2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Reviews - Page 2 of 14

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles

Summary:

Black Widow strike

Faults:

Not much. The car was in an accident I guess when I bought it. I've had it for 4 or so years, been in 1 accident with it and it's still holding up. Only the windshield wiper fluid line has snapped.

General Comments:

It's been a great car to drive. First manual I've owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2009

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L Twin Cam from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.4L Twin Cam Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88700 miles
Most recent distance101200 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Amazing

General Comments:

I have a 2000 Z24 with a AEM short ram intake, and a Magnaflow dual catback exhaust kit on it.

I have easily beating a 92 Firebird, an 88 Camaro Z28, and plenty of the rice burners out there.

I recently went out to the local drag strip and ran an 14.8... which BTW my car is an auto. Shifts GREAT for that. Raps all the way up to 6.5 g rpm, and drops to 4. Couldn't shift a manual any better.

The 00 Z24 is very very capable of beating a Mustang. I've personally beating the 07 Chargers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2008

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance6455500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Dependable and fairly cheap to fix

Faults:

Coil packs.

Fuel pump.

2 front wheel bearings.

2 front strut bearings.

CV joint.

Just the normal stuff that wears out over time.

General Comments:

I drive this car approx. 300 km per day for work. It has been very dependable.

I change the oil every two weeks. I have never had to touch the motor or transmission, and it has 645500 kms on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

22nd May 2013, 22:31

400,000 miles? Wow! Mine has 170 on it.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired87150 kilometres
Most recent distance123000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Faults:

When I bought the car they had just replaced the rear right ABS sensor.

The right door does not seal tight, when driving you can hear the wind.

I cannot figure out why it idles at 1.500 rpm, just recently I replaced the idle sensor and it dropped down to 1.200 rpm, but its still a little high.

Moon roof motor seized at 115.000 kms, have yet to replace motor due to height cost of part.

General Comments:

This is my best investment that I have ever made.

The ABS works awsome with my winter tires I can take it anywhere.

I have had no problems with other electrical components (besides the moonroof).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2007

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 Comvertible 2.4 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

Put on some Jimmy Buffett music with the top down and enjoy!!

Faults:

Very few problems with this vehicle. We have been very pleased for the most part. The few problems that comes to mind are:

1. Transmission linkage bolt came apart at 102000 miles (giving us quite a fright thinking that the transmission had "gone"). However, this was a very inexpensive fix at the local auto parts store.

2. Coolant leak at one of the seals at about 80000 miles. This was also easily fixed by removing four bolts and replacing the gasket.

3. Horn went out at about 75000 miles. Ironically, you have to remove the passenger side headlight to get to the horn on this model. Found that kinda funny, but easily repaired... once located.

General Comments:

Engine is very compact and difficult to do even the easiest repairs. (Wow...remember when there was room in engine compartments?)

The convertible is the greatest. Easy to use and reliable. Nothing lifts your spirits like driving with the top down on a nice Florida day!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2007

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance117000 kilometres
Previous carSaturn LS

Summary:

Best value for the money

Faults:

I had to replace leaking water pump and the “windshield washing liquid” tank.

Also the check engine led lights from time to time, as I checked it indicates that device responsible for re-usage of the gas doesn’t always work properly. (it is known problem in Cavaliers and I am not fixing it).

General Comments:

This car is best value for the money. It makes noise etc. but overall for the money I paid for it, it can’t be better. It handles well on winter roads in Canada. I will keep it until it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier 2.2 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Esteem

Summary:

Just a little more than adequate

Faults:

Within the year I have owned this car, absolutely nothing has broken on me.

It had a very slight problem with stalling after turning on the car and idling for less than a minute when I bought it. It happened once a month. After putting in new spark plugs and other various parts the problem disappeared.

Engine seems fairly strong - transmission is perfect.

General Comments:

It's been good to me so far.

The stock tires are a good size, so for a small, cheap car, the handling is pretty swell.

The seats are fairly comfortable, but the design of the interior is pretty bad. it's my only complaint with the car.

The 2.2l engine provides plenty of power up hills. it's adequate, but nothing great. I put on a cold air intake, exhaust, an underdrive kit etc. and the car is almost sporty :) in the morning, right before the emissions system kicks in, this car hauls a**. There is definetely power hiding in this engine.

For a small economy sedan the gas mileage sucks. I've got the 3-speed (what a mistake!!) transmission and I've recorded 26-28mpg on the highway *before* I started modifying the car. I'm sure a 4-speed or 5 would change this. I really wish I would have sprung for the later ecotec engine.

Not my dream car, but it's stuck by me and does what I want.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

9th May 2008, 15:15

I am writing in response to this review. I also have a 2000 Cavalier Z24, standard transmission. I live in Winnipeg Manitoba, and bought my car in Dec. 05 when it was at 90,000km. It is now May 08 and my car is at 162,000km. In that time my car was been very good to me. I think the fuel economy is good, not great but good. And so far it's been relatively cheap on maintenance, and parts usually come a dime a dozen.

Although in the last month I've had to replace my right axle, started making noise when I turn right. I now have to replace my ball joints and tire rods, because they've never been done. I know because the factory rivets are still on the ball joints.

One thing I liked was what the person in the other review said, in the morning before the emissions system kicks in I guess, that the car really hauls a$$, it's true you barely touch the gas and it just wants to fly. Right after first gear, you can really haul... butt.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 58 reviews