and mud. That was not intentional, but it survived without a problem.

I don't care for the painted bumpers which scratch when loading and unloading the trunk, otherwise it has been great.

From what I have seen, the passenger side hubcaps an most Corollas like mine have been scratched from hitting the curbs when parking, because they hit the curb before the tire.

I may be looking for a small SUV for more versatility, but this car will be hard to part with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

2004 Toyota Corolla from North America

Summary:

Boring, but reliable

General Comments:

This car is great for a first car. It gets you from A to B and is quite roomy. I got bored of mine pretty quickly though. Its just a basic car for someone willing to look at reliability over beauty. My dad has has owned a Corolla for 5 years now and hasn't had anything major go wrong with it... so if you can't afford to be fixing problems with a car, Corolla is the way to go. Its nothing exciting, but makes you feel confident you won't be left on the side of the road for years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

2004 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Summary:

This is the worst car I have ever owned

Faults:

Brakes lock up when used in slippery weather and the car stalls.

The car makes a funny noise at intermittent times. The technicians have heard it, but after fives visits cannot make it stop.

Lights in dash and headlights don't turn on properly.

General Comments:

The dealership has had this vehicle in the shop 9 times and still doesn't seem to take these issues seriously.

I bought this car because of the wonderful reputation that Toyota has had for service and quality. I have been very dissapointed in both.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

31st Jan 2006, 17:02

I'm sorry to hear that you are having problems with your corolla this is the first review I see on a corolla to be bad on this page.

18th Mar 2006, 18:47

Any manual car, in slippery weather, if you don't use your clutch and just floor the brake, it will stall.

18th Mar 2006, 19:18

I'm no fan of Toyota, but even I can't find a whole lot that is wrong with this car. I have to agree with the other poster: if you jam on your brakes on slippery conditions, they will lock up. Even if you have anti-lock brakes, they may momentarily lock up before the computer senses that the wheel is sliding, and needs to start pulsing the brake pads. A car is just a piece of machinery. It can't be expected to think for you.

18th Mar 2006, 21:33

Hehehe

someone doesn't know how to drive a manual...

Hahaha.

13th May 2007, 17:44

Just buy an automatic.

4th Jan 2008, 20:02

Locked wheels in bad whether happens in any vehicle, it's your job to control that and use the clutch. Or get a car with one of the best features in the world...Anti-lock brakes!!!

16th Jul 2010, 16:45

...brakes failing on Toyotas is nothing new.

17th Jul 2010, 11:44

"...brakes failing on Toyotas is nothing new."

EVERYTHING failing on Toyotas is nothing new.

2004 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8L from Singapore

Summary:

Reliable, fun and comfortable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car for now.

General Comments:

The pick-up speed of the car is quick and suitable for easy driving. Car is also silent when travelling in high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th March, 2005