1998 Volkswagen Jetta K2 2.0 from North America

Summary:

One of the best cars I've ever bought

Faults:

The sunroof stopped sliding back. It will still pop open, just not slide.

It really needed a tune up. Once I did that, it drove like a brand new car.

Sometimes the A/C will make the engine die, and sometimes it won't and it runs fine.

Randomly the check engine light comes on, and after a couple of days it turns off; weird.

General Comments:

First off, I love this car.

For the little 2.0 I4, it is fast and handles great.

I have the K2 seats that are not real comfortable on long trips, but the heated aspect makes up for it.

I have not had to do any real big work to it yet. We all know that VW has their quirks. So be ready to spend some cash fixing it.

The badge on the car that designates it as a K2 was missing. Found another one online, but I had to search and search.

I bought this car on ebay for 2000 dollars. Which is a steal. Picked it up in Philly and drove about 1500 hundred miles home. A little risky since I had not even test driven it. This car is a champ and a rockstar!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2010

1998 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 2.0L 4 cylinder gasoline from North America

Summary:

All around good car

Faults:

I bought this car off the original owner, and he told me all he changed was some rear suspension.

When I bought it, the windshields were stuck due to a blown/jammed switch; cost me $120 to repair.

General Comments:

A/C works like a charm, cools the whole car in seconds.

Comfort is outstanding.

The sunroof is nice.

The trunk is so big you could easily fit 10 bodies in there.

Automatic tranny shifts very late (sometimes gets upto 6000 revs before it shifts)

Look for reliable people to buy it off; younger people abuse Jettas, look for older people who own them as they're less likely to abuse them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2010

1998 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Summary:

An electrical disaster!

Faults:

Stalls when water splashes underneath the car. It sucks big time, because I had the car towed twice. I would have to pay Ed and Mike a million dollars to fly from England just to figure out the problem, because there sure as hell isn't anyone in the United States who could figure out this curve ball!

General Comments:

The electrical system in my 98 Jetta is certainly "NOT" bullet proof, and if I bought a new car, I would veer away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2010

1998 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 gas from Georgia

Summary:

Please don't buy. After buying my car, I hate VW

Faults:

Completely disgusting car.

Transmission was working badly so I had to renovate all the car.

Servicing is very expensive.

General Comments:

Very unreliable car.

However the comfort is normal.

Interior is made of cheap materials.

General problem is connected with the automatic transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2009

1998 Volkswagen Jetta K2 2.0 from North America

Summary:

Comfort and great handling, what's better than that?

Faults:

I bought this car and found that the windshield reservoir has a leak, the windshield sprayers work only on one side. So far that's it.

I just bought this car, I love it more and more every day. With the snow coming, I'm hoping it handles well with front wheel drive.

General Comments:

The VW Jetta K2 series is the best handling car I have had! Even over my 69 350 SS Nova that was my favorite car till this one came around.

Only have had it a week, but I know how to work on Volkswagens and I am a tinkerer at heart :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2009

1998 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0 gas from North America

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

- Check engine light keeps coming on.

- The tachometer stopped working all of a sudden.

- Replaced both oxygen sensors twice in the last 500km as they went bad.

- The catalytic converter was plugged up and replaced twice in the last 500km.

- Windshield wiper motor broke.

- The oil pump went bad.

- When it rains or is damp outside, the car runs very rough.

General Comments:

I am a student and I purchased this car to get me back and forth to school. When I got it had 136000 kilometers. It currently has 142000 kilometers on it and already all of this stuff has gone wrong with it. Some parts had to be replaced twice! All in a span of about 6000 kilometers that I have owned the car.

This car is a lemon never again will I buy another Volkswagen in my life. This car only goes from my house to the shop now. Hopefully I can sell it and get some of my money back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2009

24th Aug 2009, 09:48

I don't think that it is fair to call the vehicle a "lemon".

After all, you purchased it when it was 11 years old.

You blame the manufacturer for problems with an 11 year-old vehicle - that has no credibility with me. Sorry.

17th Feb 2012, 13:17

Your cat went bad because you clogged it by driving with bad O2 sensors for so long. Can't blame that on the manufacturer, that is a well known fact. Car runs rich = dead catalytic converter.