2000 Volvo S80 Reviews - Page 5 of 9

2000 Volvo S80 T6 2.8 Twin turbo gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Twin turbo gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Beautiful and powerful, but expensive to maintain

Faults:

Struts and bushing had to be replaced.

Oil trap leaking, replaced.

ABS module bad, had rebuilt.

Throttle control module surges, cleaned.

General Comments:

This car is a pleasure to drive, smooth, like riding on rails. Very comfortable in the cabin and quite.

The car has it's fair share of problems, but once they are all fixed, this car should be able to go another 127K miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2005

2000 Volvo S80 t6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance38000 miles
Previous carVolvo 940

Summary:

Read all you can find about these cars, then if you buy one, it's your own fault for not listening.

Faults:

Throttle body bad at 16,000 and 32,000 and it seems to be bad again. Door hinge broke at about 25,000 and dealer declared that to not be under warranty. AC routinely needs 600 dollars stuffed into it to keep it running. Must have dealer "computer codes" to have someone else work on it. What a scam!

General Comments:

We have the misfortune of owning an S70 and an S80 and I would gladly trade both of them for a 40 year old volkswagen. We have actually spent more on repairs than we have on car payments some years. We bought both cars new, which was a major mistake. Volvo knows the breaking point for service is about 800 dollars, so anything they do to the car is 800 dollars. Don't even slow down to look when you pass a Volvo dealership. You'll be sorry if you do. And the arrogance of the dealer personnel! They seem to think I am insulting them if I happen to ask what I actually got for my last 800 dollar investment.

If you enjoy flushing 100 dollar bills down the toilet then you will love owning a new volvo. I have owned Volvos all of my adult life, but I am sure done with them now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

27th Oct 2005, 07:49

VWs are no better, look at all the reviews from unsatisfied owners on this site!

29th Oct 2005, 09:56

I acquired a 2000 S80 new and spend more maintaining and fixing problems with that car in one year than I spent with a 1987 Chevy in 14 years.

28th Aug 2006, 04:15

I have owned 6 Volvo's in my life, and they were all fine cars. Currently, I own V70 T5, and it's great. It feels like a new car, even though it has almost 300.000 kilometers on the clock. Only think, that went wrong is O2 sensor (at 77.000 kilometers). My only complaint about FWD Volvo's is, they eat front tyres, due to the powerful engine.

22nd Jun 2007, 17:39

HAHAHAHA I'm SORRY! I don't mean to laugh, but that was a funny review! I can sense you won't be buying a volvo anytime soon.

2000 Volvo S80 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Comfortable ride, but too expensive to maintain

Faults:

Front end warrany problems during first year.

Sun Roof warranty problems (several trips to dealer)

Brake Vacuum Booster replaced at 67,000 for $900 (reason: "bad luck")

Electronic Throttle Module replaced at 67,000 for $800 (reason: "bad luck")

General Comments:

Great car to drive, but too many trips to the dealer, both warranty and expensive out of warranty items attributed to "bad luck" per the service advisor.

Never got used to the blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

2000 Volvo S80 4door 2.9 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carToyota Solara

Summary:

Well built

Faults:

Electronic Throttle Module died at 120,000mi, cost of $1250.including towing fee.

Door lock repaired approx 90,000mi.

The cover on console between front seats peeled off.

General Comments:

Comfortable and good looking car. Service and repairs are more expensive than for cars previously owned, if taken to dealership. Can save some on service by using a good independent repair shop. No major problems other than electronic throttle module failure which was expected because I had researched and learned that this is a common problem with this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

15th Sep 2005, 00:53

I am currently replacing the Electronic Throttle Module at 62000 miles at a cost of $850 plus tax. Towing $80. 2000 Volvo S80 2.9.

22nd Oct 2005, 04:19

Replaced the electronic throttle module and a brake vacuum booster at 66,750 miles for $1,617. Did not have it towed since the car started the next day and I was barely able to drive it to the dealer three miles away.

10th May 2007, 13:37

Currently own a 2000 S80 T6 with 110,000 miles. Throttle body is a joke I have gone thru 2. Doors locks are an issue as is sunroof. When the Volvo was not a Ford they were much more reliable. Dealerships are too expensive- example struts for keeping hood open- both are bad- $116.00 each (simple air strut should be around $30-$40 and 1 hour minimum labor (At $106.00 per hour) per strut. This would come out to $444 to keep the hood open. Keep a $8.00 vise grip on strut and save $436.00. Reliablity is not what it used to be with this car. Also have fit and finish issues.Now need main seal, timing belts and more. Never had this much go wrong with other Volvo models. I have 3 go over 160,000 miles without major repairs

13th Dec 2007, 12:02

I have owned an 2000 S80 for Three (3) yr's now and have almost put in more money in repairs than what I paid for the car. Throttle Body, O2 sensors & the computer which controls the STC/ABS has gone out event though there is nothing wrong with the STC or Braking system. That's another $800 part plus labor. When does the bleeding stop? What year's are the good years? I do love the ride and safety factor.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews