1985 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1985 Buick LeSabre Limited Collector's Edition 5.0L V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3188 miles
Most recent distance129573 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

This car is an excellent set of wheels

Faults:

The transmission started slipping at 16,000 miles.

It has the normal GM sagging headliner.

It also formed little cracks in the dash cover, like most GM's did overtime.

It has the normal faded paint and small cracks in the vinyl top like most GM's got overtime.

It also has the normal rust looking stain above the exhaust on the rear bumper.

And both bumper fillers are deteriorating, which is also normal for these old cars.

General Comments:

I bought this car from a 91 year old man in 1987. He took great care of this car, and when I got it it was immaculate. Of course the car was only 2 years old when I got it, so it was still like brand new.

The car originally came from Long Island, NY, and I drove it here to Belleville, IL when I bought it with no problem at all.

The original burgundy paint is still on the car, but it's faded and it has a clear film type of stuff peeling off of it in certain places.

It also has the original burgundy full vinyl top, but it's weather cracked.

The burgundy interior is still immaculate with the exception of the sagging headliner and the cracks in the dash cover. The seats have no rips or burns in them and they are extremely comfortable. It also has the woodgrain on the door panels that are sun faded, but it still looks nice.

It has some neat looking Buick turbine wheels that are kind of scuffed up, but still look cool.

I've loved this car since the day I bought it, and I always will love it, I will never sell it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2009

1985 Buick LeSabre Collectors Edition 307 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 307 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Great value for a luxury car

Faults:

Intake manifold gasket was replaced.

General Comments:

Great car, great ride, dependable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2008

1985 Buick LeSabre Limited Collectors Edition 5.0L 307 V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0L 307 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired179500 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I would buy another

Faults:

I bought the car and it needs general tune up/maintenance. Putting brakes all around, plugs/wires/dist. cap/rotor, oil/filter, trans. filter, etc. But there isn't anything serious wrong with it; maybe valve cover gaskets.

General Comments:

Comfortable, has power and some get up and go, can cruise too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2008

1985 Buick LeSabre COLLECTORS 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance97200 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Super comfortable

Faults:

Electric heater control can't find it nowhere heater control module I can't find the side marker lights near the top on the sides.

General Comments:

Rides like a dream you can sleep in the car its so comfy...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2008

1985 Buick LeSabre Limited Collector's Edition 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

One of the best full-size vehicles ever produced

Faults:

Replaced the radiator and all belts and hoses @ 90,000 miles.

Replaced OE muffler with Flowmaster and OE cat with high-flow converter @

97, 000 miles.

Replaced rear drums when I needed new brakes @ 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

The most comfortable and reliable car I have ever owned.

I have had many offers from friends and total strangers to buy my LeSabre, but the most impressive ones have been $6,000 twice and I turned down both offers.

I am keeping this car as long as I live.

The velour seats are as comfy as a Lazy Boy recliner and they are still flawless.

Tinted windows and a new sound system only made this ride even more enjoyable.

The Olds 307 5.0 V8 runs great and sounds even better with the Flowmaster muffler.

I just had her emissions tested and passed way under the new strict state/ federal standards.

Next is auto-dimming/ temp/ compass rearview mirror.

After that a moonroof and new paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2005

1985 Buick LeSabre Collectors 5.0 Oldsmobile V8 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Oldsmobile V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

If we were in Germany, this car would be named the Uberwagen

Faults:

When I first got the car, it had not been started in 2 years. Upon turning the ignition, the engine fired right up, and with the exception of some smoke from a small oil leak and the belts creaking, the engine was flawless.

There were no brakes in the car, which made driving it up onto the flatbed an adventure in physics!

General Comments:

The interior is mint. The car runs like new now. Aside from the cushy shocks and springs that came stock on the car, there isn't a better full size car out there in terms of reliability, style and comfort. I had a Caprice, Delta 88 and Safari before this car, and other than the emotional attachment I held for the Caprice, this Buick is the best car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

23rd Nov 2005, 19:20

You've got good taste in cars. I have a Caprice coupe myself. Easy to work on and parts are easy to get. Honestly fuel economy isn't too bad either, it's about the same as an average SUV, 16-20mpg.

12th Dec 2005, 00:01

I bought my first car at the age of 16. My Buick Le Sabre is in great shape aside from poor alignment in the front. The car has mediocre gas mileage, but I wouldn't drive anything else.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 35 reviews