2000 Volvo S80 Reviews - Page 6 of 9

2000 Volvo S80 T6 Twin turbo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Twin turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Faults:

Electrical

Transmission

Brakes

Cooling

Steering.

General Comments:

The problems started almost immediately and have been on going to date. Never have spent more money for a vehicle nor have I spent more to maintain one. We have again and again had expensive maintenance performed that did not correct the problems. Through what appears to be faulty diagnostic software combined with poor design quality we have spent literally thousands of dollars replacing parts that never needed to be replaced.

Again this is the situation. When the transmission service light appeared we immediately contacted the dealership & where told to bring it in. We were given an estimate of price & what was required. We got a second opinion & were told the same solenoid would need to be replaced and that a second solenoid also prone to fail should be replaced at the same time. Going against better judgment, but given a lower estimate from the dealership, I called to schedule the work. I asked about the second solenoid & was told our car had only one. Work was done and I was told the car was tested and check out just fine. Didn't get one mile from the dealership and the light returned. They now claimed another solenoid did exist & needed to be replaced. $1700 wasted, the problem is still not corrected. We need a $4,000 transmission which the dealership feels bad about, but unwilling accept any responsibility.

Since Volvo will not stand behind its product we will cut our losses & move on to a more reliable vehicle. Given the resale value of this year and model they are well aware of the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

12th Aug 2006, 12:29

Learn from your mistakes - Quit going to Volvo dealers for service and start going to the many other places that will service volvos. I used to take my t6 to a dealer and now I go to a volvo specialist.

19th Nov 2006, 21:48

There's a much better way to learn from your mistakes; Never put another nickel of your hard earned money in the hands of the Ford Motor Company.

16th Jun 2007, 11:16

Not even Independent Volvo shops have competent technicians. Is it more of a company pursuing technology that they have no expertise or training to handle?

28th Jun 2007, 19:13

It is a shame to hear so many disappointing reviews about Volvo lately. I have for many years been a dedicated follower of Volvo. It is a shame that Volvo is owned by Ford. Although Volvo has paid dividends to Ford, while the other Ford daughter companies have been costing Ford huge overdrafts. Needless to say in recent years, Volvo's reliability and quality has become some what an issue.

9th Jul 2008, 22:45

My S80 is in the shop all the time, But I love to drive it. You have to admit it is a low budget car.

16th Feb 2011, 15:46

A person with a Volvo should go to www.myvolvopartsonline.com. They have great service, and the people there know what they're talking about. And they'll answer you if you call too.

2000 Volvo S80 T6 turbo from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

This is a very nice car that can hang with any BMW or Mercedes any day

Faults:

The transmission went bad right after I bought the car. Along with many other problems. All are being fixed under my warranty.

General Comments:

I bought this car used, and so far I love it.

I have read many bad reviews on this car's reliability and cost to fix it.

I would suggest buying a warranty so you do not have to pay for the costly repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2005

23rd Jul 2006, 19:57

I just bought a 2000 S80 T6 with 74,000 miles on it. I was attracted to the looks, ride and all the bells and whistles on it. As a result, traded my 2000 Ford Expedition for this Volvo. I have owned it now for 1 month/1000 miles and really enjoy the overall performance. What scares me is all the negative comments from previous owners. Thus, I have invested in a 36 month/36,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty, which is costing me approx. $80 a month. (should I chose to cancel the warranty, a refund would be pro-rated)

I have only had a few issues since purchasing. The rear tire just blew out while on 95, just 2 days after buying. Then last week the message came on to check emission control. Luckily for me, it turned out to me a false reading. But still costs me $35 from my personal mechanic. Now that I have driven it for more than 1000 miles and my warranty is in effect. I am going to keep my fingers crossed and enjoy this car until I realized its time to cut my losses.

12th Jul 2007, 13:53

I love my S80 T6, no major problems and I'm going on 125k! Still as fast as the day I bought it. Would recommend to anyone.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews