2000 Volkswagen Polo Reviews - Page 3 of 9

2000 Volkswagen Polo SE 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carHonda Integra

Summary:

This car is a joke - avoid!

Faults:

Engine cuts out at lights.

Electric window failed.

Electric window switch short circuited.

Service light always flashing.

ABS intermitently flashes.

Temperature light flashes even when engine is cold.

Dash lights goes off.

Erratic idle.

General Comments:

Only wanted a car that would be reliable and cheap to run, so bought a VW. The reliability is a joke.

Car was an absolute nightmare, everything was going wrong.

Would never buy a VW again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

5th Apr 2007, 04:06

I believe you must have been very unfortunate with the VW Polo you purchased. I have owned a 1.4 5dr SE 2000 plate for 3 years now and have found it to be a very reliable, economical and cheap car to run. This car is one of the best in it's class in my opinion.

10th Aug 2008, 03:58

W reg 1.4. 75bhp, wife's car purchased from new. This car is not without a few faults. Gearbox was never very smooth, engine is prone to cut out when air conditioning is on (any ideas?), clutch problems, also electrical niggles. At present I'm changing the cam belts, this is certainly not for the faint hearted. Owned a L reg 1.0 polo prior to this, a basic model purchased from new easy to work on, underpowered engine but 99.9% reliable.

MORAL: the basic models are the best with fewer gadgets to go wrong.

13th Aug 2010, 17:12

Hi there, I own a VW Polo 1.4 SE 2000 reg 16 valve, and although it has a few niggles, I wouldn't be without her.

The main problem we have is with the front tyres wearing very very quickly. We have to buy tyres approx twice a year! Apart from this, she is the most reliable car I've ever had, despite this little matter of the front tyres.

I would recommend everyone to get a Polo, as they're reliable and very cheap to run, and you get great miles. Hope this helps.

2000 Volkswagen Polo Classic 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 307

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

The back window keeps fogging up regardless of the defroster.

The car in dark green!!!

General Comments:

The car is EXTREMLEY reliable. I can go 6 weeks on a full tank of petrol.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Polo Twist 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Nice while it lasted

Faults:

Engine cutting out in last year of ownership. Very scary when the power steering cut out. Probably a very simple common fault, but VW weren't very helpful.

General Comments:

Lovely luxury for a small car although engine was pretty pathetic for a Millenium car.

Nice Ladies car let down by pathetic VW not being very helpful.

Would have one again mind!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Polo 1.4 1.4 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Landcruiser

Summary:

Good package ruined by reliability

Faults:

Leaky exhaust manifold.

Exhaust vibration.

Electric Wing mirrors don't work.

Starter motor has jammed on twice, then blown up requiring 2 new starters.

CD/ Radio stopped working.

Ignition switch faulty.

General Comments:

Like the solid body, interior quality and revvy little motor.

The lack of reliability ruins an value/joy in owning this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

24th Jun 2006, 02:35

I fully agreed with the comment about VW Polo 1.4 2000. I purchased a demo model, which has done 1500 km, from a very reputable dealer in Adelaide South Australia.

Within the first 4 months I had to take the car back to get the ball joints fixed on 3 occasions.

After 15 months or so, the car could not start on the morning of my kid's Year 12 exam, and it took a week to have the starter switch replaced, which has to be flown in from Sydney.

The power window jammed just before the warranty ran out, so they were replaced at no cost. Since then I have put in a new throttle system and removed the pedal assembly, and repaired & reinforced the cable clip, which has cost me AUD $2000 so far.

2000 Volkswagen Polo Classic 1.6 petrol from South Africa

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 kilometres
Most recent distance143000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Perfectly reliable

Faults:

Up to this point nothing serious has gone wrong with my car.

The rubber seal between the aerial and the roof going missing.

The little light bulb in the centre console popped twice.

General Comments:

Although not purchased new, I am very happy with my Polo.

The handling is great.

The controls are good and ergonomic.

It is fuel efficient.

It has a very spacious boot.

Strong, unbreakable and responsive engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 34 reviews