1998 Volvo V70 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1998 Volvo V70 R 2.3 turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Jack of all trades, master of none - it does it all very well

Faults:

MAF sensor - very expensive

Some A/C hose - only about $250 to fix.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick and handles amazing.

Take one part SUV, one part compact, one part rocket, one part luxury, and put them all together...

0-60MPH in a little of 6 seconds (with IPD chip).

Corners almost as good as a sports car.

This car does everything really good, but nothing great. If you want a little of everything it's perfect. The AWD means fast launches on snow, rain, leaves, etc.

Starts well, runs well, stops well, corners well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2007

1998 Volvo V70 GLT V5 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carLexus RX300

Summary:

Like a high maintenance girlfriend- looks good, but a lot of work

Faults:

Engine light on constantly for no apparent reason. Felt nickel and dimed to death, trying to get this stupid light to turn OFF!!!

Rear left window motor burned out, yet, rarely used.

Never ending brake squealing, grinding, and replacements.

General Comments:

The "pro's" and "cons" are evenly matched in this car. Highs: Great handling, performance (esp. in snow, rain), durability, looks, doors nice and heavy, SAFE feel.

Lows: Felt like it was never truly 100% "fixed"- always nickel and dimed with repairs. Cup holder was RIDICULOUS, flimsy. Brakes were always an issue, squealing, grinding, never "fixed" despite sinking a good $2K+ on fixing them. Had quirky things go wrong that I never had to worry about with Japanese cars...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th January, 2007

25th May 2007, 07:26

Ensure that you buy Volvo brake pads, not aftermarket. They will be much quieter.

Volvo pads are quieter because they are softer. This also provides better braking. Of course, they do wear faster. This is the price you pay for first class brakes.

1998 Volvo V70 glt gas-turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission gas-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carVolvo 242

Summary:

This car will save your life in a bad wreck

Faults:

ABS chip, starter, rear tailgate inside panel reattached for rattles, ignition switch, speaker on drivers.side, heater fan motor. also the usual maintenance, timing belt-brake job, trans fluid flush.

General Comments:

Comfortable-quick and decent on gas 25 hwy-19 town, does have a couple of rattles. car cleans-up nicely and white exterior is easy to care for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2007

1998 Volvo V70 2.4 liters from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 liters Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60500 miles
Most recent distance67500 miles
Previous carVolvo 850

Summary:

A very sporty wagon

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This car does not feel as solid as the 1996 - 850 GLT my wife drives.

The car is not as swift as the 850 as well.

There is a constant whistle like noise at the driver's window. Also there is minor rattling you hear all the time.

The seats are very comfortable and the ride is fairly good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

1998 Volvo V70 GLT turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Nice looking, lots of problems

Faults:

New brakes, new rear axle, new radiator, water pump, engine mount, struts, turbo line, and four new tires in two months of owning this vehicle, what's next? Seat warmers sometimes smell like they are burning.

General Comments:

This car broke my heart! Beautiful car with lots of problems. My plastic Saturn went for 65,000 miles with NO problems, driven hard on NYC streets. This Volvo is INCREDIBLY squeeky, doesn't do bumpy roads well, and the anti-lock breaks are weird -- they will probably go next. I can't unload this car for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

1998 Volvo V70 GLT turbo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

I'm keeping it for another 10 years

Faults:

Driver Door Lock replaced after 20,000 km, under warranty

Brakes replaced at 90,000 km

Tires at 110,000 km (summer tires)

Alternator and Battery at 120,000 km.

General Comments:

Most comfortable car I have ever owned. Great for long trips. Accelerates like a rocket. Can fit in a 8x4 sheet of plywood, I even got in a 15ft Christmas Tree. Rides very smooth. Doors are really thick, and the road noise is minimal.

Feels like a brick, no rattles or noise, just like when new.

Mileage is average to good, 500-550kms on 70 liters.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

1998 Volvo V70 T5 CD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Senator

Summary:

The best compromise of versatility, speed, comfort, safety and reliability I have found

Faults:

Only routine brakes & discs at 122,000.

Routine front suspension mounts at 140,000.

Headlight switch at 155,000.

Throttle cable at 160000.

Occasionally bulbs, but that happens with every car!

General Comments:

The best car I have ever had in 30 years.

It was in better condition when I first bought it at 120,000m than any brand new Rover 800 that I had had previously over the years of company cars.

No squeaks rattles or leaks at 160,000m.

Everything works like new, quite astonishing really.

Original exhaust still at 160,000m.

Warp drive performance if you need it, almost as quick as my old 220bhp Toyota MR2 Turbo though I do not often drive fast or spiritedly. Overtaking is like being on a motorbike, if you have it 'on boost'. Nothing can keep up with it. Have embarrassed many a hot hatch/BMW/Audi TT. You can very easily lose traction stepping off from a standing start though, and the TRACS system does nothing to help keep traction.

Handling and roundabouts are not its forte, but you do not think you are driving a huge car, just a large saloon. Much better handling than my previous car a Vauxhall Senator 3.0.

Huge load capacity & flexibility for luggage. Gets diving gear, sailing gear, IKEA boxes, you name it, in with no fuss and a low sill height.

The best sound system I have out of 20 or so cars that I have had.

Excellent seats though the drivers seat is now a bit saggy. Comfortable and quiet for the many long motorway journeys I make. Distance is no longer an issue.

Other trim and the leather is almost as new though on the front doors there is delamination of the material around the handles, due to leaving the windows down in the rain!

There are lots of 'clever touches' such as a clip for your parking permits in the side of the windscreen rather than having to stick them in and then scrape them off! Bits of rubber in trays to stop things rattling, etc. The designers actually thought about living with the car.

You feel very safe in it, and the reputation counts for a lot here. I am confident driving my children around in it. Probably safer than an SUV as it has less chance of rolling.

I actually prefer the styling of the V70 Classic, it is pure form and function, purposive and not too aggressive. I prefer it to the new rounded V70s.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

24th Mar 2005, 14:36

I now own a 1998 V70 T5 CD auto estate (1998). I love it already and always finish a trip with a smile on my face.

Surprisingly, it does rattle and squeak (rear seats and trim?) more than my previous Volvo (2litre 850 SE Estate). Could this be due to a firmer suspension and larger wheels? The auto box is usually smooth, but occasionally gets caught out by a slight incline.

Also, compared with the 850, I find the T5 a bit noisier (again, the suspension and tires?) and the sound system duly suffers a bit.

Overall, a great car and I'm looking forward to doing more miles in it (...if my wallet can keep up with the fuel consumption..!).

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 29 reviews