1994 Chevrolet S-10 SS 4.3 from North America


A respectable mode of transportation


The motor mounts wore

The Fan Clutch needed replaced

The Thermostat had to be replaced

The EGR has clogged several times

The Gas tank has been replaced

Factory Cd player doesn't work

The soft plugs had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Over all I truly feel this is one of the most reliable and trust worthy trucks on the market. I can't see myself driving anything else. The worst problem I have with the truck is the EGR. I truly feel it is one of Chevy's biggest mistakes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2004

1994 Chevrolet S-10 pickup 4.3codew from North America


Everyone else gets 250000 miles from their s10, not me


Same as you guys, carbon particles holding open the EGR valve port. The screen gasket fixed it, but I'm wondering if a better fix would be just to block it off with a plate.

General Comments:

This is a bad problem up north.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

1994 Chevrolet S-10 4x4 Pickup 4.3 V6 TBI from North America


Absolute Junk


30,000 - Clutch slave cylinder failed.

40,000 - Backup light switch failed.

-Transfer case switch failed.

55,000 - Oil cooler lines failed.

70,000 - Heater core failed.

-Lower ball joints failed.

-Thermostat failed.

80,000 - Rear bearings and axles failed, $1,800.00!

-U-joint failed.

85,000 - Idler arm failed.

- Windshield wiper failed.

General Comments:

This is a poorly designed truck, sloppily built with low quality parts. Most unreliable vehicle I've owned.

I've tried to sell it, but nobody wants it. Why do you think there's so many low cost, used ones available?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

28th Oct 2004, 06:30

You must have gotten a bad truck! But, it's not fair to say all S-10 pickups are poorly manufactured. I have a 94 S-10 it has 143,000 miles on it and I'm just now having to replace the slave cylinder. The only other mechanical problem I've had is replacing the torsion bar mounts a couple times. It's just really unfair to say they're junk.

1994 Chevrolet S-10 Base 2.2L inline-4 from North America


Best vehicle I've ever owned by far!


Fan clutch locked up - 40K miles.

Wiper motor failure - $65K miles.

Head gasket leak - 72K miles - admittedly a major problem, but fixed by the dealer for a reasonable price and fixed RIGHT!

Fuel pump replaced - 100K miles.

Starter replaced - 120K miles.

General Comments:

Best vehicle I've ever owned by far! With the exception of the head gasket leak everything I've had to replace is what I consider to be normal wear items (nothing lasts forever). Although the head gasket leak WAS a major problem its the only one I've had. I do almost all my own work and maintenance, but the dealer service I've had has been excellent.

I love the way it looks; great overall design with really nice touches like a peaked hood and cool tail light shape. Mine is painted "Radar Blue" (deep purple) with gray tweed fabric upholstery and looks customized from the factory.

I paid less than $10K for it and its given me more than my money's worth; great value! It's been paid for for years and I still drive it every day.

My only complaint is the lack of power from the 4-banger, but you can't have everything!

I love this truck and I never ever want to sell it! When the day finally comes for it to be retired, I plan to do a full customization on it including installing a small-block V8 and resurrect as the hot rod it already LOOKS like it is!

I don't care what anyone else says, this is a fantastic product; I'd buy another in a heart beat and would recommend it to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2003

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 H.O. from North America


Reliable and fast for a small truck


C.P.I. unit and nut kit like normal and Transmission and 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Chevy tough! This truck has almost 200,000 miles and still hauls! I'd recommend this truck to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

1994 Chevrolet S-10 LS 4.3 Vortec High-Output from North America


This truck is unbeatable


My Central Port Injector hoses went bad at 119,000. My starter also went bad at 119,00. Tires were replaced at 65,000 and 120,600 miles.

General Comments:

Handles very well. One downfall is the gas mileage, I get anywhere from 17-23 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

2nd Dec 2006, 13:07

17-23 mpg is a bad thing? I've looked at the mpg for almost every truck out there and that sounds pretty darn good...