2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 1.8T from North America


An unreliable disgrace of a car


ECU reprogrammed under warranty.

Mass-air sensor replaced under warranty.

Power window switches replaced twice.

Drivers' side window motor very very slow and intermittent.

Power trunk release still doesn't work quite right.

Random idiot lights (aka warning lights) decide to turn on now and then.

Finish on door handles and center console has worn away.

Cheap plastic dash rattles and squeaks.

Various other cheap plastic fittings have come loose.

General Comments:

What a disaster. There's always something wrong on this car. I've heard of the batteries frequently failing after about 2 years - thankfully that's never happened, it looks like it's a serious pain to replace. Thankfully, the service dept. has gone out of its way to fix the car under warranty, even once temporarily turning back the odometer to get it serviced under warranty (it was past the 36,000 mile warranty) and then putting it back where it was to keep everything legal (barely). The service department of VW has been the one thing that has kept this whole experience from being a total crock. Best service I've ever seen. Otherwise, don't buy this car. Never mind the decent turbo motor. It's really not worth it. Especially not for $24,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

4th Aug 2003, 23:07

Oh, and an update - a lot of the approx. 40 vacuum hoses under the hood have been mysteriously disintegrating. Cheapo POS car.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GTi 2.0 from UK and Ireland


The petrol flap stuck shut once, but was easily fixed free of charge by the dealer.

The front disks became warped. The car had been left outside for over a month while I was on holiday. Again fixed free of charge.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have ever owned. It's reliable, fairly quick, safe, comfortable and looks fantastic.

It isn't the most practical car in the world, the boot is rather small, and 45 litres of petrol will only get you around 330 miles. That's only slightly over 30 miles per gallon. Fairly poor by European standards.

The UK 2.0 litre spec has lots of great equipment. With the Winter pack giving heated seats and heated windscreen washers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

2000 Volkswagen Beetle from North America


A Used Car Nightmare-Buyer Beware!


I purchased the Beetle late Fall 2002 from a Ford Dealer who bought it at an auction. It was originally leased for two years by the previous owner. (Smart lady, she turned it in) In late Spring, six months later, the car had trouble starting. Would start and stall over and over, but not when I took it to the mechanic. He said they have a history of grounding problems and the problem should get worse, which will allow it to happen for him, when it is in the shop. I can drive the car for 1/2 hour and park it, return 15 minutes later and it won't start. At first it would stall 2-3 times. The record is starting and stalling or cranking and not starting for 12 times in a row. But this is intermittent still, and won't do it for the mechanic. I am frustrated because I've had it in the shop a half a dozen times after it has stalled and it won't do it upon inspection. (Of course!) There is no Specific Answer on what is causing it, THANK GOD I bought an extended warranty from the Ford Dealer, much to their dismay... After reading all these problems, I will NEVER buy a VW or "preowned" car again. I did some research and contacted the original VW dealer that did the warranty work on this car. Sure enough, it had warranty work on the Sunroof, CD changer, rear trunk lock and a starting problem, where they replaced a "cluster". All in the first six months of ownership. Too bad the lemon law doesn't apply to purchasing used cars-shame on you VW!

General Comments:

Electrical problems.

Grounding problems.

If you buy a used one, buy the extended warranty, you're going to need it!

Despite all this, it IS fun to drive and it's cute. But I can't say it is worth it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

23rd Feb 2004, 12:48

I have had the same problems with the used 2000 Beetle I bought. I thought the low mileage on it was a plus, but the previous owner must've had been having similar problems to have sold it so quickly. I bought an extended warranty as well, but had to keep paying a "deductible" charge every time I took it in -- which was too often. It has been a nightmare of a car. The dealership bought the car back from me, but I still had to pay $1000 out of pocket to get rid of the loan. What a pain. I will never buy another Volkswagen again and I warn everyone who plans to. After seeing first hand my problems, no one in my company is every buying a Volkswagen.

24th Aug 2005, 10:01

I purchased a certified pre-owned 2000 Beetle with about 37000 miles on it. It has had intermittent starting problems. So far they have replaced the alternator and we had to pay to replace the battery. You never know if it will start. It does not exhibit the problem at the dealer. By the time you call the tow truck it may have decided to start. I am trying gather as much info to figure out what to do with the car. Any suggestions?

21st Jun 2008, 19:20

Cam positioning Sensor... Costs $65.00 and is the issue with beetles not starting. Located in the front of the motor by the oil filter. Goes bad due to the high heat situation caused by the enclosed front end and motor tray.

5th Feb 2009, 02:43

I bought a used 2000 Yellow GLS Beetle with 65,000mi on it and it runs great. I have not encountered any problems and it runs really smooth. I usually drive it pretty hard and I go pretty fast on the freeway (~80mph). From all the comments I've read, I just hope it keeps running well.

29th Sep 2010, 14:20

Wow, well, I bought my 2000 Beetle new and have really had no major problems at all, they do come in several configurations with different powertrains; mine is a 1.8 litre turbo... Hope I didn't just jinx myself, LOL!

8th Feb 2011, 00:36

Cam sensor for int. start problems. Yes, VW mechanics read this.