1998 Volvo V70 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1998 Volvo V70 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles

Summary:

Very good car, but not as solid as expected

Faults:

AC broken

Headlight broken

Air intake broken.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned.

It handles well, had good pick-up, is good in snow, is safe and good-looking.

Excellent seatwarmers.

However, it makes weird noises and is decidedly uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

12th Dec 2007, 15:09

A broken headlight hardly should be a mark against a car's dependability.

28th Sep 2010, 12:09

The Volvo V70 was never delivered with a V8. ;)

1998 Volvo V70 T5 2.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Lovely car, too many rattles and squeaks

Faults:

Steering wheel replaced due to peeling plastic. Garage fixed it instantly under warranty; no fuss.

Numerous front light bulbs; learned to change them myself in seconds.

Brake discs replaced at great expense; should be cheaper.

Front tyres wear too fast.

Severe rattles, particularly of rear door, plus squeaky dashboard.

General Comments:

After 3 Audis, I had a bad one; build quality was slipping, so I got a Volvo V70 estate.

The car arrived; brand new and we loved it. Fast, quiet and comfortable. Low servicing costs, moderate fuel consumption, but mediocre roadholding (it's the old model). Ferocious acceleration; you can fishtail if you overdo it. No cup holder, gasp.

In its middle years, still a good car, but starting to squeak and rattle. Still comfortable and fast. Passengers love it; especially the sound system.

Now as it approaches 100,000 miles, a few paint chips, still very quick indeed, seat starting to sag a bit, servicing costs getting too steep; often £750, and the back door rattles badly enough to drive you crazy. Oh dear; it's not going to last as long as an Audi. The car goes well, but how can you concentrate; rattle, rattle, squeak and rattle...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th November, 2003

8th Jan 2005, 18:08

Wish I had found this web site before buying my V70 GLT...

Great performance from the Turbo and transmission... but the squeaks drive me nuts... poor quality plastics, the dash and rattles from the rear are totally unacceptable from a car that probably cost about $40K new...

4th Aug 2005, 03:34

Hello, I have just browsed this site and enjoyed reading the comments. I am also the owner of a V70 XLT 10valve auto. Having had it for two years following one excellent Discovery and one which never left the dealers, I wish I had bought the Volvo earlier. A great car, no problems and I am 6ft 6 tall and find it the most comfortable driving position. I was also annoyed by the dashboard squeaks and have tried all remedies until two weeks ago.

I removed the top of the dashboard from inside, a simple job; from the outside removed the wiper mechanism which gave access to three bolts holding the dashboard lower section to the body. They were all loose, after several turns they tightened. Replaced the dash top. Hey presto. No rattles or squeaks on even the roughest of roads.

1998 Volvo V70 5 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

The cost of operation is high

Faults:

My right wheel bearing had to be replaced. Electrical problems in the key ignition system where the car wouldn't start. The glove-box and the rear door squeak seldomly.

General Comments:

This car needs a turbo system to enhance more responsive acceleration on the freeway. The brakes are very responsive during emergency situations. Unfortunately, the U-turn steering performance is not adequate. The overall height of the car is low, which doesn't give drivers the comfortable feeling because the car can scrape on certain driveways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2003

1998 Volvo V70 Turbo 2.3 turbo 5 cylinder 20v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo 5 cylinder 20v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carSubaru Impreza

Summary:

A power crazed Audi-eater

General Comments:

The T5 is basically one of the most ultimate Q cars ever.

It will blow away almost any opposition you will come across.

Its faster than my old Subaru WRX Turbo, and that's saying something!

The car is so quiet and comfortable under normal conditions, then nail the throttle and the sweet sounding 5-pot projects you over the speed limit and just carries on accelerating, even if you floor it at 120 mph!

It is a very nice car to drive and live with.

Although it eats front tires!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2003

1998 Volvo V70 Std Wagon 20 Valve 5 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 20 Valve 5 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired35500 miles
Most recent distance44500 miles
Previous carVolvo 760

Summary:

A reliable soccer mom wagon

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

The Volvo V70 is very responsive and reliable for all driving demands.

It's braking, acceleration, turning, safety and maneuverability is fantastic.

The smoothness during freeway and city driving are exceptionally great.

For a standard 5 Cylinder Engine, the fuel efficiency and maintenance is reasonable in terms of cost savings.

However, the interior is spacious and comfortable for passengers to ride in.

The interior controls are convenient for drivers and passengers to operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

27th Aug 2002, 12:29

Make sure you get an honest service technician to service your vehicle.

1998 Volvo V70 T5 I-5 HP turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission I-5 HP turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

ABS Computer.

2 Wheel Sensors.

Engine going south - rod knock.

General Comments:

A real clunker for the cash I spent on it.

Only 75k and the engine is on it's way out. That'll be cheap! = (

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2001

17th Nov 2004, 16:30

I agree with you Steve the car is a piece of junk and will never own a single Volvo ever again. The service representatives at Volvo are rated poor according to my standards.

12th Dec 2007, 15:08

I'm sorry to hear you're having such poor service from your Volvo. I'd be ticked off too in your case. I've had excellent service from all 3 of my Volvos. Any high performance turbocharged car is going to be more problematic, more costly to keep up, and not last as long. Your's must have been beat though because I've never heard of the 5cyl. engine failing THAT early, especially a rod knock. Usually it's the head gasket that fails prematurely with the turbo 5cyl. engine. Otherwise these cars last well over 200k miles if drive and maintained respectably. A friend's '95 850 (same motor, but not turbo) has about 250k miles on his original engine/transmision.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 29 reviews