2007 Toyota Tundra from North America - Comments

19th Dec 2011, 21:27

Is that all that failed? I mean one part and you are totally against Toyota? Parts are mass produced, and usually third party sources are used for these types of parts. So you got a bad one. It happens. It is like a bad battery or anything else. I see so many reviews going on about one failed part, and suddenly the whole vehicle is junk and the poster won't ever buy another.

You will be walking sooner than you think with that mentality, as you are sure to run out of brands.

20th Dec 2011, 06:08

My mentality is service oriented. If a manufacturer like Toyota in this review does not care or attend to my issues, I buy another brand. Trust me, there are other new vehicles out there that I can buy. I am loyal if I don't get a hard time over manufacturers defects when new.

20th Dec 2011, 09:53

Oh, the broken record skips on... Ad hype, ad hype, ad hype. I have never heard an explanation as to what this actually means. No one is denying Toyota has had its problems. But everything bad about Toyota is ten times for GM. At least Toyota hasn't begged their government for bailout money, and then continued to build the same vehicles they got into trouble with to begin with.

It is actually going to be amusing if gas ever hits the $4 mark again, as GM has continued to invest very little into efficient vehicles that can compete. They still rely heavily on their large truck and SUV lines to stay profitable. The carpet is just waiting to be yanked from under their feet again. Summer 2012, here we come!!

30 years of import domination did not come from their advertising. Sorry, it came from generations of people driving their vehicles for hundreds of thousands of miles with no issues. They out designed and outclassed our own companies for many many years. In fact the best design improvements on domestic vehicles over the past couple of decades can all be attributed to import ingenuity, and our own companies need to keep up with them to be competitive.

American cars for the most part are pretty good. Ford is the best by far of the big three. Enough about the recalls though. Domestic cars have had them as well, and yes people have died from design defects with domestic vehicles too. As with any other car company, things will smooth out for Toyota, and this will be a thing of the past when they are once again the top car maker on the planet.

20th Dec 2011, 11:26

This is an awfully vague review. But I'll leave it at that. I too find it odd strange that someone would have a starter motor fail, and suddenly write off the whole brand wholesale. It's a starter motor. I've had them fail too, and the last time that happened, it took me a total of 20 minutes to change it and $75 for a re-manufactured unit. So we're not talking about a MAJOR issue, and especially not something that warrants claiming the truck is on a whole terrible.

These are hands-down the best full size truck you can buy. Ironically, they're also one of the most American - having over 80% of the truck made out of American parts, more so than any other truck. My Dad has one, and the thing has well over 250,000 miles at this point.

So I'm not sure what "hype" Toyota supposedly puts out there. They simply make a better product. That's it.

21st Dec 2011, 08:49

Yes, but you are making the assumption based on one part. I have had and have known many with Toyota's that go for hundreds of thousands of miles with regular maintenance.

Every line has a defective part here and there, and every line has dealers that won't work with you. I would find a better dealer before making a final call on whether to buy a certain brand or not. You are right though, there are many other brands to choose from.

21st Dec 2011, 11:52

Your "ad hype" rhetoric is getting old & tired fast. I wonder what (other than satisfaction) you have to gain by seeming to be on a mission to discredit certain makes (imports), and I for one am tired of all this propaganda on what used to be the best automotive website on the planet. Oh by the way - I own & drive 2 domestic vehicles - they are no better or no worse than the imports we have owned over the years.

As far as the only thing going wrong with a vehicle in 55,000 being a starter - yes, I wouldn't be happy that it only lasted 55,000 miles, but I had a new car where the starter went before 12,000 miles. So I don't think that's much to complain about.

21st Dec 2011, 14:07

GM thrown into the argument once again, business as usual.

21st Dec 2011, 14:35

There's far better Ford and Chevrolet full sizes than Toyota in 2012. Styling, handling, ride, room and towing. If I were looking at a small truck, I would consider the Tacoma. It's cramped and I hit my head getting in and out of it though.

21st Dec 2011, 17:03

We have never owned an import that came close to the reliability and build quality of any domestic automobile. The materials just aren't up to par with domestics.

21st Dec 2011, 19:45

Well you do have to have the opposite for a good argument... GM is the low point and Toyota is the high point.

22nd Dec 2011, 05:26

Ford F Series has been the #1 seller in America over all other vehicles made, not Tundras or Tacomas. Or are you talking about Camry, not a truck?

The new Fords, and I will include our Edge SEL AWD, are exceptional. Test drive. Try 2012s and compare.

I don't like the Toyotas. Even the styling of the Toyota is dated. If I were to pick an import sedan, it would be the new Mazdas. We have a new 3 and a new 6 series, both Touring models, in our family.

Trucks; the new Fords are the best as far as full size.

22nd Dec 2011, 10:42

These import/domestic arguments are tiresome. If you don't like Toyotas, then good for you. Stop commenting on sites like these, because people will buy what they want to buy. There is absolutely ZERO merit making claims that somehow by some miracle ALL "Domestics" (whatever that's supposed to mean) are better than ALL "Imports".

Enough is enough.

22nd Dec 2011, 17:04

Maybe your experience, but again not everybody else.

22nd Dec 2011, 17:30

"GM has continued to invest very little into efficient vehicles that can compete"

Huh? I guess that the Chevy Cruze, Buick Regal, the upcoming Buick Verano, and the 2012 Chevy Malibu with a 4 cylinder and no V6 option are just imaginary cars.

As far as the big trucks and SUVs, those are the best out there, and continue to sell no matter what the gas price is. I see Suburbans, Tahoes and Escalades everywhere, let alone the pick-up trucks. Another thing is those SUVs are the only GM products left that are body on frame, which is still preferred by many auto owners, another reason they continue to build them, and again they sell good.

"things will smooth out for Toyota and this will be a thing of the past when they are the top car maker on the planet"

I wouldn't be so sure about that, only time will tell. There are comments like this that were made by Toyota fans over a year ago, and not much has changed except for the domestics out selling them, but I could really care less about sales figures; I drive what satisfies me.