2008 Toyota RAV4 from North America - Comments

6th Oct 2012, 01:28

The only thing the Fusion is becoming is better and better. The new ones are not only great looking, but clearly superior to any of the competition.

As for reliability, you don't get better than perfect. I have a 7 year old Fusion that is still indistinguishable from new.

6th Oct 2012, 09:55

I do not know if you utilized this fine site very well. Look up Toyota or Honda, and then read many reviews. Do the same on consumeraffairs.com. My best wealth of information has been sitting in the dealer service department asking what year and make Toyota you own. Ask them why they are there. Other real owners in the waiting area are glad to share issues. I want to hear issues and complaints before writing a check for a new car every few years.

6th Oct 2012, 10:23

All 6 of your statements have nothing to do with the original review on topic, or the many others on this site.

6th Oct 2012, 11:01

Once again that's your opinion, and I hardly doubt that yours is indistinguishable from new. It's a Ford (well sort of).

6th Oct 2012, 19:28

Picking out a single site and pointing at a few reviews isn't "proof" of anything. Somehow all of the anti-Toyota folks conveniently fail to bring up any of the major nation-wide quality surveys. It's been mentioned so many times it's not even funny. ALL of the major national surveys show Toyota, Honda, Subaru, and Nissan at the top of the reliability lists. Why is that so difficult to understand?

I simply find it amazing that this conversation just keeps on going and going, despite the super obvious facts. If you don't like Toyotas, then stop making comments about how much you don't like them. Nobody cares, and nobody except for those who don't like Toyotas believes that they make bad products.

7th Oct 2012, 08:25

I wonder why you are on here then. There are thousands upon thousands of valuable insights and comments on here. All makes. You may not agree with them and can express a singular opinion. Like the rest of us.

7th Oct 2012, 09:10

And here we are again, another honest review about a troublesome Toyota, scattered with comments from Toyota fans (or fan) who can't accept it.

In situations like this, the national surveys are what mean nothing.

7th Oct 2012, 13:48

We totally agree with 1616. Since we use to buy a lot of Toyota as well as Honda models. Not any more. The only limited satisfaction now is mentioning to others how we were burned on premature repairs. There is no way to recoup any monetary losses. Reading a magazine does not pay us back. Great that you had good luck, but I believe the majority of reader comments.

8th Oct 2012, 11:26

Sorry, but yes - national surveys are indeed important and relevant. Sure - I have absolutely no doubt that Toyotas - just like any other brand - can make a few duds, or there are owners who might own a Toyota that has turned out to be a lemon. The takeaway is that national surveys are meant to show what brands happen to make MORE duds than others. So it's simple math: If you buy from brand X and brand X happens to have a higher overall reliability rating than brand Y, then therein lies the possibility that you might have a higher chance of having problems with brand Y. That's what statistics are for.

10th Oct 2012, 08:41

Toyota Top of List? Last year it was Hyundai Genesis, Ford Focus, Nissan Altima, Volvo S60 and Acura TL. Take a read of Honda too on 10-10-12 Yahoo News. Its quality has really dropped!

10th Oct 2012, 11:57

Latest quality reports shows Subaru, Honda, Toyota, Mazda, and Nissan in the top 5. Simple. Done.

10th Oct 2012, 12:23

I guess it depends on what your definition of "is" is.

10th Oct 2012, 18:44

The only thing Toyota is number one is is recalls. Most Toyotas are no longer competitive with any domestic, including Chrysler. The awards for the world's best engines this year included both Ford and GM engines, but not one single Japanese engine. Motor Trends comparison of small SUV's didn't even include the noisy and antiquated RAV4, and Ford's Escape took top honors, beating Honda's over rated CRV.

11th Oct 2012, 07:05

Depends on who does the reviews. I have looked at top rated models, and then hated the test drive. My all time worst was picking one and special ordering it. I ordered a sun roof model, but tested a non sunroof one. No mechanical issues for 3 years. But... my head was pushed into the reduced headroom sunroof. Horrible experience. I guess I could keep the sunroof open even in the winter. Couldn't unload it without a resale beating. You have to test drive cars as equipped.

The worst car I ever rode in to date was a 2004 Civic EX. Terrible ride, with bumps going right up the spine. Best small car ride I found is the new Mazda 3 Touring option. It rides fantastic. It's a bit of an overkill with all the dash controls, hands free phone and nicer sound system. That's a result from a test drive, not a magazine armchair review. The Corolla was too bland to be considered.

11th Oct 2012, 07:18

In the interest of full disclosure, I have sold 4 of those 5 brands listed, as well as many others including many domestics during a 30 plus year span in the automobile business (now retired).

I must say I agree that all of those brands are very reliable overall, with my personal top choices being (not in any particular order) Toyota, Subaru & Honda, although I have nothing against Mazda or Nissan either (I owned a Pathfinder for 13 trouble-free years, & also love the Miata).

I also believe that many domestics are also very reliable, and wouldn't hesitate to buy any domestic make either (we currently own one GM product and two Chrysler products).

All of that being said, even with the recently announced recall of 7.4 million 2005-2010 Toyotas due to a power window switch issue, which reportedly could result in a fire, I also would not hesitate to purchase a Toyota product at all. I've found Toyotas to be well-built, well engineered vehicles, that despite recent set-backs, are still very good automobiles, and a fine choice for those who find a particular model that fits their needs.

Personally our domestics perfectly fit our needs, however if we were to trade-in our current GM SUV in the future, if we went with an import, I believe we would purchase a Subaru, as my wife has had a couple as loaners when her GM was in for recalls/repairs, and absolutely loved them.

I guess my long-winded point is, there are plenty of wonderfully engineered & built vehicles out there, and lots & lots of fine choices.

11th Oct 2012, 11:06

Somehow I knew that the very second that recall was announced for Toyota, that it would be used as another weak reason for discrediting the hard-earned reputation Toyota has gotten from building reliable cars. And it's worth mentioning again: Toyota, along with Honda, Nissan, Mazda, and Subaru are all in the top 5 for the top 5 most reliable automakers. I can't think of anything more broad than that as far as settling a basic mathematical fact.

11th Oct 2012, 17:19

It just goes on and on. Today it was announced that Toyota just issued the largest recall in its history. That brings the overall total to around 30 million since 2009. Car experts expect this to further erode buyer confidence in the already disgraced brand.