1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 from North America


Properly maintained, this has the best bang for the buck.


Alternator, typical for Delco (did the same thing in the Beretta.

Starter, bought a replacement from the wreckers.

Replaced the EGR valve the day I bought it. Used from the wreckers.

Passenger side defroster vent warped.

Minor Rust. What can you expect for a car in Ontario that has seen over 10 salty winters.

General Comments:

Responsive. Moderately comfortable. Room for 4. Other than the typical wear items (THAT FAIL IN EVERY CAR EVENTUALLY), I have no complaints with this car. With the addition of the strut tower brace (unsure if this was a factory option or not), corners at 40-45 kph are sweet. I've owned, over the past 15 years, 10 cars both import and domestic. I've loved them all for different reasons. All around performance and reliability has been above average with the Z24.

Just because the person that owned YOUR vehicle abused the living hell out of it before you bought it, doesn't mean you can fault the maker.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier VL Coupe 2.2L 4 Cylinder from North America


A Mechanical Nightmare for under 3 grand


Brakes went out at 60,000 miles. This was 400 dollars to fix.

Entire Cooling/Vent/Air/Heat System went out at 65,000 miles. This was 1500 dollars to fix.

Radiator blew at 85,000 miles. This could not be fixed.

Transmission and Timing belt went at 90,000 miles. This could not be fixed for less than 2000 dollars.

Windshield wiper motor died at 70,000 miles after only 1 year of use. This little gadget costs 500 dollars to replace.

Interior wears easily.

Dashboard has warped beyond repair.

Trunk and Passenger floor are not waterproof. My last estimate was 1950 to re-line the inside of the trunk and passenger floor.

General Comments:

After owning a 1994 Chevrolet Cavalier, I cannot believe these cars were made by the same company!

The 1994 was a wonderful car, but to anyone shopping on a limited budget, please DO NOT buy a 1991 Cavalier. You will more than likely regret it.

I paid 3000 for it 18 months ago. My dealer gave me only 300 for trade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2L OHV from North America


A great car for anyone that doesn't want to spend a fortune maintaining; but a great learning car


There haven't been hardly any problems that are out of the ordinary for this car, or any other car. I had to replace the heat sensor, which was a 300 dollar part about a year after I owned it. Other than that I have replaced the Parking brake cable, Starter, and Fuel Injector; all of these are small expenditures. I also just recently had to replace the brakes in the front, after almost 3 full years of running.

General Comments:

This car is a great car. Chevrolet really did a great job when it came to the Cavalier. They have always been known for quality wich is why I chose them, and they continue that Quality standard even today. I regularly drive newer and used Chevrolet's from dealer to auction or manufacturer to dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 V6 from North America


I would recommend a Cavalier z24 (preferably 91 - 94) to anyone who wants a fast ready to go car!


The alternator died at about 165000km.

The starting motor died at about 170000km.

Catalytic converter was replaced.

Cylinder head split 2 weeks ago (now fixed)

EGR valve was replaced.

General Comments:

Overall, I have loved owning this car. It still looks excellent and is running excellent. It has a performance muffler with a 4" tip, a K&N filter, and the interior has been trimmed with yellow, including floor mats, seat covers, and plastic trim painted. It has a reasonably big stereo which includes 2 12" subs, a 350W amp, and CD player.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2002

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier VL 1.8 litre 4 cylinder from North America


Chevrolet's staple is a joke


Brakes went out at 65,000 miles.

Entire cooling system (ie. vent, A/C, heat, defrost) gone by 61,000 miles.

The trunk is not water proof.

Dashboard was warped beyond repair when I bought it.

Electrical system is not reliable. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Engine overheats while sitting at traffic lights.

Transmission constantly sounds like it is revving too high.

Windshield wipers work sometimes and do not work others.

General Comments:

Paid $3000 for it. After having owned a 1994 Cavalier from the same dealer, I will never buy an American car again. More specifically, I'll never consider a Chevy again. I've put $2200 in repairs into it and I can't recommend it to anyone. Chevrolet's are terrible cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

24th Sep 2001, 20:24

Next time buy a Chevrolet Metro, that's one car that won't let you down.

27th Apr 2004, 08:28

I will be honest: I own a 1991 Cavalier, VL trim, that was not in good shape a few months ago. It has 143,000 miles currently, but nothing has gone out of the ordinary with this car. It has some minor body damage, but some body compounds have alleviated the pain. Look at it this way: there are thousands of these cars still running all over the place.