2001 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 13 of 13

2001 BMW 3 Series Executive 1.9 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Junk

Faults:

Vehicle rolls and pitches at highway and freeway speeds.

Rattles in the front driver's side door.

Rear head rests come off in your hand when trying to adjust them.

The external side trim on the driver's side came loose and had to be refitted.

Cruise control button replaced twice.

Automatic transmission required adjustment.

All tyres and rims had to be replaced so as to try and obtain better road handling, these efforts were unsuccessful.

General Comments:

A real lemon.

I would NEVER consider the future purchase of a BMW vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2001

11th Apr 2006, 20:20

A fairly damming review from someone who bought the car with 12000 klms and wrote the review 2000 klms later. It seems like the person did no do a thorough pre-purchase inspection in the first place.

I am very surprised to read comments about a BMW 320i which are so negative.

7th Feb 2007, 22:09

I'm not, my father was national parts manager for BMW Australia and that dealing with BMW headoffice was always a nightmare as they never would believe their cars would have problems. Since leaving BMW all his cars have been Japanese, because mainly they will last after a few years, a lot of BMW owners buy new and never keep the car longer than a couple of years. Great if you can afford it.

1st Nov 2012, 23:52

You called it a lemon, and gave it 10/10 for reliability? Please explain?

2001 BMW 3 Series 330 Ci 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good, but too lardy to be fun

Faults:

No faults whatsoever.

General Comments:

In my opinion, BMW have lost the plot slightly with this car. Yes it's beautifully built, fairly quick and has a fantastic engine, but compared to the E36 and E30 models, it's just no fun to drive. The 3 Series, like so many other good cars, has become overweight and "soft", and a huge chunk of its appeal has gone. It's what I'd expect of a Mercedes - impeccably made but a bit dull. BMW's are supposed to be driver's cars.

The usual BMW strengths apply but the car is just too dull to get excited about. It says a lot that even after 6 years, I used to love getting into my E36 325i and just going out for a blast round the lanes, yet after just 8 months, I rarely drive this car just for the sake of it.

When Lexus offer their IS with a larger engine, this car goes on the market. The IS is what the 3 Series used to be, and what this car should have been.

Disappointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

25th Aug 2004, 08:45

I find the E46 Sport model a real thrill to drive. The suspension is both lower and firmer, allowing the 18" low-profile tyres to do their work and thus gives greater feedback & handling.

The non-Sport models are designed for luxurious motoring so why are people buying them expecting a sports car?

2001 BMW 3 Series 330 ci Sport 3.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0i petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SLK 230 kompressor

Summary:

THE standard in practical sports coupes

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

Outstanding performance - acceleration at 100mph is still enough to catch you out.

Cabin quality now higher than the mercedes benchmark.

Fantastic sports seats were still comfortable after 6 hours.

Harmon Kardon hi fi sounds superb.

Having changed my 2 seat convertible for something practical I still get a grin each journey.

Expensive options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2001

2001 BMW 3 Series 330i 3.0 straight six from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 straight six Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance946 miles
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

Superb, quality, just brilliant!!

Faults:

Absolutely unbelievable car!! Fantastic attention to detail and quality. Love its looks, smell, feel, drivability. The chrome around the dials and dash readout is superb. Even tells you the exact mileage left to the next service.

No faults yet, but I've only done 900ish miles so it's still early days. My 1994 318i never let me down, had that from new. I will be disappointed if this one goes wrong.

No leather in mine, but the fabric interior is superb.

General Comments:

These cars are second to none. Mine has the all new 3.0 straight six engine, this is superb in all respects apart from fuel economy. It's the silly little touches in these cars that take them above the rest. The mirrors even electrically fold in when putting the car in the garage!!!

It's all tosh about the high running costs. Buy about a 5 year old example and it will cost no more than a Ford Escort to run, this is from experience. My old BMW was cheaper to run than my wife's Ford Escort 1.8 diesel!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

27th Sep 2002, 11:31

Cars don't always go wrong, some people are lucky with cars that cause no trouble. If your unlucky enough to have that BMW that does go wrong, then its going to cost you a lot more money than any Ford. Your Escort must have been seriously ill because BMW servicing runs at nearly 3 times as much.

2001 BMW 3 Series 320Ci 2.2 straight six from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 straight six Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Fantasically smooth, this car is the smoothest I've ever driven, the build quality is unparalleled.

If you're after a fast, good looking coupé look no further.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2001

18th Feb 2001, 19:46

If this car is so good, why don't you want to buy another car from this company?

22nd Mar 2001, 13:19

Yeah, and why isn't there a happy face on the summary part?

22nd Mar 2001, 15:15

Steven@carsurvey.org:

The happy or sad face depends on the answer to whether or not the reviewer would buy again from the same manufacturer. In this case the answer was no. It does appear, that this may have been a mistake by the reviewer though given their positive comments.

Best Wishes,

Steven.

20th Apr 2001, 02:51

Just bought, absolutely unbelievable, best car I've ever driven.

16th Jan 2002, 21:20

I would never buy a BMW again. Never!!!

18th Jan 2002, 20:14

Why never buy a BMW again?

14th Nov 2006, 01:08

I have driven the 320ci (2.2) and while it is a thoroughly satisfying car to drive it is not that fast. To overtake quickly you need to use third gear and floor the throttle and then it fairly moves! However the sheer refinement and the even torque more than make up for any performance shortfall. It is also very economical averaging 35 on long runs and overall 31mpg - excellent for a 2.2 litre 6 cylinder. I know someone with a Lexus IS200, very smooth 6 cylinder, completely gutless, although is has 150bhp and 24mpg... Japanese engineering...!!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 41 reviews