2005 Toyota Sienna Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Toyota Sienna XLE AWD from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great car except for the run flat tires

Faults:

Tires. The run flat tires do not hold up. Toyota changed them out free at 25,000 miles and they are cupping and feathering on the inside of the rear tires again. We have rotated them as required and all work has been done by the Toyota dealer, but the problem still is there. We are waiting to see what they will do to help with this problem next. The rear doors also rattle a lot for a van. Everything in this car is great except for the rattles in the rear doors and the bad run flat tires with the AWD system. I do not know if it is the tires or the AWD system that is causing the tire failure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2007

2005 Toyota Sienna LX 3.3 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carHyundai Santa Fe

Summary:

Loads of room, loads of power, loads of fun, good on gas

Faults:

I have had no issues with this car.

General Comments:

As soon as we bought this car we put 1300 miles on it driving from Central California to Boise Idaho. I loaded it with two toddlers, a pregnant wife and all of our luggage and still managed a respectable average of 30 miles to the gallon. The Sienna just flew over I-80 and Donner Pass with hardly any major down shifting.

With the rear seats down and the 2nd row removed the cargo area is cavernous. It would make a perfect impromptu tent for a camping trip and if I ever need to transport a fridge or some 2x4s, there is more than enough room.

For it's size it handles very well. Even better than our 2002 Santa Fe GLS and I thought THAT car was a great handler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2007

2005 Toyota Sienna LE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance47651 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Do not purchase

Faults:

The run flat tires are not any good, and after being replaced by Toyota for free at 30000 miles, they are bald and the right front is losing air? The dealer says 36/36 is the warranty and I am on my own?

This is my 3rd Sienna, 5th Toyota, and my last toyota ever.

Do not purchase an AWD with run flats (standard equiptment). You will be sorry with the $675 for replacements over and over. They last 12000 miles or less.

General Comments:

The quality of the product is high, but the tire choice is dismal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2007

2005 Toyota Sienna LE 3.3 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Lots of Space/powerful ideal for long distances

Faults:

Just some noise from the sliding door driver side.

General Comments:

Great car with lots of power. The transmission / engine are very well tuned to each other and everything is in harmony. Space is enormous and you are traveling first class in the front and in the 2nd row. I would like to ship/take this car back to Europe, but unfortunately they don't sell it there so I expect difficulties at repair and to meet EU standard for lights etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2006

2005 Toyota Sienna XLE Limited AWD from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance8400 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

Great car, bad tires for this vehicle

Faults:

Tires are worn excessively on edges.

Tires are feathering.

General Comments:

This is my second Sienna. I had a 2004 prior to this. I absolutely love the vehicle, as I did with my first Sienna. I upgraded to the All-Wheel-Drive model because I live in a location that does not clear snow from the roads quickly. I have been very happy with my van, until my mechanic told me that my tires are wearing badly on the edges and they are feathering. I am no tire expert, and even I can see that they are worn. I have had the tire pressure checked and I have had them rotated. I am going to my local dealer and I hope this can be resolved.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2005

9th Jul 2005, 04:28

I have a RAV4 and the tires are feathering too. I bumped the pressure up to 35 pounds from 30 pounds and it seems to be helping the wear pattern so far. At first I thought the alignment was off from the factory and it still may be, but I'm trying this approach first on recommendation from my dealer.

10th Nov 2005, 10:49

I also have a 2005 Sienna XLE Limited AWD. I was worried about tire wear, because I live on a really awful dirt road and these runflat tires are expensive to replace. I've put 20,000 miles on the car in 10 months (I commute 50 miles roundtrip) and have no unusual wear patterns at all. I'm actually impressed with the tires--I had to replace the ones on my Subaru Forester every year.

To tell you the truth, I'm impressed with everything about this car except the front passenger seat. That "big brother" stuff under it takes up a lot of room, and I assume it's the reason the seat doesn't go up & down like the driver side does. I love the car anyway!

29th Jun 2006, 05:34

We just got a 2006 Sienna XLE Limited, and we love it. This is our first minivan, so it'll take time to get used to it. Yes, it's loaded with every bell and whistle. As for the tires, well we'll see how things go. Other than that, this will be our family friend for quite some time. It rides beautifully and handles great.

2005 Toyota Sienna LE Gas from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance897 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

Good from Excellent

General Comments:

I'm trouble by the fact that this Run Flat feature on my Sienna LE AWD is going to cost me time and money.

Have Odyssey owners experienced similar issues with the Michelin PAX system.

Can the stock 17" rims be fitted with a non-run flat tire?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

25th Jul 2005, 12:47

I bought a 2004 Toyota Sienna in October 2003. They have Bridgestone Run Flats' that have worn out in less than half the mileage of any tires that I have ever owned. They cost over twice as much as conventional 17" tires. The Run Flat rims will not accomodate conventional tires. Worst of all, I was not able to "run flat" at more than 30 miles per hour.

I am currently petitioning my Toyota dealer, and Bridgstone (Firestone) Tire to provide me with conventional rims for my imminent tire replacement.

2005 Toyota Sienna XLE 6-cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance400 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Our Sienna is very nice, but it smells like burning plastic

Faults:

The car has an odd smell in it like burning plastic. We're calling the dealer about it today. It's my first new car and it has leather seats. So, I initially thought the smell was normal either because it was new or because of the seats. I have to roll down the windows to air it out while I'm driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 17 reviews