1998 Volvo V70 2.4 non-turbo from North America

Summary:

Love these 2wd Volvos

Faults:

A/C stops working after 10 minutes. Found the fix online using plastic bread-clips on the A/C clutch.

Rear wiper motor doesn't work.

Some dashboard lights don't work.

General Comments:

I bought this car for less than $2000 USD about a year ago, and haven't had a minute's trouble with it. I do the minor repairs/maintenance myself and found a Volvo Tech that works out of his own garage on weekends to do the big stuff.

For maintenance I've replaced the timing belt and pulleys, brakes and rotors, front ball joints, tie rod ends, rear shocks, ignition switch, spark plugs and fuel filter. All these things were done rather inexpensively by myself or my mechanic. Lots of parts can be found online for these cars.

I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews on these cars. I have to think that a majority of the complaints are due more to crooked dealers/mechanics than poorly designed Volvos. Dealers are out to make money, ethics not withstanding.

Find yourself a trustworthy mechanic and these cars are a great used value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2010

1998 Volvo V70 Cross Country 2.4L turbo from North America

Summary:

Reliable when maintained

Faults:

Things gone wrong with my Volvo:

Rear shocks went at 240,000 ($350 each!).

ABS module repair ($100).

Brake rotors front ($40 each).

AC condensor seized (from not using AC).

Motor mounts (upper and passenger side, $100).

Brake hoses needed replacing ($100).

General Comments:

Great car for the DIY'er. Volvo dealerships (stealerships) will take you for a very long ride in your Volvo.

This is a great car AS LONG AS IT IS MAINTAINED!

Very comfortable and reliable.

Not an off-road vehicle (more for gravel roads and muddy fields).

The turbo engine has more than enough power, and the AWD system gives plenty of traction in the snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2009

12th Nov 2009, 17:51

"This is a great car AS LONG AS IT IS MAINTAINED!"

If you put 1/2 the amount of money you'd put into a Volvo keeping it maintained and on the road into a nicer car, I can assure you, it would easily last just as long as a Volvo (possibly longer).

As for comfort and safety, check out any crash test site, and you'll see that Volvo's aren't as great as the premium you pay for them would indicate.

13th Nov 2009, 03:18

The things gone wrong with the above Volvo are hardly devastating given the miles!!! The safety rating FOR THE YEAR is outstanding! Obviously, it's an old car, so it's not going to be up to today's standards, but they are bloody fantastic for the year!

13th Nov 2009, 16:29

These cars cost very little to keep running if you do the work yourself and order aftermarket parts. I don't know many cars you run from 200,000 km to 300,000 and spend an average of only $300.00 for work and or parts that falls outside of regular maintenance (such as brakes, timing belt, and exhaust work etc.).

These cars are WORRY FREE if maintained and are very safe and comfortable... They are just not a car people who have very little knowledge or ability.

17th Nov 2010, 17:46

I bought my used V70 X/C two years ago with 280,000 km on it. I have driven this car HARD, I have tried to break this car just to test its durability. I have not had any problems with this car (except for replacing the brake pads and timing belt). I am convinced that this car is indestructible. The doors even open and close like new! The best car I ever owned, hands down!

1998 Volvo V70 2.4L from North America

Summary:

Safety, reliability, cheap to purchase and run, easy to work on... what else could you want?

Faults:

Rattles all over!! Replaced clips on interior tailgate cover, wrapped seat latches in electrical tape, adjusted hood, tightened/replaced body panel retaining clips... takes time, but not difficult.

Bulbs in the dash... took some time, but not difficult or expensive.

When you turn right, the indicator does not automatically cancel... I manually turn it off. I'll figure it out after winter.

Nothing else wrong with car; was maintained as per dealer recommendation (full documentation provided when purchased).

General Comments:

We were expecting out first child this year and therefore had to shop for a family car... no minivans.

A friend recommended buying a Volvo... I found this one that was well maintained and had low mileage (for a 12 year old car) for $4k Cdn.

This is the nicest car I have ever owned. Rock solid... extremely comfortable to drive.. handling is excellent... easy on gas (8L/100km, 75% hwy miles)... lots of features (A/C, heated seats, traction control). Acceleration between lights is not great... plenty of passing power though.

I am amazed every time I drive this car... I could not have done better for the price. Knowing my family is as safe as possible in this beast lets me sleep at night.

These cars are commonly available for very little money and there is plenty of support on the internet. They are simple enough for the home mechanic to maintain. You'll have to go the the aftermarket for reasonably priced parts.

This thing is a tank... I will keep it for as long as it wants to stay with me (General consensus is 400,000 km without major expense). Should it die tomorrow, I would not hesitate to replace it with another Volvo... drive one and you'll understand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2009

12th Nov 2009, 17:46

Sorry, but I don't' buy it... Volvos that are FWD aren't as great as you'd like them to be.

Sure they have great heaters, and the engines and trannys will last a long time, but everything else around the car will and does fall apart!

As for the safety aspect, Volvos aren't the only ones with those safety ratings. Sure 2 or 3 decades ago they were at the top of their game, but since then EVERYONE else have caught up and surpassed Volvo on this feature.

If you want a slow, stodgy car with poor handling that'll appeal to those getting ready for retirement, then by all means buy a Volvo. If you want something you can really enjoy, buy anything else and save your money, cause all you're paying for is the name.