1997 Chevrolet Cavalier RS from North America


This is the worst lemon of a car I could imagine


Replaced battery twice in 4 years.

Alternator broke. This was a very expensive cost as they told me it was the battery first, I bought a new one, then they thought it was the starter, then they finally figured out I needed a new alternator.

The ignition switch broke, causing the car to not start. This also took a few tries to determine what the problem was. It was an expensive cost that I later found out was a GM recall (that they have not reimbursed me for).

The rack and pinion steering column us broke, causing the car to be undrivable. The wheel will not turn left or right. I found this out when I was trying to make a left turn at a major intersection. Luckily, I am OK. The estimate to fix this problem was $1,200.00 from a car repair shop. However, I have come to find out it is another GM recall.

The glove compartment will not close.

The driver's side window is stuck with about an inch of open space. This window will not roll up or down.

The air conditioner will only blow on high fan or not at all.

General Comments:

I believe that everything that is wrong with the car speaks for itself.

However, I must point out that I have not been at all happy with my dealings with Chevrolet or General Motors. I have found them to be disinterested and at times rude.

For the over 4 years that I have had this car, it has been undrivable for months at a time each year. It has been sitting in my driveway for 3 months now, because I couldn't afford the $1,200.00 to get my steering column fixed. I have recently received a recall notice on the steering column, so the car is being towed to the dealer as we speak. Hopefully it will be drivable soon, as I am still paying it off at $280.00 a month.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

26th Mar 2005, 23:08

A rack and pinion and some air conditioning problems are not that much of a problem. Wait until you have a car like mine where you can blow the engine and almost the tranny (started slipping hardcore) in 3 or so years. I suggest you give Chev another try.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier RS 2.2 from North America


Cheap Car to buy, but Expensive to Own


Last year (May 2002) the rotors were warped and I needed new brakes. This was probably at 60,000.

This year (Feb 2003) I just found out I need the head gasket replaced at a cost of $1200. This is obviously a problem with other model year Cavaliers, so I am going to fight with Chevy to pay for this service.

Check Engine light goes on at random times.

Have had many recalls, but since those are free it doesn't bother me too much.

Just got a recall about the steering I think, but I am more concerned about this head gasket thing since I've been told not to drive the car.

General Comments:

Up until it started falling apart I thought it was OK, but I'm definately finding out why these cars are inexpensive - they cost so much in repairs all the time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th February, 2003

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L from North America


Performance oriented reliable semi-economical vehicle


My power sunroof went out of sync.

General Comments:

This car can hold its own.

Performance top of its class.

Economical if driven in a civil manner.

Reliable with good service.

Cheap dash material and poor fit.

Ride was comfortable with stock suspension, but too much body roll for me.

Plenty of performance upgrades available for it.

Vehicle needs more refinement to be the top of it's class.

Engine could be smoother.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2002

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America


A rip-off - get a Civic


Windshield wiper linkage broke 3 times - ultimately had to be fixed by myself to get it done right (I am an engineer)

Brakes and tires replaced at 50,000 miles (acceptable)

Interior plastic warped after two years.

Ignition switch failed - didn't know about the recall and ended up paying for it. Dealer lied to me and won't reimburse the repair cost.

General Comments:

This car is a complete waste of money.

Handling is terrible for the size - it feels like a boat from the 1970's yet it has a wheelbase of something more nimble.

Poor service at Chevy dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

19th Dec 2002, 18:46

The dealer won't reimburse for the ignition switch, but have you tryed calling GM customer service? They maybe able to reimburse you for the oop expenses that you have had.

10th Mar 2003, 17:04

I have had the same problems with the cavalier and GM plus plenty more. I think I see a trend here! My car has just been towed to the dealership, since the wheel will not turn at all. The ignition switch in my car also had to be repaired before I received the recall, and they have not reimbursed me for the over $300.00 I paid to get it fixed.