1998 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 25 of 25

1998 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 V6 2.8 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

If you want a high-performance executive express, buy a BMW or Merc

Faults:

1) 2 sets of HT leads were replaced.

2) Engine cooling fans seized.

3) Dozens of rattles, buzzes and creaks.

4) CV joints conked in.

5) Engine developed a rough, buzzing note (Normal).

6) Overheating.

7) Bits and pieces fell off inside the car: door handles, door openers, grab-handles etc etc etc.

General Comments:

The Jetta is completely overrated, and is not worth the money VW asks for it. They pitch it against compact BMWs, Mercs & Volvos but it comes nowhere close in terms of build-quality, integrity or economic viability. Fuel consumption on this beast is laughable. I am sure a '69' Vette returns better mpg figures.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

6th Jan 2001, 19:13

I own a VW Jetta 1997 and I think my VR6 is a very good car. My jetta has 123,000 miles. Never had any problems with the engine, transmission, interior or exterior. It is very fast and comfortable. Change your mechanic.

18th Feb 2001, 15:12

18 Feb. 2001

I bought a new VW VR6 in December 2000. I tell you my vehicle runs excellently although it has only about 5000 miles. But I do know that my friend has a 92 VW Jetta that has 182,000 miles and that the only things he ever did on the car was tune-up, oil change (synthetic oil only), tires and brakes. He wants to get 400,000 miles out of it and return it back to the dealer for a new one.

His car doesn't even have any oil leaks unlike other cars with this kind of mileage. I do suggest to take your car to a more reliable mechanic. Even his father has a Jetta (I think it's an '86 version) with 384,570 miles and no engine problems. I personally recommend VW's to anyone I know because it's very precise car.

1998 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10

Faults:

Leak in original battery which lead to a leak in the power steering fluid reservoir and a broken gear linkage.

General Comments:

I love the car. It handles better than any I have owned thus far. It is very reliable, economical and fast enough for any situation.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 1999

1998 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

The fuel cut-off valve needed to be replaced in the first 6 months, and the plastic shields under the engine needed to be replaced after 12 months.

General Comments:

I hope to run this Jetta over 150,000 miles then I want to get another one, I am just impressed with the level of performance and comfort from this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 1999

5th Jul 2001, 22:32

150k miles? That 1.9L Diesel will go 200k easy. Even our 1985 Jetta GL went over 150k, welt 185 k actually. Just thought you'd like to know.

7th Mar 2003, 01:28

My 1997 Jetta TDI has 113,000 miles and performs better than when I first bought it. I expect to get 200,000 miles or more from this car.

6th Mar 2010, 11:39

If you take care of the VW properly, you should get upwards of 350,000 miles or more from the Gas engine (1.8 8valve). The diesel I have heard of going upwards of 550,000 miles, again if taken car of properly. Keep driving it...

Just my 2 cents

...\/...

..\/\/..

FOR LIFE.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 92 reviews