2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Four cylinder from North America

Summary:

It's a fine all-around vehicle

Faults:

The top dashboard plastic piece, next to the windshield, cracks every three years or so.

The speedometer lights stopped working for about four months, and suddenly came on again, and have been working since.

General Comments:

I've been driving since the late 1950s. The best car I ever had that was also purchased new, was a 1969 Chevrolet Nova. My Cavalier has surpassed that, and any other vehicles I ever owned.

The car handles well and is maintained religiously. I've only replaced a front wheel bearing and the fuel pump. The can is maintained every 6,000 miles (with oil changes every 3,000 miles) by a family-owned garage. I never was happy with the service performed by the dealership.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4L from North America

Summary:

A sleek, dependable, and fast car

Faults:

The day after I bought the car, a pin in the steering wheel went bad and it took a week to determine what was wrong with it. However, the dealership I bought it from worked on it for free. They also replaced a fog light and installed a new driver side motor for my window.

The only things that have gone wrong with it since then is a fuse for my cigarette lighter and the driver side window. However, it cost under $15 dollars to fix.

General Comments:

This car is amazing. This car has had over 150,000 miles put on it, and it still runs great. I've never had to worry whether or not it will start or go the distance I need it to. It's one of, if not the most dependable vehicle I have owned.

It runs like you wouldn't believe. It's beaten everything from 5.0 Mustangs to imported Eclipses. It has amazing pick-up when driven right. It's great when a teenage girl beats a grown man in a stock Cavalier when he's driving an after-market vehicle.

Besides running great and being fast, this car is also beautiful. It has a sleek design, and it is the cleanest looking Cavalier I have ever seen. I wasn't a fan of them until I found mine, and I wouldn't trade mine for anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2006

10th Aug 2006, 23:15

You did not beat a 5.0L mustang, you might have got a good start and got ahead for the first few seconds, but that was it.

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier from North America

Summary:

Better to buy foreign!

Faults:

Engine wire harness corroded, various associated problems including left headlight worked for DRL only. ($240 fix, reoccurred 3 months later)

Service engine light due to fan motor short. (warranty fix)

Cruise stopped working and TRAC OFF light appeared due too bad wiring at firewall between PCM and BCM. ($75 fix, reoccurred 3 months later)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Z24 2.4 4 - Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Beautiful

Faults:

The first day I got this car shortly after driving home, the check engine light came on. I took it back to the dealer and it was the catalytic converter. The previous owner had a small device that tricked the car into thinking it did not need a catalytic converter. The dealer fixed the converter for me (a $700 value) for free, due to the three day reckoning period.

The dealer also fixed the motor for the sunroof for free as well due to the three day reckoning period.

Nothing has gone wrong with this car and I have owned it since the 21st of May 2005 and it's now the 26th of July 2005.

General Comments:

The heating and air conditioning is very comfortable in this car.

Brake pedal, gas pedal, and the steering wheel are very tight and firm to use. It gives a good sense of stability and security while driving the car.

The seats are very comfortable and have the racy pattern style of graphite gray with red speckles all over.

This car gets a lot of looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

2000 Chevrolet Cavalier Coupe 2.2 from North America

Summary:

Overall decent car, but when it needs repairing, it needs major repairs

Faults:

Entire front end needed work.

Brakes, ball joints were all in poor condition. Mechanic cited it as "normal wear and tear"

Wheel bearings needed to be replaced.

Horn was faulty, worked about half of the time.

Trunk latch broke.

Lining around driver door came loose.

General Comments:

It's a decent car, and I've had good luck with it thus far.

I bought it used in June 2003, and the first time I had to have it repaired was in June 2005. In all, it cost about $1500 for the entire front end repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st June, 2005

13th Jun 2005, 11:35

You posted this under the 1999 year then in your description you said it was a 2000 model...