1998 Volvo V70 XC 2.4L turbo from North America




The only thing I have replaced on my V70 XC in the last 400, 00 are:

Rear shocks (used: 200.00 cad).

Regular brake maintenance every 60 to 100 thousand km.

Timing belt (40.00 cad, installed myself).

Oil changes every 4000 km.

ABS module (I resoldered the board and reinstalled, price $0).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2009

18th Jun 2015, 00:32

You want to say you have been driving this car for 400000kms only with these repairs? I'm sorry, I wish it was true, but there is no vehicle on planet Earth that will be this trouble free. A Volvo with 400000 will have tons of issues including sensors, many suspension components, engine mounts, and the list is long.

18th Jun 2015, 21:19

I can believe it, I recently sold a 2005 Volvo V70 with 298,000 MILES and it was still going strong. Anyway, normal people don't class wear and tear items as problems. The fact this Volvo has been good and not needed anything outside of normal maintenance is a good score. I'm sure if it were a Toyota, people would be saying how great they are, but because it's a Volvo, someone has to come on and 'rubbish' it. Good on the original reviewer. If you look after a car, they usually look after you.

1998 Volvo V70 GLT 2.4L from North America


An excellent, fun, reliable car


Right-front wheel bearing.

Hatch struts.


General Comments:

I made comments on this site back in 2006-01-26, about a year after I had purchased the V70 at 83K.

It now has over 150K and has been an excellent vehicle.

After years in the Florida sun, the paint still looks good, with no rust, despite the fact that I live within 4 blocks of the Atlantic Ocean.

Other than normal maintenance involving brakes and tires (and one wheel-bearing) I have had almost no problems with the vehicle.

I broke the cup-holder with my elbow, but it is inexpensive to replace.

I can't relate to the unhappy owners; my experience has been wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2009

1998 Volvo V70 XC from North America


Financial disaster to maintain, but great to drive


There have been regular failures of minor things -- windshield has stress crack, interior power plug (lighter) sockets have collapsed, rear window trim has popped off several times.

Engine mounts have been replaced.

Just today replaced front brake rotors. That's all smaller stuff.

The bigger stuff has been staggering. Second timing chain failed at 100,000 miles, and more recently the head gasket failed. Those were each $4000 disasters.

Dealer replaced interior sensor and other components of A/C system at a cost of $800, and gave the car back to me still blowing hot air!

A very costly car to maintain. I have lost confidence in the brand, and regrettably the dealer's ability to correctly diagnose and fix problems.

Will feed it money for at least another winter, because it is a terrific snow and ice car. Next year another car, but not a Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2008

7th Nov 2008, 12:07

I don't now if you are aware, but it has 185,000 miles. You will get problems at this mileage - just wear and tear!

12th Jan 2009, 20:41

Timing chain? These use a timing belt and if the belt fails just like on ANY interference engine, the cost of repairs will be very high.

29th Jun 2012, 07:41

You complain about the A/C, though you say it's a good snow/ice car? How hot does it get where you live?

My '98 V70 (non-turbo) is the best wagon I have EVER had, and I usually drive BMWs. Take care of these cars (fluids, timing belt) and don't sweat the small things, and these cars will take great care of you for hundreds of thousands of miles/kilometers.


28th Aug 2012, 23:41

I don't know about the poster, but I live in Winnipeg, Canada, and tonight I can sleep outside with short sleeves, and in the winter it is -40 Celsius. It can snow and also be hot in the same place in a year.

29th Aug 2012, 20:54

The car has 185000 miles on it. No matter how good the brand/model, you will run into wear and tear issues.

Volvo just happens to be very expensive in repairs and parts, compared to let's say a domestic sedan or lower end Japanese/Korean sedan.

Very few mechanics will work on European cars as well, and those who do, charge big money.

I see tons of old Volvos for sale on Craigslist in good running condition for very cheap prices; they don't sell because people are scared of the expensive repairs these cars may need. They are older cars, and still run good with higher mileage, but people are scared and don't want to take the chance; cannot say I blame them either.