1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 from North America

Summary:

Quick and sporty for the younger crowd

Faults:

My alternator died at about 167,000 miles, and also the sunroof seal is starting to go bad at 179,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is a pretty quick little car. It isn't a fast top speed car, but it does have quite a kick in its pick up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

3rd Sep 2002, 23:28

I have a '94 Mexican z-24 and I really love it. It's a fast, good looking car, and in some aspects, economic. in the mechanic way, I just had a li'l trouble with an electric window, at 100,000 miles.

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1 from North America

Summary:

Runs hot, but worth it!

Faults:

Replaced the alternator.

That's about it.

General Comments:

It's a good car, but runs really hot. It's pretty fast. Has a 16.0sec 1/4 mile. The transmission is really rough though and I don't like it. I changed to a 160 degree thermostat and a chip and now it seems to run right. Otherwise it runs at a 197 degrees and when it warms up it loses power a little.

If you want a car with some nuts, but aren't into racing, get it, but if you are into racing then I suggest you either get a 2000 Z24 or a 91 Eagle Talon TSI. Just don't buy a HONDA, everyone and their mother has one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

3rd Mar 2003, 20:15

I found that my Cavalier has a lot of power (when the car has been lightened). It is a 1991 3.1 5-spd and I can race it all day long and beat cars with the names of Mustang, Camaro and other muscle cars. I feel this car has a lot of hidden potential that you just have to find out for your self.

I ran a 13.21 on the 1/4 mile, and I was happy.

17th Jul 2014, 04:49

What mods do you have that make your car run 13's??? Seems like you would need a turbo or some heavy modifications to get it that low... I could be wrong, but let me know, I'm curious.

Thanks.

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1L V6 from North America

Summary:

I still love it!

Faults:

Heating and air conditioning completely shut off at about 170 000 km.

Driver power window brackets broke numerous times.

Replaced one engine mount at approx. 120 000 km.

General Comments:

I've driven this car so much in the last number of years, and I have to say I'm still very impressed!

I would buy another Cavalier Z24. Not one of those tiny new round things that Chevy nows calls Z24's, but the older boxy style! '91-'94!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th April, 2001

21st Jun 2002, 15:17

I would have to say I agree. I myself own a '91 and my parents own a a '98. I'm much more pleased with mine. Go second gen. ;}

15th Aug 2007, 18:51

I agree with everybody. I have a 91 Z24 5Spd and I love this car. I don't know what I would do without it.

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Euro 2.2 liter fuel injected from North America

Summary:

A great first car, worth every penny when taken care of

Faults:

Well we think it was wrecked, it has a leak on the firewall and we had to pull the carpet.

Seats are starting to tear.

General Comments:

The car has had the suspension a little tweaked, but even before it was a great all around performer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 3.1L from North America

Summary:

Looks great, awesome to drive!

Faults:

Wrong? Nothing major. Struts are going, replaced the battery, clicks sometimes when I go to start it but hey, it's 10 years old!

General Comments:

I love my car, the 3.1L is a very reliable engine. I find it really comfy, and they're pretty easy to fix. I just sold my baby and I'm saving for a '98 Cavalier Z24... I love these cars!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2001

1991 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.0i 4 cylinder from North America

Faults:

Good car. Sharp when it is shined up.

For how I have driven this thing, it runs unbelievably good. A few problems that could have been avoided if I had not dogged on it so hard.

No problems with transmission or the engine. It is not 4 wheel drive but the crap I drive through sometimes sure makes me feel like I am driving one.

She is a good car. Might keep her just to see what else I can put her through and to see just how long she will hold up.

Shmuck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

21st Oct 2004, 10:14

I just bought a cavalier RS, What might cause it to stall ad what might be some common problems with it?...What do you suggest I do with it to make run smooth and keep it that way? (snowboarder_skateboarder@msn.com)

Thanks.