1997 Chevrolet Cavalier LX 2.2 litre gasoline from North America


A slow car with a big price tag


Had to replace both doors because of rust and the motor started knocking at 50,000 miles. It was the crankshaft.

Leather seats are now faded.

General Comments:

This car is alright if you want a reliable, slow car. It is perfect for the young teenagers out there looking for a sporty ride, but if its real performance your looking for, look elsewhere. These cars arnt built to last, they have no resale value, and they arnt worth what you pay for them. If you want a car that's as sporty as it looks, buy a mustang, don't buy one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

6th Jul 2002, 16:51

I would like to see these leather seats of yours. Chevrolet never put leather in the cavaliers.

24th Dec 2002, 16:15

Some of the more recent Z24's had leather seats; but they feel more like pleather or cheap vinyl.

18th Sep 2006, 08:53

OK, OK,...Who would ever WANT leather seats in a Cavalier!!! That really weirds me out.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier LS 2.4L from North America


The Cavalier is a good value, and it is reliable and comfortable.


The brake pads and rotors need to be replaced every 30,000 miles or so, but I do a lot of in-town driving. Average repair cost was $250.

The water pump started leaking coolant at 100,000 miles. I replaced it for $350.

The alternator died at 130,000 miles. The price for repair is yet to be determined, but I've been quoted around $200-250.

General Comments:

The passenger seat is also comfortable on long trips, but the back seat is a bit cramped. It's fine for children, but adults cannot sit comfortably for very long.

The trunk is large and will hold a few suitcases and two backpacks.

The car handles beautifully. It handles turns smoothly, and it has quite a bit of pick-up when accelerating.

I love this car, and I recommend Cavaliers to my friends who are about to purchase a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2002

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America


A terrible bargain


Coolant system, engine, water pump, air Conditioner. This is the worst car I have ever had and I found that Chevrolet couldn't care less about its customers. I will never buy another Chevrolet. Worst car ever made. They should have paid us to keep the car.

General Comments:

We had problems with the coolant system from the beginning and when we took it back to the dealer they would put some coolant in and we would be on our way. Never found a leak or anything. This tells me it was easier to just put in coolant and not charge us for the coolant.

Air conditioner went out. One problem after another. It was a terrible bargain because of all the problems. Chevrolet should be ashamed to put out a car that is that terrible

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

24th Dec 2002, 16:17

Modern cavaliers only last about 100,000 miles. After that they just self destruct. That's why their so cheap to buy.

18th Nov 2004, 07:08

I purchased my Cavalier in 1999, when it was 2 years old. So I've had it for 5 years now. Immediately after I purchased the car, the ignition lock cylinder went bad. Over the years, it went bad two more times! At $250-$300 a pop that's a lot of money. The windshield wipers also screwed up shortly after I bought the car. When you turn them off, they pop back up, instead of going down. I was told that would cost me another $300. I have been taking the fuse out & putting it in when it rains, to avoid paying to have it fixed! I wrote Chevrolet & included receipts, and of course they did nothing about it. The a/c also quit working on the low setting, but works on the others. I've also had an on-going problem with the coolant light coming on & off. They can't find a leak, so we continually have to put coolant in it. I will never buy another Chevrolet. This has been the worst vehicle I have ever owned, and I cannot wait to get rid of it!

13th Apr 2005, 21:06

I purchased my 1997 Chevrolet 2 door coupe from the dealership and it has been my primary vehicle since I purchased it. Other than the multiple recalls on the vehicle for the first 3 years, I haven't had any major problems with my vehicle and I have put over 110,000 miles on it. I had to replace the front wheel bearing a few months ago and I only recently noticed a slow oil leak from the valve cover gasket, but considering the age and mileage on the vehicle I am not surprised. My vehicle is still running with all original equipment with exception of the normal wear items (brake pads, plugs etc...) and the wheel bearing I recently replaced. One of my family members has owned two Cavaliers and has had good experiences with both vehicles. Considering the vehicle cost and the exceptional gas mileage, I would purchase another one, but mine is still running and looks almost as good as the day I purchased it.

13th Jun 2011, 19:30

My 1997 Cavalier is about ready to turn 300 thousand miles, and still runs fast. Same engine and transmission.