1992 Toyota Paseo 2dr 1.2L from North America


When is it going to die?


Seats are now purple from sun exposure.

Red paint has horribly faded into a pinkish orange.

Bushings and bearings have worn and make a horrible grinding sound.

General Comments:

This car is great on gas and in the snow.

Nothing major has gone wrong with it since I have owned it (2000 - present).

This car should never be available in automatic transmission - sometimes I think I can't even go up certain hills!

The head room? What head room? and I'm 5'1!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2002

1992 Toyota Paseo J-Spec 1.5 inline 4 from North America


Stick with a J-Spec if, you can afford to have one imported all the way from Japan.


Nothing whatsoever has gone wrong with the car yet. The dealer was so picky about me getting the car in perfect shape, they ended up spending about $2000 just on the safety which, was all covered under the warranty I bought with the car.

General Comments:

After $4000 I put into the engine, it makes around 330 hp which is very, very quick for a 2100 lb car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

10th May 2004, 21:10

Hi I have a TOYOTA PASEO too.. but the horsepower isn't that great.. How did you manage to squeeze out 330 hp from that block?can you contact me at nick_96668244@yahoo.com...thanks.

24th Jun 2004, 20:52

I have a 92 Paseo also. I love it, but it lacks in power. Do you have any info on where I could get a J-Spec inline 1.5? Please contact me at asc111@yahoo.com


14th Jan 2006, 13:10

Hey I have a 1992 paseo too. It has intake, exhaust, rims, tires, and suspension. Could you write me at rond102001@yahoo.com? I would like to know what you have done to it to get that kind of power.Thanks!

10th Mar 2006, 22:38

This guy must of went with a 20valve Black top corolla engine and turbo charged it to make 330 hp.

A stock Black top engine is rated at 170 hp.

28th Apr 2006, 00:57

Hey I have a 92 Paseo How did you get 330hp and I'm not very well off so I was wondering if anyone knows some simple ways to add hp?

28th Apr 2008, 17:03

Man a paseo with over 300 hp scary to handle I bet but it may be fun to smoke the front tires off.

6th Jul 2010, 03:29

Piece of cake! Here in New Zealand we get nothing but these 'JDM' imports that you Yanks are so mad on! Pop down to the local wreckers (pull the parts yourself), I kid you not. When I say there are all sorts there for the taking, turbo Subarus, Nissan Skylines, silly vtec Hondas, all sorts of oddball and high performance gear! Starlet Turbos (4E-FTE) engines are as common as muck here, easy to pop one in a Paseo and get excellent power with a few basic bits and pieces. Thank goodness for our import laws!

1992 Toyota Paseo 1.5 from North America


A car for people who want to drive


Windshield wiper fluid spring broken.

General Comments:

Nothing has gone wrong with my wonderful Paseo since I got it.

The only thing that has broken on the car is the spring in the windshield wiper button.

A great car, has very good cornering power for FWD.

It would be nice to tack on about 40 to 50 more horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2002

1992 Toyota Paseo 1.6 DOHC from North America


A cheap car, enough said.


After a solid 30000km in 9 months the little engine spun a bearing on the crank and had to be replaced.

The suspension is hard as a rock, especially with the optional 185/60/14 tires and aluminum rims. Found the rear shocks were blown and made the car drive like a coffee table.

General Comments:

After swapping a Corolla GT-S engine (4AGE) in, the car has plenty of oomph.

Car handles great even in the great Canadian winter, just make sure you got good tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

1992 Toyota Paseo 1.5 from North America


Great economy, looks great, handles great


When I purchased it with 87,000 miles, it had a leaking head gasket. Purchased the car for a very reduced price because of it. I replaced the head gasket myself.

At 120,000 miles the right front constant velocity joint was noisy, replaced it. Now at 158,000 miles the left front is noisy, and needs to be replaced.

General Comments:

Absolutely love this car. The handling and acceleration are far superior to my Camaro. I put Michelin X-One tires on it soon after I bought it and the tires are glued to the road. I can easily take curves marked as 30mph maximum while doing 55mph with no tire hop or squeal. Much better than my Camaro with new Eagle-GT tires.

Always get at least 33 miles per gallon, and get 36 miles per gallon on long road trips.

Also, I let my 3 children drive it when each had at least 1 year driving experience. They all love it. The back seat is so tiny that they don't get into trouble from hauling around a gang of their friends. Only seats two comfortably.

My only complaint is that the seats are very hard. My Camaro seats are a lot better for a 2-hour drive. But if I want comfort for a 2-hour drive, I take my 1998 Plymouth Voyager.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2001