2000 Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 from North America


A very nice looking lemon


"check engine" light keeps coming on at random. Dealer says they can't find anything wrong with it. It goes through tires like nothing I have ever seen. I just got 2 new front tires six months ago and they need replaced again. It makes a whining noise when I back up. Dealership says it may be an internal transmission problem, but they also tried to tell me that the warranty won't cover it because it's normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

I hate this car and I swear I will never buy this or any Volkswagen product again in my life. I can't wait until I can trade this car in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

2000 Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 from North America


Avoid the temptation to buy a used one


Major electrical problems frequently prevented the car from starting. The new Beetles have been notorious for electrical issues, and mine was no exception. You never knew if it was going to start when you turned the key.

General Comments:

A very well engineered car that is fatally flawed by expensive electrical problems. Drives and handles like an early 90's BMW 318 - surprisingly strong cornering and great gearbox. Excellent seats - massive headroom, well engineered controls. Poor storage - makes you realize that you should have subverted vanity and bought a Golf. But then again, you'd probably have the same problems so why not just buy the a BMW?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2002

22nd Mar 2005, 17:55

You are aware that the VW is a front wheel drive vehicle and the BMW rear wheel drive, aren't you?

They exhibit completely different handling characteristics.

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLS TDI 1.7 turbo diesel from North America


The interior needs to be of better quality and durability


The insides of both door handle covering are fraying and peeling.

The plastic wedge protective pieces inside the sun roof have broken off when the roof was opened.

A passenger visor broke (the plastic)

Had to replace a headlight bulb at the cost of $74.09.

Had to replace both left and right front window regulars within one year.

Had to replace a horn unit.

Had to replace a cluster unit for the body electric system.

Had an estimate to replace the glass lens on a fog light at $106.00 parts and $366 for labor.

The center consul has broken twice,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

14th Mar 2003, 15:21

I had a gas 2.0 automatic beetle and I suffered from cluster replacement under warranty twice.

I traded it in on a 2003 TDI beetle 5 speed.

When I used a K&N filter on the 2.0 litre gas automatic, It plugged up the MAF (mass air flow sensor)

The grab straps on the door also lost their skin. Especially when passengers with long finger nails would grab the door. Cheap fix though, Under $20. for parts and I installed it myself.

Your engine is a 1.9 not 1.7litre.

The bulb replacement, I agree is silly in cost. You'll have to learn how to do it yourself. Buy an owners manual and get your bulbs from a jobber. Do your lenses at the same time.

I'm very satisfied with the performance of the diesel beetle 185km/h and a smart box will add 10km/h more!

28th Mar 2012, 02:50

Yeah, the doors stop opening after a while! I was going to take my Dad's Volkswagen, and it had a stuck accelerator, which would have caused a fender-bender, had it gone into hyper-drive on the road!

2000 Volkswagen Beetle GLS turbo (not a diesel) from North America


Every 6 months I am going to the dealership because the check engine light continues to come on. I have replaced different sensors in the car numerous times. It has been less than 8 months since the last sensor was replace and now the car. Why do I have to continue to pay for the same problems? I have contacted the customer care line for volkswagen and that has been a total waste. I am trying to find out how many other volkswagen beetle owners have experienced problems with the sensors. The only other complaint I have are the headrest are very uncomfortable. I like the way the car handles, but I have been greatly disappointed with the service department.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

19th Aug 2002, 19:21

I've also had a terrible time with the service department of VW, I have a 98 beetle... with only 12000 miles, I had to get a new transmission, now I have 23K miles and the transmission is going again... the service dept, has been awful, they don't return phone calls, and honestly I don't think they really even fixed the problem. I lost 5 days of work, and the transmission was still not fixed!!!. I'm done with VW.

27th Sep 2005, 11:05

I also have the same problem with my 2000 Beetle my check engine light is constantly on and the dealer doesn't seem to be able to fix it.

4th Apr 2008, 10:47

Just about every newer car's check engine light comes on. Its because there are about a million different sensors and if one little thing screws up the light comes on. I have a chevy truck and so do all my friends and they all come on. My sisters civic stays on as well as my aunts ford pickup. 99.9% of the time its nothing bad, normally just emmisions stuff. If it bugs you just unhook your battery and It will go off for a while.

5th Apr 2009, 15:12

The check engine light was forever coming on in my 2000 Beetle GLS, and I found out (from my grandma, who was having the same problem with her Ford Windstar, and got this tip from the service guys at ford) that my gas cap was the problem, if it isn't screwed on tightly enough it will prompt the check engine light. Such a simple thing, but try to make sure you're screwing your gas cap on tight every time! It might save some $$$, we all know how costly VW service can be:)

23rd Mar 2012, 10:50

Yes, I have the same problem with the check engine! After dealing with and talking to several other owners, I just learned to ignore it, as nothing could be found wrong! It still runs great.

But I have learned recently that grounding issues could be at fault! I have a 1.8 turbo.