2000 Volvo S80 from North America


Comfortable ride, but too expensive to maintain


Front end warrany problems during first year.

Sun Roof warranty problems (several trips to dealer)

Brake Vacuum Booster replaced at 67,000 for $900 (reason: "bad luck")

Electronic Throttle Module replaced at 67,000 for $800 (reason: "bad luck")

General Comments:

Great car to drive, but too many trips to the dealer, both warranty and expensive out of warranty items attributed to "bad luck" per the service advisor.

Never got used to the blind spots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

2000 Volvo S80 4door 2.9 from North America


Well built


Electronic Throttle Module died at 120,000mi, cost of $1250.including towing fee.

Door lock repaired approx 90,000mi.

The cover on console between front seats peeled off.

General Comments:

Comfortable and good looking car. Service and repairs are more expensive than for cars previously owned, if taken to dealership. Can save some on service by using a good independent repair shop. No major problems other than electronic throttle module failure which was expected because I had researched and learned that this is a common problem with this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2005

15th Sep 2005, 00:53

I am currently replacing the Electronic Throttle Module at 62000 miles at a cost of $850 plus tax. Towing $80. 2000 Volvo S80 2.9.

22nd Oct 2005, 04:19

Replaced the electronic throttle module and a brake vacuum booster at 66,750 miles for $1,617. Did not have it towed since the car started the next day and I was barely able to drive it to the dealer three miles away.

10th May 2007, 13:37

Currently own a 2000 S80 T6 with 110,000 miles. Throttle body is a joke I have gone thru 2. Doors locks are an issue as is sunroof. When the Volvo was not a Ford they were much more reliable. Dealerships are too expensive- example struts for keeping hood open- both are bad- $116.00 each (simple air strut should be around $30-$40 and 1 hour minimum labor (At $106.00 per hour) per strut. This would come out to $444 to keep the hood open. Keep a $8.00 vise grip on strut and save $436.00. Reliablity is not what it used to be with this car. Also have fit and finish issues.Now need main seal, timing belts and more. Never had this much go wrong with other Volvo models. I have 3 go over 160,000 miles without major repairs

13th Dec 2007, 12:02

I have owned an 2000 S80 for Three (3) yr's now and have almost put in more money in repairs than what I paid for the car. Throttle Body, O2 sensors & the computer which controls the STC/ABS has gone out event though there is nothing wrong with the STC or Braking system. That's another $800 part plus labor. When does the bleeding stop? What year's are the good years? I do love the ride and safety factor.

2000 Volvo S80 T6 Twin turbo from North America







General Comments:

The problems started almost immediately and have been on going to date. Never have spent more money for a vehicle nor have I spent more to maintain one. We have again and again had expensive maintenance performed that did not correct the problems. Through what appears to be faulty diagnostic software combined with poor design quality we have spent literally thousands of dollars replacing parts that never needed to be replaced.

Again this is the situation. When the transmission service light appeared we immediately contacted the dealership & where told to bring it in. We were given an estimate of price & what was required. We got a second opinion & were told the same solenoid would need to be replaced and that a second solenoid also prone to fail should be replaced at the same time. Going against better judgment, but given a lower estimate from the dealership, I called to schedule the work. I asked about the second solenoid & was told our car had only one. Work was done and I was told the car was tested and check out just fine. Didn't get one mile from the dealership and the light returned. They now claimed another solenoid did exist & needed to be replaced. $1700 wasted, the problem is still not corrected. We need a $4,000 transmission which the dealership feels bad about, but unwilling accept any responsibility.

Since Volvo will not stand behind its product we will cut our losses & move on to a more reliable vehicle. Given the resale value of this year and model they are well aware of the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2005

12th Aug 2006, 12:29

Learn from your mistakes - Quit going to Volvo dealers for service and start going to the many other places that will service volvos. I used to take my t6 to a dealer and now I go to a volvo specialist.

19th Nov 2006, 21:48

There's a much better way to learn from your mistakes; Never put another nickel of your hard earned money in the hands of the Ford Motor Company.

16th Jun 2007, 11:16

Not even Independent Volvo shops have competent technicians. Is it more of a company pursuing technology that they have no expertise or training to handle?

28th Jun 2007, 19:13

It is a shame to hear so many disappointing reviews about Volvo lately. I have for many years been a dedicated follower of Volvo. It is a shame that Volvo is owned by Ford. Although Volvo has paid dividends to Ford, while the other Ford daughter companies have been costing Ford huge overdrafts. Needless to say in recent years, Volvo's reliability and quality has become some what an issue.

9th Jul 2008, 22:45

My S80 is in the shop all the time, But I love to drive it. You have to admit it is a low budget car.

16th Feb 2011, 15:46

A person with a Volvo should go to www.myvolvopartsonline.com. They have great service, and the people there know what they're talking about. And they'll answer you if you call too.