2001 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2001 BMW 3 Series 325ci V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

I'd buy the M3 now that I've seen how good the 325ci is

Faults:

The right side mirror is supposed to tilt down when I put the car in reverse. It stopped doing that for a while. Now it's doing it again. It's probably a wire going off and on somewhere. Shouldn't happen on a brand new car though. A couple of my other friends complained about small things like that too. Sunroof wires, tail lamp wires et cetera.

General Comments:

This car took time to grow on me. The only things I liked about it when I bought it was exterior styling and engine. The dealership is VOB in Rockville, Maryland and they are known for high volume sales. Good for them. I found the majority of the people there arrogant, conceited and all round ignorant. I did like the person I worked with though he tended to be dismissive once in a while too. If you get away from all that though, and take care of the car, you find that it's not only beautiful, but a joy to drive. It's fun to find a winding road and see how well it grips the tar. I plan a couple of body upgrades, and of course new wheels and tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

29th Jun 2002, 17:13

Just one point.

It's a straight 6 engine, not a V6 engine.

28th Jun 2005, 11:34

I love my 325 Convertible-a blast to drive. Easy one button top operation-no clamps or screws like the Corvette. If you are thinking about owning one- stop thinking and Do It!

17th Aug 2005, 01:40

My car is close to 90,000 miles (Yes, I drive a lot). I agree that maintenance cost is very expensive. So far, I have replaced all rotors twice. My left side view mirror also stopped tilting down when the car is in reverse mode. I love my car, but all the maintenance costs are making me think twice if I should keep the car or not. I cannot imagine what else I need to fix when the car reaches 100,000 miles. Any idea?

13th Nov 2005, 10:30

Read page 57 of the owner's manual, this will solve your problem.

1st Feb 2006, 12:10

Thank you very much for the above comment... although its on page 51 of my 330Ci. I just bought it last week, and thought it had already started to fall apart :)

For those who don't have the manual handy, The mirror changeover switch has to be set to the drivers side!

12th Feb 2006, 14:05

Hi I have a question.

I want to put on a body-kit from a m3 on my 325ci coupe, but will it fit?

15th Jun 2006, 06:58

Ofcourse it will fit you muppet!

2001 BMW 3 Series SE Touring 3.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

Luxury load carrying powerhouse

Faults:

Luggage cover squeaks and groans.

Front suspension developed clunking noise, bushes replaced.

Erratic Climate Control, No way of controlling fan speed.

Radio RDS system inoperative.

Traction Control (DSC) intermittently turns itself off.

Coolant light flashes (coolant full).

Dashboard illumination failure.

General Comments:

Outstanding diesel performance, passengers regularly surprised by neck snapping acceleration.

Lovely fit, finish and design, up to Audi standards at least.

Disappointing electrics reliability.

Great load space, has the ability to carry five people, their luggage with two kayaks and three bikes on the roof up mountain roads at 60mph in 5th. Endless torque!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th April, 2002

2001 BMW 3 Series 330i Coupe 3.0 24v 6 cylinder from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 24v 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance29500 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

A big two fingers to Audi, Merc and even Porsche!

Faults:

No problems. So far very satisfied with the car. It's fully covered under BMW's 3-year new car warranty anyway, by which time I will be on my next one... :>)

General Comments:

It's a very nice shade of dark metallic blue with full cream sports leather.

I can say after owning Mercs, Audi's, VW's, this is the best car I've ever had the pleasure of driving.

It beats my last A6 2.8 Quattro in every respect. It looks good, goes superb, and I'm the envy of everyone! The new 3.0 straight six is very smooth, refined and powerful. It holds the road in a fantastic manner that is difficult to describe. The steptronic lets me drive it like a manual when I need a bit of fun country blasting. The auto works very well on its own after a hard day at the office.

I love the pillarless door tops and the way the sports seats are built. The dash is very well designed and built. The dealer service is costly but it's worth it.

Go and test drive one, the fuel MPG will astound you. I get well over 30 on a run and 26 round town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2001

15th Jan 2002, 16:34

Fair enough, you are entitled to your opinion.

Personally I would rather drive a real German car instead of a mickey mouse one.

That's why I got the 330i coupe sport. Don't confuse this with a lardy 318i. I doubt you have even seen a sport version let alone driven one.

I leave the Mercedes for grandad together with his pipe and slippers. As for the Audi, who the heck would have an S4 over a 330i/M3!!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 41 reviews